Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Land Surveying Books
Land Development Handbook by
Publication Date: 2008-07-09
The Definitive Guide to Land Development-Every Detail, Every Issue, Every Setting Land Development Handbook provides a step-by-step approach to any type of project, from rural greenfield development to suburban infill to urban redevelopment.
Easements Relating to Land Surveying and Title Examination by
Publication Date: 2013-08-12
The definition, use, defense, and retirement of easements are areas of active work for land surveyors, lawyers, and the holders and buyers of easements, such as utility companies and highway departments.
Surveying the Courtroom by
Publication Date: 1999-08-12
An outstanding reference that demystifies the legal process for expert witnesses in land and natural resource disputes a vast and complex body of laws surrounds the ownership and disposition of land resources today.
After the Map by
Publication Date: 2016-07-01
For most of the twentieth century, maps were indispensable. They were how governments understood, managed, and defended their territory, and during the two world wars they were produced by the hundreds of millions. Cartographers and journalists predicted the dawning of a "map-minded age," where increasingly state-of-the-art maps would become everyday tools.
GPS for Land Surveyors, Fourth Edition by
Publication Date: 2015-06-01
For more than a decade, GPS for Land Surveyors has been unique among other books on this topic due to its clear, straightforward treatment of the subject matter.
Subdividing the Land Metes and Bounds and Rectangular by
Publication Date: 2010-11-11
Ideally, every tract of land has a description on paper and a physical survey on the ground. When boundary disputes arise, all parties concerned must quickly learn the vocabulary and processes involved with real estate.
Measuring America by
Publication Date: 2003-09-30
In 1790, America was in enormous debt, having depleted what little money and supplies the country had during its victorious fight for independence. Before the nation's greatest asset, the land west of the Ohio River, could be sold it had to be measured out and mapped. And before that could be done, a uniform set of measurements had to be chosen for the new republic out of the morass of roughly 100,000 different units that were in use in daily life.
Geomatics Engineering by
Publication Date: 2010-09-27
Traditionally, land surveyors experience years of struggle as they encounter the complexities of project planning and design processes in the course of professional employment or practice.
Making Sense of Cities by
Publication Date: 2014-04-23
In 2000, for the first time, a majority of the world's population was living in cities. The trend towards increasing urbanization shows no sign of slowing and the third millennium looks set to be an unprecedentedly urban one.
American Boundaries by
Publication Date: 2009-02-15
For anyone who has looked at a map of the United States and wondered how Texas and Oklahoma got their Panhandles, or flown over the American heartland and marveled at the vast grid spreading out in all directions below, American Boundaries will yield a welcome treasure trove of insight.
Advanced Surveying: Total Station, GIS and Remote Sensing by
Call Number: ONLINE
Publication Date: 2006-11-01
Modern Surveying is unimaginable without the use of electronic equipment and information technology. Surveying with conventional systems has been completely replaced with advanced automated systems. Total Station, Global Positioning System (GPS), Remote Sensing and Geographical Information System (GIS) have all become an inextricable part of surveying. Advanced Surveying: Total Station, GIS and Remote Sensing provides a thorough working knowledge of these technologies.
Basic principles of topography by
Call Number: GA13 .M37 2018
Publication Date: 2018
This book gives a comprehensive overview of all relevant elements in topography and their practical application. It elaborates on the classical representation of terrain on maps such as cartographic projections, together with their classification, scale, and geographical elements. It is richly illustrated with photographs, maps and figures, in which the theoretical explanations are clarified.
Cartographic Grounds by
Call Number: GA102.3 .C368 2016
Publication Date: 2016-06-28
Mapping has been one of the most fertile areas of exploration for architecture and landscape in the past few decades. While documenting this shift in representation from the material and physical description toward the depiction of the unseen and often immaterial, Cartographic Grounds takes a critical view toward the current use of data mapping and visualization and calls for a return to traditional cartographic techniques to reimagine the manifestation and manipulation of the ground itself. Each of the ten chapters focuses on a single cartographic technique--sounding/spot elevation, isobath/contour, hachure/hatch, shaded relief, land classification, figure-ground, stratigraphic column, cross-section, line symbol, conventional sign--and illustrates it through beautiful maps and plans.
Geospatial Data and Analysis by
Call Number: ONLINE
Publication Date: 2017-02-01
Geospatial data, or data with location information, is generated in huge volumes every day by billions of mobile phones, IoT sensors, drones, nanosatellites, and many other sources in an unending stream. This practical ebook introduces you to the landscape of tools and methods for making sense of all that data, and shows you how to apply geospatial analytics to a variety of issues, large and small.
Land Tenure, Boundary Surveys, and Cadastral Systems by
Call Number: KF574 .C65 2017
Publication Date: 2016-08-05
Land Tenure, Boundary Surveys, and Cadastral Systems provides an introduction to land tenure, cadastral systems, and boundary surveying, including an understanding of the interrelationship of these areas and their role in land tenure and real property law. This is especially true considering the advent of georeferenced cadastral maps reflecting the location of land parcels relative to many other components of the physical and legal infrastructure.
Precision Surveying by
Call Number: OLINE
Publication Date: 2015-09-22
A comprehensive overview of high precision surveying, including recent developments in geomatics and their applications This book covers advanced precision surveying techniques, their proper use in engineering and geoscience projects, and their importance in the detailed analysis and evaluation of surveying projects.
Surveying Instruments and Technology by
Call Number: TA562 .N33 2017 (ONLINE)
Publication Date: 2017-07-06
Written by a team of surveying experts, Surveyor's Instruments and Technology gives surveying students and practitioners profound understanding of how surveying instruments are designed and operating based on surveying instrument functionality. The book includes the required basic knowledge of accurate measurements of distances and angles from theoretical principles to advanced optical, mechanical, electronic and software components for comparative analysis.
Unmanned vehicle systems for geomatics : towards robotic mapping by
Call Number: G70.23 .U55 2019
Publication Date: 2019
This book contributes to the transformative and revolutionary use of small, unmanned vehicle systems for three-dimensional geospatial data acquisition and mapping, which is considered to be a paradigm shift in the science and technology of geomatics. The book presents a systematic and comprehensive approach for the use of small mobile unmanned systems for robotic geomatics research and applications.
Browse the Stacks
Materials on this subject in our libraries are shelved according to the Library of Congress Classification system. Land surveying materials are mainly at the Northridge Campus Library, although there is a small collection at the Eastview Campus. You can browse the library catalog and the library stacks (shelves) within this surveying call number range:
TA 505 - TA 625.
If you are not finding material you need, ask a librarian for assistance. You can also search libraries worldwide through WorldCat. Ask your librarian about interlibrary loan if you find a title you need at another library.
You can get a TexShare card to borrow books from participating local libraries.
Here are some examples of search strategies for land surveying:
--land survey* (The asterisk * retrieves singular, plural, and other forms of the word:
survey, surveying, surveyor, surveys)
--boundary and survey*
- Geospatial Engineering
- Land Surveying
- Title Examination
- Land Development
- GPS for Land Surveyors
- Land Subdivisions