When you borrow someone's information, data, remarks, etc. you must give credit to the original author. The style of documentation you use depends on the disciplinary area of the course you are taking, e.g., English or Nursing. Visit ACC Library's Style Guide webpage to find handouts explaining rules and guidelines for APA, CSE, MLA and Turabian documentation style.
Your instructor will tell you what citation style you should use for your assignment.
Check out these websites to help with creating your citations. Always double check against our style guides!
Citation Machine
A citation generator for MLA, APA, Turabian and Chicago styles
KnightCite
A citation generator created by the Hekman Library of Calvin College. It assists with creating citations in MLA, APA and Chicago for all types of resources. You have the option to register for additional features such as saving and exporting citations.
NoodleTools
NoodleBib Express quickly creates citations in MLA or APA. You can also register for a NoodleBib MLA Starter account for additional feature such as the ability to save citations and format a works cited page.
Zotero
A Firefox extension that helps with the collection, management and citation of sources (for Firefox only)
Most of our databases include tools that automatically generate citations for every article, video, eBook that you open. The citation tools may look different depending on which database you use. Look for the icons below in your resources to quickly access a citation that you can copy and past into your assignment. Don't forget to check these auto-generated citations for occasional errors (use the ACC Library Style Guides!)
Try this short tutorial if you want to know more information about why we cite. 
MLA Citation Guide created by ACC Librarians
Covers basic citation rules and provides citation examples of commonly used source types.
The MLA Style Center
Writing sources and support from the Modern Language Association
MLA Formatting and Style Guide
Created by the Purdue Online Writing Lab
APA Citation Guide created by ACC Librarians
Covers basic citation rules and provides citation examples of commonly used source types.
APA Style
The authority on APA Style rules and support
APA Formatting and Style Guide
Created by the Purdue Online Writing Lab
CSE Citation Guide created by ACC Librarians -- Name-Year Method
Covers basic citation rules and provides citation examples of commonly used source types
CSE Citation Guide created by ACC Librarians -- Citation-Sequence System
Covers basic citation rules and provides citation examples of commonly used source types
Turabian Citation Guide created by ACC Librarians
Covers basic citation rules and provides citation examples of commonly used source types
Turabian/Chicago Manual for Writers
Citation quick guide with support and tools from the Chicago Manual of Style.