Annotated Bibliography Guidelines
OBJECTIVES
Explain the purpose of an annotated bibliography and its role in academic research.
Summarize the main arguments and themes of each source included in the bibliography.
Identify the key components of an MLA citation format.
Apply MLA formatting rules to correctly cite various types of sources (books, articles, websites) in an annotated bibliography.
Use paraphrasing and summarization techniques to create concise annotations that reflect the content of each source.
Analyze the credibility and relevance of sources selected for the bibliography based on criteria such as authority, accuracy, and bias.
Compare and contrast the perspectives and methodologies of different sources related to the research topic.
Evaluate the effectiveness of each annotation in conveying the source's significance and relevance to the research question.
Justify the inclusion or exclusion of sources based on their academic merit and contribution to the research topic
Demonstrate the use of standard American English writing conventions (grammar, spelling, usage, punctuation, and formatting) and the ability to communicate to readers with clarity and fluency
TASK
Compose a traditional annotated bibliography in MLA format that summarizes, evaluates, and justifies the FOUR sources that will provide the necessary background and evidence for the visual presentation of your argument.
SPECIFIC ASSIGNMENT INFORMATION
This assignment accounts for 200 points of your total.
The bibliography must be preceded by an introduction of at least 250 words that contextualizes (personally, historically, and/or culturally) your selected topic: why should this topic be important to us? What impact does it have on our lives?
The intro should conclude with a claim AND thesis statement that tells what you are writing (medium) and what you will address.
The sources MUST be full articles or videos that address your topic in a significant way. Authored sources or institution-sponsored sources are preferred (and are more credible). Do not use reviews, Wikipedia, commercial sites, or study sites (eNotes, Schmoop, CliffNotes, ThoughtCo, etc.) as your sources.
Choose your sources wisely: at least TWO of them must actually be cited in your visual artifact.
At least one source MUST come from a scholarly journal.
Print sources must be at least 500 words; video sources must be at least 10 minutes long.
Each annotation must contain a) a summary of the content of the source; b) an evaluation of the source; c) how the source is useful to you; and d) a direct quote from the source, skillfully woven into the text. The annotation must be at least 200 words.
Bibliographic information must be in MLA format.
You may write in the informal or formal register.
You will have the opportunity to submit revised drafts to improve your grade if and only if you turned in a complete first attempt. Deducted points for late submissions cannot be regained.
| Urban beekeeping |
|
Hurry sickness |
| NEETs |
| Pet therapy |
| SBNR individuals |
| Adventure playgrounds |
| Safetyism |
| Vertical farming |
| Art therapy |
| Ageism |
| Precision medicine |
| Hygge |
| Wearable tech |
| Skinimalism |
| Death cleaning |
| Affluenza |
| High-speed rails (“bullet trains”) |
| E-sports |
| Friluftsliv |
| Ghost kitchens |
| Gene editing |
| Concept creep |
| Cyberpsychology |
| Functional foods |
| Ecotheology |
| Technostress |
| Smart cities |
| Space tourism |
| Digital detox |
| Space junk |
| Parasocial relationships |
| Cold water immersion |
| Aging-in-place design |
| Citizen journalism |
| Green burials |
| Gig economy |
To stay on track with this assignment, the following schedule is suggested:
| ✔ | My deadline | T A S K |
| Look over the list of topics. Select 3-5 that you might like to work with. | ||
| Do some preliminary research over your top 3-5 to make sure you can work with them. | ||
| Sign up for your topic by the posted due date. | ||
| Compose a working claim over your topic. | ||
| Research to find FOUR sources that support your claim. Make adjustments to your claim as needed. Be sure to store your sources in a folder so that you can easily find them. | ||
| Work with source 1. Include text support. Document according to MLA. | ||
| Work with source 2. Include text support. Document according to MLA. | ||
| Work with source 3. Include text support. Document according to MLA. | ||
| Work with source 4. Include text support. Document according to MLA. | ||
| Write the introduction: include context, your claim and a thesis statement. | ||
| Proofread. | ||
| Check format of your review: left justified, paragraphs are indented, no highlighted areas | ||
| Create a title and subtitle: the title is artistic, the subtitle is academic | ||
| Submit your finished AB on Blackboard by the posted deadline |
| Excellent | Good | Adequate | Needs improvement | Inadequate | Not completed | |
| The intro contains specific and thorough CONTEXT that enhances the annotated bibliography’s significance and a THESIS that addresses your claim and the purpose of the AB. | 18 | 15 | 12 | 9 | 6 | 0 |
| CITATIONS are accurately formatted and punctuated according to MLA standards. | 16 | 12 | 8 | 4 | 2 | 0 |
| ANNOTATIONS contain a summary that demonstrates understanding of the source; an evaluation of the source’s credibility; justification of the source’s usefulness; and at least one relevant quote smoothly woven into the text. | 40 | 32 | 24 | 16 | 8 | 0 |
| The WRITING STYLE reflects confidence and control; there is smooth transition from sentence to sentence, and from paragraph to paragraph | 10 | 8 | 6 | 4 | 2 | 0 |
| In consideration of the course and of the audience, spelling, punctuation, and capitalization are consistently accurate. | 10 | 8 | 6 | 4 | 2 | 0 |
| Academic formatting is observed: there is a title and subtitle; paragraphs are clearly indented; left margin is justified; no gray shading; double-spaced. | 6 | 5 | 4 | 3 | 1 | 0 |
+5 pts -- Hyperlink your sources.
