Fairchild Books Library provides content that covers a full spectrum of topics in fashion including construction, draping, fashion business management, history, illustration, journalism, marketing, promotion, theory, pattern making, styling, product development, sustainable fashion, textiles, and more.
Fairchild Books Library features full-text versions from the world’s leading higher education fashion textbook publisher, Fairchild Books.
Many titles contain STUDIO content for fashion students. STUDIO content extends the textbook experience by helping students learn more effectively with online features including:
From Pencil to Pen Tool by
In today's fashion industry, the traditional skills of forecasting, cutting, sewing and drafting are no longer enough. Students must be able to transform their two-dimensional plans into computer-generated images. From Pencil to Pen Tool: Understanding Creating the Digital Fashion Image teaches Adobe PhotoShop CS and Illustrator CS techniques applicable to both fashion students entering the field and established fashion-industry professionals seeking to stay current with technology. This book includes technical instruction about sketching and image production, as well as practical advice about creating a computer-generated portfolio and entering the fashion marketplace. Instructor's Guide available on request
Model Drawing by
This book and accompanying CD-ROM are a complete step-by-step guide to fashion model drawing. Expanding on Chapter 3 of Fashion Sketchbook, 3rd edition, Abling explains and decodes the process of sketching women, men and children in accordance with fashion industry standards, while still leaving room for the students own aesthetic interpretation. Numerous photos and detailed illustrations accompany simple, easy-to-follow instructions. The addition of grids for practice drawings throughout each chapter makes Model Drawing both a textbook and workbook.
Beginner's guide to sketching the fashion figure : croquis to design by
Learn the beginner level steps of fashion drawing. The book shows you step-by-step instructions that you can follow to build your skills until you're able to draw the female, male and children's fashion figures. Learn to develop fast designer concept sketches called croquis. Quick reference sheets, model poses, timed exercises, do's and don'ts, and online practice templates will help you gain confidence as you progress in fashion drawing. You'll also learn how to draw figures of diverse sizes and cultural backgrounds, so you can design clothes for everyone.
Fashion sketchbook by
"'A bible of drawing techniques for fashion design.' Wendy Moody, Anglia Ruskin University, UK. Learn how to draw fashion images that communicate design ideas and details. With more than 3,000 color illustrations and updated instructions, the book shows you how to draw women, men, and children, pose the figure, develop the fashion head and face, sketch accessories, add garment details, and prepare flats and specs. Learn more advanced techniques for rendering color, fabrics, and embellishments, from houndstooth and velvet to feathers and fringe. Bina Abling's detailed, easy-to-follow lessons have clear diagrams and runway photographs to help you develop your drawing skills"--Bloomsbury Fashion Central.
The Art of Fashion Illustration by
The Art of Fashion Illustration is the ultimate guide to fashion sketching. Inside, you'll find more than 150 beautiful illustrations from the international community's masters of illustration and rising stars. Peek behind the cloth and enjoy interviews with the illustrators, commentary from influencers in the industry and a discussion of illustration techniques. Expert stylist and fashion writer, Somer Flaherty Tejwani, provides your with an inside scoop on over 30 illustrators. Along with interviews with the illustrators and fashion influencers, you'll find addictional fashion illustration techniques - how artists infuse movement and attitude in their drawings, watercolor versus pencil, insider information, fashion silhouettes and more. Create your own illustrations by using convenient tear sheets that are included in the back of the book. Fashionistas and aspiring designers will love the inspirations found in this book! You'll be creating stylish and contemporary looks in no time!
Fashion flats & technical drawing by
A step-by-step workbook for learning technical drawing and flat sketching skills. With more than 500 hand-drawn and CAD-rendered flats and 100 photos of finished samples showing how a sketch translates to a 3D garment, the book covers a range of garments and construction details used to communicate fashion designs for portfolios and production.
Fashion drawing by
This work guides readers through the theory and practice of fashion drawing. It provides a fresh perspective on the basic principles and practices of contemporary drawing styles, applied to a fashion context.
Textiles : concepts and principles by
Focusing on comprehension of the interrelationship between the components of textiles to help students understand and predict textile properties and performance, this book provides a thorough approach to the fundamentals of textiles.
The dynamics of fashion. by
Fashion today is fast-paced, technologically savvy, and global - and this edition of 'The Dynamics of Fashion' has been updated to be on the cutting edge. Featuring the latest facts and figures, and the most current theories in fashion development, production, and merchandising, this text provides a broad foundation for students hoping to become a part of the industry. Apparel, accessories, cosmetics, home fashions, green design, and more are explored in detail. Hundreds of examples make the business aspect fun.
The art of couture sewing by
'The Art of Couture Sewing' is a practical guide to the fine construction practices used in couture workrooms. Beginning with a brief history of couture, the book will provide fully-illustrated instructions on constructing a couture dress from start to finish."
Pattern cutting : the architecture of fashion by 
Construction for fashion design. by 
Integrating Draping, Drafting and Drawing by 
