Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
RESEARCH GUIDES ACC Home Page

Computer Science & Information Technology: Welcome!

A guide to resources, online and in print, related to computers, programming, and computer information technology.

Librarian/Professor

Alexander Speetzen's picture
Alexander Speetzen
Contact:
Faculty Librarian / Assistant Professor
Highland Campus
6101 Airport Blvd.
Austin, TX 78752
alexander.speetzen@austincc.edu
512-223-7387

Do you have a question? Please ask!

Hands on a computer keyboard

Ask a librarian!

Explore beyond your textbooks!

 

ACC Libraries offer handbooks, manuals, dictionaries, encyclopedias, and books (in print and online) to help you answer questions from class discussions or from your assignments. Click on the tabs at the top to get started.

 

If you have questions related to Computer Science or IT, you can also email me directly at alexander.speetzen@austincc.edu. I am here to assist you with your research!

You Can't See Us, But We Are Here to Help!


undefined

 

ACC Libraries Online 24/7

Due to COVID-19, the physical locations of all ACC libraries are currently closed to in-person users. As always, we are open online 24/7 and here to assist you with a variety of resources!



Access thousands of books online!

ACC Libraries have tens of thousands of e-books available 24/7 on your preferred device. You can access them via this page by publisher/platform name, or individually via the library catalog or by publisher/platform name through the A-Z List of Databases page. 

 

'Ask a Librarian' Chat Service

Our 'Ask a Librarian' chat service is available 24/7. You can also get help by phone or email us via our new 'Ask a Librarian' form.

 

Writing a research paper?

Find high-quality journal and magazine articles in our A-Z List of Databases tab.

 

You can't see us, but we are here to help!

All ACC Libraries are closed until further notice for walk-in business. However, we are working virtually, behind-the-scenes to assist students, faculty and staff. 

Visit our Library Information and Servies during COVID-19 Guide for the most up-to-date information and announcements.

You can also use our new Library and Research Skills Videos!

Welcome!

Area of Study symbol

Welcome to the Computer Science & Computer Information Technology Subject Guide! This guide is intended to help you find information and materials related to this field.

The tabs across the top of the page will help you navigate between topics.

This resource is for you! Please make comments or suggestions or ask questions. You can also email me directly at alexander.speetzen@austincc.edu.

Computer Information Technology & Computer Science Apps

Apps (little software applications) allow you to customize your tablet to do the things you like to do. Some of the apps listed are free, while others are fee-based. Additionally, some apps are initially free, and then require in-app purchases if more features and functionality are desired. Listed, you will find some app recommendations we have come up with through trial, error, and our own experiences.

ACC Library Services does not endorse any fee-based apps nor it is liable for reimbursement of any apps paid for by patrons. Please refer to the Tablet Circulation Policy for further details.

Computer Science Study Kit App-please select iOS or Android below to access the app
Computer Science Study Kit-quick reference and a quiz system to test one's knowledge on computer science. (Android)

PureFlow App-please select iOS or Android below to access the app
PureFlow-Create and edit flowcharts. (iOS)

ScriptKit App-please select iOS or Android below to access the app
ScriptKit-A drag and drop programming interface for iPad. (iOS)


Lrn - Learn to code in HTML, CSS, Javascript, Ruby & Python (iOS)


Udacity - Learn programming (Android) and (iOS)

 

Kodiak for PHP App-please select iOS or Android below to access the app
Kodiak for PHP-Write and edit PHP with beautiful syntax highlighting and an enhanced on-screen keyboard. (iOS)

Pythonista App-please select iOS or Android below to access the app
Pythonista-An integrated development environment for writing Python™ scripts on iOS. You can create interactive experiments and prototypes using multi-touch, animations, and sound, or use the interactive prompt as a calculator. (iOS)

Practical tips + resources - to temporarily teach online

ACC resources:

Need resources for your course? - 

Online Teaching Strategies -

Copyright Info:

Tech Tools:

Accessibility Tips and Assistance:

Request for Purchase of Library Materials

Is there an item that would make a good addition to the Library Collection? Please fill out the form linked below and let us know!

O'Reilly for Higher Education Database

We now have access to O'Reilly for Higher Education database!

 

You can access O'Reilly from the ACC Library Services homepage. Under the main search bar, click on the 'A-Z List of Databases' tab. From there scroll down to O for O'Reilly for Higher Education.


ACC Web Site || Library Web Site || GET HELP! || Search the Library
Contact Us • © Library Services, Austin Community College