Search the library catalog for more books on Hispanic American history or Mexican American history, Sort your results by Reverse Year to see the most recently published first. Check the New Books list for the latest arrivals on all subjects.
Sponsored Migration: The State and Puerto Rican Postwar Migration to the United States by
Puerto Rico is often left out of conversations on migration and transnationalism within the Latino context. One of the first scholars to explore this topic in depth, Meléndez illuminates how migration influenced U.S. and Puerto Rican relations from 1898 onward, placing Puerto Rico's migration policy in its historical context, and examining the central role the Puerto Rican government played in encouraging and organizing migration during the postwar period.
Occupied America: A History of Chicanos by
Authored by one of the most influential and highly-regarded voices of Chicano history and ethnic studies, Occupied America is the most definitive introduction to Chicano history. This comprehensive overview of Chicano history is passionately written and extensively researched.
Mexicans in the Making of America by
Neil Foley, a leading Mexican American historian, offers a sweeping view of the evolution of Mexican America, from a colonial outpost on Mexico's northern frontier to a 21st-century people integral to the nation they have helped build. Mexicans have lived in and migrated to the American West and Southwest for centuries. Despite their well-established presence in farm fields, workshops, and military service, Mexicans in America have long been regarded as aliens and outsiders. The struggle of Latinos to gain full citizenship bears witness to the continual remaking of American culture into something more democratic, egalitarian, and truer to its multiracial and multiethnic origins.
Crucible of Struggle: A History of Mexican Americans from Colonial Times to the Present Era by
Statistics show that by the year 2100, half of the United States population may be Latino. And two of every three of America's Latinos are Mexicans--the oldest settlers of the United States, as well as the nation's largest group of recent immigrant arrivals. The growing importance of this minority group calls for a fresh assessment of Mexican American history.
Term Paper Resource Guide to Latino History by 
Atlas of Hispanic-American History by
Chronicles the important cultural, historical, political, and social experiences of Hispanic Americans through the years. The coverage includes: The Roots of a People; Spain in the Americas; Independence in the New World; Manifest Destiny and Hispanic America; A Time of Transition; The Age of World Wars; The Hispanic American Civil Rights Era; and, Hispanic America Today.
They Called them Greasers: Anglo Attitudes toward Mexicans in Texas, 1821-1900 by
"This ... comprehensive account of Anglo-American stereotypes of Mexicans in 19th-century Texas makes for interesting reading. . . . the heritage of the past still persists."
Balseros: Cuban Rafters
"In the summer of 1994, a team of public television reporters filmed and interviewed seven Cubans a few days before their risky venture of setting out to sea in homemade rafts to reach the coast of the United States. Six made it far enough to be picked up at sea by the U.S. Coast Guard. When these balseros (rafters) were finally allowed to go to the United States, the film crew went with them to a string of several cities. Seven years later, the film crew visits them again, to discover what their destiny has been in the United States. Theirs is a true story about some of the authentic survivors of our times, the human adventure of people who are shipwrecked between two worlds."
Voices from Mariel: Los Marielitos, Then and Now.
"In 1980, nearly 125,000 people fled Cuba in hundreds of boats, including convicts and homeless people forced to go along as well--Castro's 'parting gift' to the emigrants and America. Told through the previously unrecorded stories of ten Cuban-American families, 'Voices from Mariel' examines the legacy of Los Marielitos and considers where that short but dangerous trip across the Straits of Florida has taken them in the decades since the Mariel boatlift."
The Longoria Affair
"A documentary on the Mexican-American civil rights movement. The film tells the story of ...the refusal, by a small-town funeral home in Texas after World War II, to care for a dead soldier's body 'because the whites wouldn't like it,' and shows how the incident sparked outrage nationwide and contributed to the Voting Rights Act of 1965."
A Class Apart: A Mexican American Civil Rights Story
"In the small town of Edna, Texas, in 1951, field hand Pete Hernández killed a tenant farmer after exchanging words in a cantina. From this murder emerged a landmark civil rights case that would change the lives and legal standing of ten of millions of Americans. Tells the story of an underdog band of Mexican American lawyers who took their case all the way to the Supreme Court, where they challenged Jim Crow-style discrimination against Mexican Americans. Lawyers forged a daring legal strategy, arguing that Mexican Americans were "a class apart" from a legal system that recognized only blacks and whites."
Chicano!: The History of the Mexican American Civil Rights Movement
Four episodes in this series: Episode 1, Quest for homeland; Episode 2: The Stuggle in the Fields; Episode 3, Taking back the schools; Episode 4: Fighting for Political Power
Dictionary of Latino Civil Rights History by
"From the Alianza Hispano-Americana, a mutual aid society founded in Tucson, Arizona in 1894, to the Zoot Suit Riots in Los Angeles in 1943, this first-ever dictionary of important issues in the U.S. Latino struggle for civil rights defines a wide-ranging list of key terms. With over 922 entries on significant events, figures, laws, and other historical items, this ground-breaking reference work covers the fight for equality from the mid-nineteenth century to the present by the various Hispanic groups in the United States."
Encyclopedia Latina by 
The Hispanic American Almanac: A Reference Work on Hispanics in the United States by
A historical overview, from the time of Spanish explorers and colonizers. Includes significant documents, historic landmarks, and more.
Oxford encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States by 
Voices of the U.S. Latino Experience by
The history and experiences of the diverse groups labeled Latinos in this country are abundantly documented in this major new collection. The bulk of the primary documents concern Mexico and the United States and Mexican Americans, who paved the way for immigrants from Cuba, Puerto Rico, the Dominican Republic, and Central and South America to come.
