LGBTQIA+ Resources: More Resources

Everyone has basic rights under the U.S. Constitution and civil rights laws. Learn more here about what your LGBTQ rights are, how to exercise them, and what to do when your rights are violated.

In its dedication to the health of all children, the American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) strives to improve health care access and eliminate disparities for children and teenagers who identify as lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, or questioning (LGBTQ) of their sexual or gender identity.

GLAAD rewrites the script for LGBTQ acceptance. As a dynamic media force, GLAAD tackles tough issues to shape the narrative and provoke dialogue that leads to cultural change.

The Human Rights Campaign (HRC) seeks to improve the lives of LGBT Americans by advocating for equal rights and benefits in the workplace, ensuring families are treated equally under the law, and increasing public support among all Americans through innovative advocacy, education and outreach programs. HRC works to secure equal rights for LGBT individuals and families at the federal and state levels by lobbying elected officials, mobilizing grassroots supporters, educating Americans, investing strategically to elect fair-minded officials, and partnering with other LGBT organizations.

Lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer and/or questioning (LGBTQ) individuals in the United States face unique legal hardships in numerous areas including employment, military service, immigration and asylum, criminal justice, healthcare access, and housing. Although progress has been made on several legal fronts, significant disparities continue to exist.

NGLCC is the largest advocacy organization dedicated to expanding economic opportunities and advancements for LGBTQ people, and the exclusive certifying body for LGBTQ-owned businesses.

Ensuring human rights for LGBTIQ people everywhere through three strategic program areas: advocacy, support, and research.

We empower LGBTQ+ individuals in STEM by providing education, advocacy, professional development, networking, and peer support. We educate all communities regarding scientific, technological, and medical concerns of LGBTQ+ people.

The World Professional Association for Transgender Health (WPATH), formerly known as the (Harry Benjamin International Gender Dysphoria Association (HBIGDA), is a 501(c)(3) non-profit, interdisciplinary professional and educational organization devoted to transgender health. Our professional, supporting, and student members engage in clinical and academic research to develop evidence-based medicine and strive to promote a high quality of care for transsexual, transgender, and gender-nonconforming individuals internationally. We are funded primarily through the support of our membership, and through donations and grants sponsored by non-commercial sources.

Young Professionals with Pride (YPP) is a community networking group for LGBTQ and allied young professionals. We create an intentional space for young folks of all identities, from all industries, to connect, network, learn, and grow as professionals and people. We are a program of GSBA, Washington's LGBTQ and allied chamber of commerce, and North America's largest LGBTQ and allied chamber of commerce.

The purpose of this project at Harvard University is to present comprehensive, complex, collective, and individual pictures of the people who have made up ACT UP/New York. The ACT UP activist organization originated in New York City late in the 1980s in response to the AIDS epidemic and crisis. ACT UP developed an approach and engaged in activities that had major impact upon AIDS-related therapies and research, the Gay/Lesbian community, the performative and expressive arts, human rights, and American activists and activism.

Since 1973, the The ArQuives (formerly the Canadian Lesbian and Gay Archives) has been acquiring and preserving material documenting LGBTQ2+ history with the mandate to acquire, preserve, organize, and provide public access to information and materials, in any medium, by and about LGBTQ2+ people, primarily produced in or concerning Canada.

The Bay Area Reporter (BAR) is the oldest continuously published lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender weekly newspaper in the United States. Complete issues of the Bay Area Reporter produced from the founding of the paper in 1971 through the launch of its own website in 2005 are now posted and fully searchable via the partners for the GLBT Historical Society's BAR digitization project.

The purpose of the Digital Transgender Archive (DTA) is to increase the accessibility of transgender history by providing an online hub for digitized historical materials, born-digital materials, and information on archival holdings throughout the world. Based in Boston, Massachusetts at Northeastern University, the DTA is an international collaboration among more than sixty colleges, universities, nonprofit organizations, public libraries, and private collections. By digitally localizing a wide range of trans-related materials, the DTA expands access to trans history for academics and independent researchers alike in order to foster education and dialog concerning trans history.

Founded in 1981, Gerber/Hart’s collections focus on the culture and history of LGBTQ peoples and additional marginalized sexual and gender minorities in Chicago and the Midwest. Open to all, Gerber/Hart serves these communities by collecting, preserving, and making accessible collection items of individuals, organizations, and businesses, as well as publicly distributed items.

Founded in 1985, the Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender (GLBT) Historical Society is recognized internationally as a leader in the field of LGBTQ public history.

The LGBT collection contains 25 publications that chronicle the birth of the Gay and Lesbian movements in the United States. The gay liberation movement of the 1970s saw political action explode through the National Gay and Lesbian Task Force, the Human Rights Campaign, the election of openly gay and lesbian representatives, and the first march on Washington for gay rights in 1979. Access provided by JSTOR

In Plain Sight provides factual historic records and up-to-date information about people who have come out in different professional areas. It features more than 800 entries with brief descriptions and zoom-in capabilities for high-res photos organized in 10 categories: AIDS/HIV, Arts, Business, Film/TV, Literature, Memorials, Milestones, Music, Sports, and Theatre/Dance.

The Lesbian Herstory Archives is home to the world’s largest collection of materials by and about Lesbians and their communities.

The collections of the Library of Congress tell the rich and diverse story of LGBTQ+ life in America and around the world. This research guide serves as an introduction into the excellent collection of LGBTQ+ resources available at the Library of Congress

These exhibitions present artifacts from LGBTQ religious collections in digital format and organized as you might see in a museum or library. Each exhibition includes diverse artifacts, such as photos, articles, correspondence, documents and audio or video clips, that have been found in archives.

The goal of the Louise Lawrence Transgender Archive (LLTA or simply Louise) is to increase the understanding of transgender people and encourage new scholarship by making transgender historical materials available to students, scholars and the public.

The Mazer Lesbian Archives is a vital Lesbian and feminist community resource committed to sharing our history across generations, ethnicity, race, and personal belief systems by collecting, preserving and making available unique memorabilia in a safe and welcoming environment.

ONE Archives Foundation is an independent 501(c)(3) dedicated to telling the accurate and authentic stories of LGBTQ people, history and culture through public exhibitions, educational projects and trainings, and community outreach programs. Our exhibitions, school programs, and community outreach programs are free. We depend entirely on members of the public and private foundations for support.

QZAP first launched in November 2003 in an effort to preserve queer zines and make them available to other queers, researchers, historians, punks, and anyone else who has an interest DIY publishing and underground queer communities.

The online archives contain over 1400 searchable items related to the history of LGBT life in the DC area.

The Transgender Archives at the University of Victoria is committed to the preservation of the history of pioneering activists, community leaders, and researchers who have contributed to the betterment of Trans+ and other gender-diverse people.

This is a project of the Jean-Nickolaus Tretter Collection in GLBT Studies at the University of Minnesota Libraries that seeks to empower the Upper Midwest Transgender community while providing students, historians, and the public with a richer foundation of primary source material about the Transgender community.

Stories of LGBTQ experience from the US Census Bureau.

LGBTQ Nation is an online news magazine, reporting on issues relevant to the lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer community.

The UC Davis LGBTQIA Resource Center provides a wide range of resources and support.

The University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee is one of the nation’s top campuses for LGBTQ+ students and is currently rated 4.5 stars by Campus Pride as on LGBTQ+ friendly University.

The resources and support to live a healthy, connected LGBT life.

Vivent Health was founded on the combined expertise of AIDS Resource Center of Wisconsin, Rocky Mountain CARES, St. Louis Effort for AIDS and AIDS Services of Austin. We have since grown into other regions as we collectively work toward a world without AIDS and are committed to being a respectful, caring partner serving everyone affected by HIV through comprehensive, integrated prevention, care and treatment programs.

Forge provides training and technical assistance, resources and support, and connection and awareness for building strength and resilience in transgender communities.

Founded in 2003, The National Center for Transgender Equality advocates to change policies and society to increase understanding and acceptance of transgender people. In the nation’s capital and throughout the country, NCTE works to replace disrespect, discrimination, and violence with empathy, opportunity, and justice.

The National Resource Center on LGBTQ+ Aging is the country's first and only technical assistance resource center focused on improving the quality of services and supports offered to lesbian, gay, bisexual and/or transgender older adults, their families and caregivers.

interACT uses innovative legal and other strategies to advocate for the human rights of children born with differences in their genitals, chromosomes, hormones, and reproductive anatomy.

Dr. Lulu aka the Momatrician is a retired pediatrician and mom of a transgender young adult. She is a 3-time TEDx speaker, best-selling author, an award-winning LGBTQ+ advocate and youth suicide prevention activist. A former Lt. Col and commander in the US Air Force, she currently works with parents of LGBTQ+ youth. She coaches them on how to accept, understand and support their children.