Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Want to have a career in Accounting? These sites have information on internships, job opportunities, and educational programs for students. Check them out!
A site from the U.S. Department of Labor. Gives standardized descriptions of hundreds of jobs. You can search it by the name of a specific job or by general work areas or by skills.
Career Readiness Handbook
From the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board: "This handbook is designed to help students develop a career path and consider their future employment possibilities as they move through postsecondary education. Topics include the type of careers that exist and the skills needed for them, the steps you should take to find a satisfying career, and how students can leverage curricular and co-curricular activities into marketable skills."
Texas Internship Challenge
The Texas Internship Challenge is a joint partnership among the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board, TWC and TEA, to encourage business and industry partners across the state to offer paid internships.
Huge amounts of information--specific jobs, information on resumes and job searching, educational opportunities, worker and employer legal rights and regulations, links to many other related web sites. Funded by the U.S. government.
This search engine covers many web sites with job listings. The Advanced Search lets you specify part time jobs or internships, among other features. You can sign up so new listings that match your criteria are e-mailed to you.
With our world-class resume and cover letter builders, professional writing services, interview tips, millions of job listings, and a convenient mobile app, LiveCareer is here for your job search and career management every step of the way.
National Opportunity NOCs: Nonprofit Organization Classifieds
A nationwide listing of jobs in nonprofit organizations. Also, the Career Center and Nonprofit Library have excellent lists of links to related web sites
Occupational Outlook Handbook
Highly recommended as a place to begin searching. Published by the U.S. Department of Labor's Bureau of Labor Statistics. Has short descriptions of hundreds of careers, giving required training, likely salary, growth potential, and more.
What Color Is Your Parachute? (Job Hunters Bible)
A supplement to the popular annual book (available in the ACC libraries). Help on job searching and resumes and links to other career web sites.
AAA (American Accounting Association)
Shaping the future of accounting through teaching, research, and networking.
AFWA (Accounting & Financial Women's Alliance)
Enabling women in all accounting and finance fields.
AICPA (American Institute of CPAs)
National organization for rule-making/standard-setting for CPAs. Advocates for CPAs before legislative bodies, public interest groups, and other professional organizations. Assumed the American Woman's Society for Certified Public Accountants into the group in 2017.
AIPB (American Institute of Professional Bookkeepers)
Provides job and educational opportunities as well as answering professional bookkeeping questions through online forums.
ALPFA (Association of Latino Professionals For America)
ALPFA empowers and develops Latino men and women as leaders of character for the nation in every sector of the global economy. Membership for students is free.
American Payroll Association
The American Payroll Association (APA) is a professional association for individuals responsible for processing company payrolls.
IFAC (International Federation of Accountants)
Global organization for the accountancy profession dedicated to strengthening international economies.
NABA (National Association of Black Accountants)
Nonprofit organization dedicated to bridging the opportunity gap for black professionals in the accounting, finance, and related business professions.
NATP (National Association of Tax Professionals)
The largest tax association serving Tax Preparers, Enrolled Agents, Certified Public Accountants, Certified Financial Planners, Accountants, and Attorneys.
NSA (National Society of Accountants)
Provides leadership in the profession of accountancy and taxation through advocacy and standards of ethics, education, and professional excellence.
All Accounting Careers
A clearinghouse of information on Accounting programs at a variety of universities and general information on careers in Accounting. Information is categorized by state, type of educational program, etc. Scholarships are listed under the Resources tab.
Provides a job finder, degree finder, as well as a list of scholarships. Can also look for resources by state. Be advised that some content is sponsored.
AICPA Career Center
Provides a career overview as well as a job finder, access to a Young CPA network, and educational opportunities.
Free job search engine specifically for Accounting. Allows job seekers to search by location as well as skills and job titles. Pro services cost $19.95.