ENGL 1301 - Gazella - Fall 2025: Articles + Databases

ACC Libraries have more than 100 databases to help you find articles in journals, magazines, and newspapers. The databases listed below are the most useful for your research assignment!

(See a complete list of ACC Library Resources by Subject or by Title)

Academic OneFile (Gale) 

Provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources, including thousands of podcasts as well as videos.

Academic Search Complete

  Scholarly articles, news, and research on topics in most subject areas.

Gale eBooks   

Online collection of general and subject-specific encyclopedias on all

major topic areas.

The New York Times 

 All ACC faculty, students, and staff have full access to The New York Times website. You must first register  using your ACC email at Access NYTimes. More information can be found at The New York Times: Academic Pass guide.

Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints   

Articles with pro and con viewpoints from reference works, magazines, academic journals, newspapers, primary source documents, and government and organizational statistics.  

Reference Sources are designed to help you find information to include in your research paper. They can help you in many ways-

• To get background information on your topic
• Information about important people (Who), events (What), places (Where), dates (When) and how they are related to your topic (How)
• Definitions and keywords to help you find more sources about your topic

Types of Reference Sources:

• Almanacs (Facts, Statistics)
• Atlas (Geographical info)
• Dictionary (Definitions, Synonyms)
• Encyclopedia (Topic Overview)
• Handbook (Facts, Statistics, Timelines)