Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
RESEARCH GUIDES ACC Home Page

Veterinary Technology: Home

ACC Library and other resources related to the veterinary sciences

Welcome to Veterinary Technology

Faculty and Staff: TLED and ACC Libraries are here for you! Check out the resources on the Faculty Teaching Toolbox to find practical tips + resources

ACC Elgin campus building

"Getting Started Health Sciences" by Health Sciences is licensed under CC BY 4.0

Animal & Veterinary News

Loading ...

Intro to this Guide

Types of Resources

There are several types of information available to students through the ACC libraries, both in print form and electronically. Details provided on the different types of resources are listed below:

Books You can find a wealth of resources in the library's book collection. A book can provide detailed background information on a topic.
Reference Books Encyclopedias, atlases, dictionaries, etc. are considered reference sources. Access these types of resources when you need to find definitions, biographies, overviews, and historical information.
Articles Articles can be found in journals, magazines, or newspapers.  Articles can vary in scope, but usually fall into one of two categories: scholarly and popular.     
Web Sites The internet can provide a wealth of information, especially from government sources and professional organizations. Be sure to carefully evaluate the information found here.

Veterinary Technology Apps

various app icons

Apps (little software applications) allow you to customize your tablet to do the things you like to do. Some of the apps listed are free, while others are fee-based. Additionally, some apps are initially free, and then require in-app purchases if more features and functionality are desired. Listed, you will find some app recommendations we have come up with through trial, error, and our own experiences.

ACC Library Services does not endorse any fee-based apps nor it is liable for reimbursement of any apps paid for by patrons. 

Compendium of Veterinary Products - CVP (Android, iOS)

Features over 5,900 pharmaceutical, biological, feed medication and parasiticide product descriptions of common drugs. Over 260 manufacturers/distributors and their contact information.

three gradient vertical lines  MSD (Merck) Veterinary Manual (Android, iOS)

Provides animal health professionals with clear, practical explanations of thousands of conditions across all body systems.

cat and dog in silhouette  Pet First Aid (AndroidiOS)

The American Red Cross Pet First Aid app puts veterinary advice for everyday emergencies in the palm of your hand.

wavy letter P Plumb's Veterinary Drugs (Android, iOS)

Used to access up-to-date veterinary drug information on your mobile device. ACC also has the database

dog skull graphic with pins  Vet-Anatomy (Android, iOS)

Focusing on animal anatomy.

paw print with half a crossVet Calculator (Android)

Designed for veterinary professions to do many common calculations.

ambulanceVeterinary Diseases (Android)

Contains information online and offline on a variety of veterinary diseases.

horse cat and dog silhouettesVetivex (Android, iOS)

Provides a calculator to determine IV fluid levels for animals. 

large title letters  VTNE Practice Test by Pocket Prep (Android, iOS)

Provides practice tests for the Veterinary Technician National Examination (VTNE). Offers in-app purchases for more premium content. 

running horse in a television screen  Veterinary Advances

A suite of advanced veterinary apps are available through the Veterinary Advances website. Most apps are geared to horses (ex. equine drugs, radiology, ultrasound, etc.) but one feline app is also available. For Android and iOS.

kitten on a hospital sign  Vet Nurse Quick Reference ($1.99 for Android)

Contains a comprehensive reference of normal parameters and ranges for small and common household pets.

dog and cat silhouettes VetCalculators ($11.99 for Android, $11.99 for iOS)

Provides a variety of calculators including emergency and anesthetic drugs, fluid therapy, weight and temperature conversion, and more. 

**For a list of more specific veterinary apps, especially equine, check out the Vet Integrations website.

Interested in Veterinary Technology at ACC?

Congratulations to Veterinary Technology for their FULL accreditation from the AVMA!

Interested in becoming a Vet Tech student? Check out requirements, the program map, and a day in the life

Mental Health Resources: preventing suicide in veterinary medicine

ACC Vet Tech Professor Kate Peterson tells you how to take care of your canine and feline fur babies!

Ready to adopt a pet? It's free for ACC students, faculty, and staff!

May I Help You?

Profile Photo
Mary Havens
Contact:
Faculty Librarian/Associate Professor
Elgin Campus
1501 W HWY 290
Elgin, TX 78621
512-223-9462
mary.havens@austincc.edu

ACC Web Site || Library Web Site || GET HELP! || Search the Library
Contact Us • © Library Services, Austin Community College