Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ACC Library Services has a wide variety of books, electronic books, and audiovisual material on a variety of subjects pertaining to Accounting. This page will provide you with a list of subjects and keywords as well as some useful suggested reading. Need help? Check out our Get Help! page for links to our award-winning tutorials, 24/7 chat with a librarian and more!
In this tutorial you will explore the role books play in research, how to find books, and how to access e-books. This module is designed to take about 10 minutes to complete and includes lots of examples and some interactive practice.
Here are some examples of keywords for accounting:
- Accounts Payable
- Accounts Receivable
- Audit, Auditor
- Balance Sheet
- Corporation Tax
- Cost Accounting
- Debt Refinancing
- Financial Planning
- Financial Statements
- General Ledger
- Investment Finance
- Investor Relations
- Letter of Credit
- Management Reporting
- Mergers & Acquisitions
- Net Income
- Quarterly Reporting
- Reporting & Analysis
- Risk Management
- ROE / ROI / ROA
- Tax Return
- Variance Analysis
- Year-End Reporting
Materials in the library for this subject are shelved according to the Library of Congress Classification system. These are the primary call numbers for accounting/taxation materials.
HF 5601-5689, HG 1-9999
You can search all of the library's resources in one place from one search box. Books, ebooks, streaming videos, articles, DVDs...they're all searchable from the Library Home Page or the Search Tool. After you get results note that they are displayed on two tabs: [ Books, movies, and music ] [ Journals, magazines, news ]
Search operators can be used within the Basic Search:
- AND = type more than one word
Note: AND is implied; don't type it in.
- NOT = use minus sign (-)
accounting career -management
- Quote (exact phrase) Search = use quote marks around the phrase
Introductory Accounting by Accurate accounting is the key to a successful business. But when you're dealing with assets and liabilities, profit and loss, and debits and credits, juggling all the numbers can quickly get confusing. Introductory Accounting gives you everything you need to know about basic financial accounting to manage your dollars and cents and keep your accounts in order. Ideal for small businesses, as well as any large company bookkeeper, this book covers: * Structuring your business and choosing an accounting method. * Setting up an accounting system and basic operating procedures (tracking sales, determining costs, managing cash, etc.). * Creating employee records, maintaining a payroll system, and accounting for benefits. * Keeping tax and benefit records. * Reporting costs. * Closing out cash journals and employee accounts at month-end and balancing ledgers. * Preparing month-end and year-end statements and reports. * Producing a balance sheet and monthly profit-and-loss (P&L) statements. * Using accounting software.
Call Number: XX(335280.1)
Publication Date: 2016-02-09
Accounting Ethics by This new edition of Accounting Ethics has been comprehensively updated to deal with the significant changes within the accounting profession since 2002; the authors systematically explore the new range of ethical issues that have arisen as a result of recent developments, including the financial crisis of 2008. Highlights the debates over the use of fair-value accounting and principles- versus rules-based standards Offers a comprehensive overview of ethics in accounting, as well as an examination of and recommendations for solving the current crisis in this field Investigates the nature and purpose of accounting Uses concrete examples and case studies, including current situations Examines the ethical responsibilities of individual accountants as well as accounting firms
Call Number: HF5625.15 .D87 2011 EBK
Publication Date: 2011-02-23
Managerial Accounting by Business professionals that need to gain a stronger understanding of key accounting concepts will appreciate this book's approach. It focuses on the core concepts framed within the context of one company, C & C Sports, and its supply chain.
Call Number: XX(339868.1)
Publication Date: 2010-11-02
Accounting Handbook by
Call Number: HF 5636 .S55 2015 CYP, EVC, NRG, RVS, SAC
Publication Date: 2014
An extensive A-to-Z dictionary of accounting terms presents short-entry definitions of everything from Abacus to Z Score.
Dictionary of Accounting by
Call Number: HF5621 .D53 2010 EGN, SAC, and Online
Publication Date: 2010, 2016
Over 3,500 entries provide comprehensive coverage of financial accounting, financial reporting, management accounting, direct taxation, indirect taxation,auditing, corporate finance, and accounting bodies and institutions.
Dictionary of Accounting Terms by
Call Number: HF 5621 .S54 2014 CYP, EGN, HLC, NRG, RRC, SAC and online
Publication Date: 2014
The updated edition of this quick-reference short-entry dictionary defines more than 2,500 accounting, auditing, compliance, and tax-related terms.