Multicultural History: Careers

There are several Centers with tutorials, videos, and e-books. Job & Career Accelerator sections cover occupations, finding a job, resumes and cover letters, applying and interviewing.
Learning Express (and not ACC) requires that you register for a free account to access the content. You will also find this database at public libraries.

According to the UC Davis Department of History page, "Only a small percentage of history majors become professional historians. ... Leaders in every industry, from business to the arts, can point to their training as history majors as the starting point for their success." Includes a list of skills gained from studying history and a list of famous history majors.

"Archivists appraise, process, catalog, and preserve permanent records and historically valuable documents. Curators oversee collections of artwork and historic items, and may conduct public service activities for an institution. Museum technicians and conservators prepare and restore objects and documents in museum collections and exhibits."
Bureau of Labor Statistics, U.S. Department of Labor, Occupational Outlook Handbook, 2016-17 Edition, Archivists, Curators, and Museum Workers, on the Internet at http://www.bls.gov/ooh/education-training-and-library/curators-museum-technicians-and-conservators.htm (visited April 27, 2016).

"...a brief list of the career opportunities, based on an update of the pamphlet, Careers for Students of History, written by Barbara J. Howe and jointly published by the American Historical Association and the National Council on Public History."

CareerOneStop lists state and national wages and trends, lists knowledge, skills, and abilities needed for work in the field--including knowledge of historical events and their causes, indicators, and effects on civilizations and cultures--generalized and detailed work activities, related occupational profiles, and more.

Bureau of Labor Statistics, U.S. Department of Labor, Occupational Outlook Handbook, 2016-17 Edition, Historians,
on the Internet at http://www.bls.gov/ooh/life-physical-and-social-science/historians.htm (visited April 26, 2016).

Occupation description from CareerOneStop: "Research, analyze, record, and interpret the past as recorded in sources: government and institutional records, newspapers and other periodicals, photographs, interviews, films, electronic media, and unpublished manuscripts, such as personal diaries and letters."

CareerOneStop lists state and national wages and trends, provides a career video, "Educational Teachers, Postsecondary," lists knowledge, skills, and abilities needed for work in the field, generalized and detailed work activities, related occupational profiles, and more.

CareerOneStop lists state and national wages and trends, lists knowledge, skills, and abilities needed for work in the field, provides a career video, "Museum Technicians and Conservators," generalized and detailed work activities, related occupational profiles, and more.

Requirements for cultural park ranger jobs are listed. History is one of the preferred bachelor’s degree program majors.

"Interpretive and cultural park rangers... help visitors understand and gain an appreciation, which ... advances a park’s mission of protection... [allowing] visitors to see the relevance in the message and importance of the parks they visit. This may include providing interpretive services for: historic sites, historic monuments, wildlife refuges, environmental havens, archeologically significant sites, [and] recreational areas."

"Another career option is in the counseling (clinical, career, or academic) field. A career in law can make good use of the major's specialized knowledge of underrepresented communities. That knowledge is also useful in many different careers, such as: journalism, marketing, community and housing development, radio and television, health and medicine, community and union organizing, social work, and a wide variety of positions in federal, state, and local governments as well as those at the city and county levels."

Briefly describes coursework, typical major courses, related majors, and related careers. Links to colleges offering this major.

Lists related career options for majors.

The Modern Language Association addresses criticisms of ethnic studies programs and supported their present and future value.
"We believe that ethnic studies programs are not ethnically exclusionary; more important, we insist that they are integral to an understanding of American national identity and the American national project. We therefore believe that all students in the United States should become acquainted with a wide variety of American ethnic histories and heritages. Ethnic studies is a field of inquiry, not a form of propaganda. Such programs are designed to lead to a greater understanding of the histories and cultures of the peoples of the United States, not to any partisan political or cultural outcome."

TEDxAmherstCollege,
Published on Dec 18, 2014
Ron Espiritu graduated from Amherst College in 2006 with a double major in History and Interdisciplinary studies with a focus in Chicano and Nuyorican Literature. He received a Five College Certificate in Latin American and Caribbean Studies. Upon graduation, Ron moved to Los Angeles where he has taught high school for the past nine years. In 2008, he earned a Masters degree in Education from Loyola Marymount University. Original link: https://youtu.be/XvvMgujD4i8

Uploaded on May 14, 2010
http://townhall.com/blog/
Discusses Arizona State's ban on ethnic studies in the public schools