Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
RESEARCH GUIDES ACC Home Page

Texas History: Start

Texas history research guide

Where to Start: Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, and Other Reference Sources

REFERENCE WORKS: Generally, the category of works we call "reference" includes atlases, almanacs, bibliographies, dictionaries, directories, encyclopedias, guidebooks, handbooks, indexes, manuals,  yearbooks—materials we "refer" to rather than read entirely. Go to these for definitions, topic overviews or background information. Reference librarians can help you find these. 

Reference Works for Texas History

Databases of Reference Materials

A good place to start is the  Texas Reference Center  which includes articles from more than 80 journals and books about Texas and Texans. Topics include history, ethnic & cultural diversity, gender studies, literature, public health, business, home, garden, sports, and leisure.

Primary Sources

Roger Griffin (1934 - 2016), professor of history at Austin Community College from 1973 until his retirement in 2001, compiled a detailed bibliography of Texas history primary source documents, given to the Texas State Historical Association when he retired.

His work, "Lone Star History Links," is available in the Texas State Historical Association's Handbook of Texas Online.

Texas History Websites


ACC Web Site || Library Web Site || GET HELP! || Search the Library
Contact Us • © Library Services, Austin Community College