Here are some ACC Library databases that may be helpful to your class assignments. Remember, you may be prompted to log in with your ACC eID after clicking on the links. To see the complete A-Z list of ACC Library Databases, click here.
Magazines, Newspaper, Journal Article Databases- These databases contain periodicals which publish information in a series, or periodically (hence the name). Daily newspapers, monthly magazines and journals are all periodicals and the articles inside them are periodical articles. Check out the following databases to start researching your specific topic.
Academic Search Complete 
Scholarly articles, news, and research on topics in most subject areas.
Academic OneFile (Gale)
Provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources, including thousands of podcasts as well as videos.
JSTOR
Contains more than a thousand academic journals and over one million images, letters and other primary sources.
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints
Articles with pro and con viewpoints from reference works, magazines, academic journals, newspapers, primary source documents, and government and organizational statistics.
The New York Times
All ACC faculty, students, and staff have full access to The New York Times website. You must first register using your ACC email at Access NYTimes. More information can be found at The New York Times: Academic Pass guide.
Reference Article Databases - A good place to start when you are getting familiar with your topic. Encyclopedias are excellent for giving you foundational information.
Gale eBooks
Online collection of general and subject-specific encyclopedias on all major topic areas.
Credo Reference
Online collection of general and subject-specific reference works on all major topic areas.
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia
Includes over 25,000 articles covering an array of topics.
Try out searching in some of the library databases with the Finding Articles Tutorial.
Databases are like digital filing cabinets for storing and organizing large amounts of information. Check out ACC Library's A-Z List of Databases to access academic journals (specialized magazines for scholars and researchers), high quality academic articles and other types of resources. These are the types of sources your college instructors (and maybe employers) will expect you to use.
