Encyclopedia of American Indian History by 
Encyclopedia of Native American History by
European explorers reached North America more than 400 years ago, and since that time Native Americans have had to struggle to survive. Yet, despite injustices both past and present, the Native American community has persevered over the centuries. This work offers a comprehensive and authoritative look at the most important individuals, events, and topics in American Indian history.
Indian Nations of North America by 
Voices of the American Indian Experience by
In a single source, this comprehensive two-volume work provides the entire history of American Indians, as told by Indians themselves.
The Praeger Handbook on Contemporary Issues in Native America by 
The Historical Atlas of Native Americans by 
Treaties with American Indians : an encyclopedia of rights, conflicts, and sovereignty by 
Native America: A State-by-State Historical Encyclopedia. by 
Six Generations
Running Time: 58 mins.
"Ernestine De Soto is a Chumash Native American whose mother Mary Yee was the last speaker of her native Barbareno language. In 6 Generations, her family reaches back to the days the Spanish arrived in Santa Barbara and made first contact. Ernestine tells this history from the perspective of her female ancestors, making her a unique link with the past."
Moyers & Company American Indians Confront "Savage Anxieties"
Running Time: 26 min., 46 sec.
Bill Moyers speaks with Robert A. Williams Jr., a professor specializing in American Indian law who is of Lumbee Indian heritage, about American Indians' tragic history of dispossession. Williams says stereotypes about American Indians have been codified into laws and government policies, with devastating consequences . 'The history of America is taking away resources, whether labor or land, from one racial group to give them to the dominate racial group.'"
Native-American History: Native American Influence on the US
4-part series. 2005.
Our Spirits Don’t Speak English: Indian Boarding School
Running Time: 81 mins. "This documentary film provides a candid look at the Indian Boarding School system starting in 1879 through the 1960s combining personal interviews with historical background. The philosophy of the Indian boarding school system was based on the concept of 'kill the Indian and save the man,' as stated by Captain Richard Henry Pratt who was the founder of the Carlisle Indian School."
The Trail of Tears: Cherokee Legacy
Running Time: 113 mins.
"The Trail of Tears Cherokee Legacy", narrated by James Earl Jones and featuring Wes Studi (who speaks his native Cherokee in the film, with English subtitles), explores one of America's darkest periods. President Andrew Jackson's Indian Removal Act of 1830 led to the forced removal of the Cherokee Nation from the Carolinas and Georgia to Oklahoma in 1838-1839."
We Shall Remain
5-part series. A provocative multi-media project that establishes Native history as an essential part of American history.
Search the library catalog for more books on Native American history. Sort your results by publication date to see the most recently published first. Here is a link to the ACC History Department list on Native American history.
Bury My Heart at Wounded Knee: An Indian History of the American West by
"Dee Brown's classic, eloquent, meticulously documented account of the systematic destruction of the American Indian during the second half of the nineteenth century. Immediately recognized as a revelatory and enormously controversial book since its first publication in 1971, it has sold over four million copies in multiple editions and has been translated into seventeen languages."
American Indian Nations from Termination to Restoration, 1953-2006 by
When the U.S. government ended its relationship with dozens of Native American tribes and bands between 1953 and 1966, it was in fact engaging in a massive social experiment. Congress enacted the program, known as termination, in the name of "freeing" the Indians from government restrictions and improving their quality of life. Eliminating the federal status of more than nine dozen tribes across the country, however, plunged many into even deeper levels of poverty.
Cultivating the Rosebuds: The Education of Women at the Cherokee Female Seminary, 1851-1909 by
Established by the Cherokee Nation in 1851 in present-day eastern Oklahoma, the nondenominational Cherokee Female Seminary was one of the most important schools in the history of American Indian education. It was founded by neither the federal government nor by missionary agencies but offered a rigorous curriculum from elementary grades through high school that was patterned after that of Mount Holyoke Female Seminary. This title is on the History Department's U.S. History 1301 Book List.
The American Discovery of Europe by
Forbes investigates the voyages of America's Native peoples to the European continent before Columbus's 1492 arrival in the New World. The product of over 20 years of research in libraries throughout Europe and the United States, the book presents a vast number of primary and secondary sources to paint a clear picture of the diverse societies that comprised the Americas before 1492 and reveals surprising Native American involvements in maritime trade and exploration.
Geronimo by
Renowned for ferocity in battle, legendary for an uncanny ability to elude capture, feared for the violence of his vengeful raids, the Apache fighter Geronimo captured the public imagination in his own time and remains a figure of mythical proportion today. This thoroughly researched biography by a renowned historian of the American West strips away the myths and rumors that have long obscured the real Geronimo and presents an authentic portrait of a man with unique strengths and weaknesses.
First Encounters: Native Voices on the Coming of the Europeans by
A collection comprising a wide variety of accounts of native peoples describing their initial encounters with European explorers, conquerors, and settlers. Presents chronologies of important events in the era of European conquest .