LibGuides: Geospatial Engineering: Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Reference Shelf - Selected Works

Black's Law Dictionary, Standard Ninth Edition. by Garner, Bryan A., ed.
KF156 .B53 2009 Cypress Creek, Elgin, Northridge, Rio Grande, and Round Rock Campus libraries Library Use Only; 8th edition at other campus libraries.

This resource is mentioned on many Land Surveyors' pages and cited in land surveying books.

A Dictionary of Construction, Surveying and Civil Engineering by Christopher Gorse, David Johnston, and Martin Pritchard
In Oxford Reference database online.
Encyclopedia of Geographic Information Science by Karen K. Kemp, editor.
G70.212 .E53 2008 South Austin Campus Library - LIBRARY USE ONLY
Geographic information science (GIScience) is an emerging field that combines aspects of many different disciplines. This work brings together GIScience literature from across the academic spectrum and offers details about the foundations of GIScience, no matter what their disciplinary origins.
McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Engineering.
TA9 .M35 2003 ebk - eBooks on EBSCOhost

The content of this work, taken from the 6th ed. of the McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms, emphasizes electronic/electrical, mechanical, chemical, and general engineering terms. Print copies at Northridge and South Austin Campus libraries: TA9 .M35 2003 - LIBRARY USE ONLY.
Occupational Outlook Handbook
This career information resources is available online from the United States Department of Labor, Bureau of Labor Statistics. See Surveying and Mapping Technicians and Surveyors.

Research Success

Student Learning Success Toolbox
Click on the Research Success tab in the Student Learning Success Toolbox for tips and tools.
Starting Research
This page on the International Students Information Plus guide shows how to use library tutorials to prepare for a research project.

Reference eBooks

A dictionary of construction, surveying and civil engineering by Gorse, Christopher A.
Call Number: TA9 2020 EBK
ISBN: 9780191871061
Publication Date: 2020

Gale eBooks

A collection of encyclopedias and specialized reference works. Representative essays include "Surveying Instruments" in The Gale Encyclopedia of Science, "The Land Ordinance of 1785" and "Mapping and surveying" in The Encyclopedia of American Environmental History, "Land Speculation" and Surveyors and Surveying" in The Encyclopedia of the New American Nation, and "Public Land Commissions" in The Dictionary of American History.

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Online collection of general and subject-specific encyclopedias on all major topic areas.