LibGuides: Financial Management: Reference Works

Reference Works

Generally, the category of works we call "reference" includes almanacs, bibliographies, dictionaries, directories, encyclopedias, guidebooks, handbooks, indexes, manuals, yearbooks—materials we "refer" to rather than read entirely. Go to these for definitions, formulas, codes, standards, and topic overviews or background information.

Search Strategy

Library Resources

Sometimes the Internet is not the best or fastest resource to use to get information. There are many excellent financial management encyclopedias and dictionaries in the reference areas of campus libraries as well as books that can be borrowed from the library. There are also e-books that can be read online. Look for the symbol.

To search for books and videos on financial management, go to the library web search. You can search by call number (HD-HJ), to browse the collection online.

Financial Management call numbers:

HD	Industry
HF	Commerce
HG	Finance
HJ	Public Finance

You can also search by keywords and phrases, such as accounting, banks, banking, credit, debt, finance, financial management, lending, stocks, etc. You can use such terms to search periodical indexes for magazine and journal articles or to search the Internet.

Remember that you can ask a reference librarian to assist you with your research, in person in the library, by telephone, or online.

Reference Shelf - Online Selected Works

Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window
Information on over 240 million private companies and 5,000 large public companies, plus five years worth of exportable financial statements. Census data, demographic profiles, and corporate families trees are also included.
Gale Business: Entrepreneurship This link opens in a new window
Covers all aspects of starting and operating a business, including accounting, finance, human resources, management, marketing, tax, and more.
Gale Business: Insights Global This link opens in a new window
Delivers comprehensive international business intelligence with over 460,000 company profiles, including 2,000 with deep links to related content and Refinitiv statistical data.

O'Reilly for Higher Education
Over 45,000 titles from O’Reilly and 200+ trusted publishers, including Harvard Business Review, Pearson, and more. Also includes 30,000 hours of video from industry leaders as well as case studies from top companies.

Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista consolidates statistical data on over 80,000 topics from more than 22,500 sources in business and government.

Includes Financial Reports .

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Publication Date: Varies with dozens of titles covering a range of business areas including Finance.
Online collection of general and subject-specific encyclopedias on all major topic areas.

For searching only the titles devoted to business which includes finance use

Gale eBooks Business titles

Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Online collection of dictionaries, encyclopedias, maps, timelines, and illustrations.

for searching only the Business & Management Section of ORO

Small Business Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Offers a wide variety of information on small business and entrepreneurial subject areas, common business types, a help and advice section, and provides information on how to create business plans.

Financial Manager (in Salem Press' "Careers in Business") by Simone Isadora Flynn
Publication Date: 2015
"Sphere of Work
Financial managers are responsible for directing, monitoring, safeguarding, and ensuring the profitability of the financial operations of businesses, corporations, nonprofit organizations, and government entities. They provide diverse financial services, including financial report preparation and review, budget analysis, investment guidance, and long-term financial goal development. Financial managers develop financial strategies and plans to implement and evaluate the strategies."

Ferguson's Career Guidance Center This link opens in a new window
Industry and professional articles, school planning resources, and skills and career advice.
LearningExpress Library Plus This link opens in a new window
This product (and not ACC) requires that you register for a free account before accessing.Tutorials and e-books to help with job preparation, career advancement, and college readiness, as well as practice tests for the TOEFL, MCAT, ACT, GMAT, LSAT, GRE, and AP tests. Also includes Computer Skills, Job & Career Accelerator, and Adult Learning centers..

LearningExpress Library
Comprehensive career-oriented and academic resources to help with job preparation, career advancement, career changes, and re-entry into the workforce. Includes practice exams.

The "Why Credit Matters" tutorial can be found by entering
credit
in the search box.

Microsoft Excel Tutorials can be found by searching excel in the search box or by using the Computer Skills Center button and/or dropdown.

This product (and not ACC) requires that you register for a free account before accessing. You must register from the first page of this resource. See these instructions.

LearningExpress is compatible with your mobile devices.

LearningExpress is funded by a grant from the US Institute of Museum and Library Services via The TexShare Database program of the Texas State Library and Archives Commission.
Job & Career Accelerator
Career and job search platform designed to guide any job seeker through the most effective career selection and job search possible.
This product (and not ACC) requires that you register for a free account before accessing.
This database is part of LearningExpress.

Legal Information Reference Center (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Top consumer legal reference books (including the Nolo series), plus thousands of multi-state forms to assist the general public in legal matters of all kinds.

https://www.ebscohost.com/titleLists/lir-coverage.xls

Legal Collection This link opens in a new window
Articles about criminal justice, international law, federal law, organized crime, and ethics.
LegalForms This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive resource of Texas legal documents, continuously updated to reflect the latest state laws. Features include personalized forms, comprehensive descriptions of each form and its use, legal questions and answers from attorneys, and state-specific legal information
HeinOnline Academic This link opens in a new window
U.S. federal & state case law, as well as multidisciplinary content in more than 100 subject areas, including history, political science, criminal justice, religious studies, international relations, women’s studies, pre-law, and many more

National survey of state laws [electronic resource] by Richard A. Leiter, editor
Call Number: REF KF386 .N38 2008 ebk [eBook - Gale Virtual Reference Library]
ISBN: 0787698741
Acronyms, initialisms & abbreviations dictionary [electronic resource] : a guide to acronyms, abbreviations, contractions, alphabetic symbols, and similar condensed appellations by Bohdan Romaniuk, project editor
Call Number: REF P365 .A344 2007 ebk [eBook - GaleGroup]
ISBN: 078767821X
ebk ISBN 1414409737
How products are made. Volume 7 [electronic resource] : an illustrated guide to product manufacturing by Edited by Deirdre S. Blanchfield
Call Number: REF TS146 .H67 vol. 7 2002 ebk [eBook - GaleGroup]
ISBN: 0787636436
Vols. 1-6 are also available at ACC.

Provides information on the manufacture of a variety of items, from everyday household products to heavy machinery to sophisticated electronic equipment. Includes step-by-step descriptions of processes and simple explanations of technical terms and concepts. Covers a broad range of manufacturing areas including: food, clothing, electronics, transportation, machinery, instruments, sporting goods, and more.

SciTech Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
Full-text theoretical and applied science literature including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more.

SciTech Premium Collection (includes Technology Collection) current title list

Business ratios and formulas [electronic resource] : a comprehensive guide, 3rd ed. by Steven M. Bragg.
Call Number: REF HF5691 .B73 2012 ebk [eBook - EBSCO]
ISBN: 1118169964
Publication Date: 2012
Summary: "Business ratios, formulas, and statistics are used by controllers, business managers, and analyst to evaluate company operations and performance. This book presents a comprehensive resource of nearly 250 operational criteria, allowing managers to pick and choose the tools they need to best assess their organization's performance. The measurements contain not only financial matters but also those related to efficiency, effectiveness, capacity, and market share. In addition, measurements related to asset utilization, operating performance, cash flows, liquidity, capital structure, return on investment, and market performance.Each measurement includes a description, an explanation of the calculation, an example, and cautions regarding its use. There is also a description of an electronic spreadsheet to compile a standard set of measurements using Excel as the template.This new edition will include over 20 new measurements"

ebook ISBNs: 9781118226834, 9781118239827, 9781118264423.
Encyclopedia of business and finance, 3d ed. [electronic resource] by Burton S. Kaliski, editor-in-chief
Call Number: REF HF1001 .E466 2014 ebk [eBook - GaleGroup]
ISBN: 0028662644
Publication Date: 2014
QFinance : the ultimate resource, 5th ed. by Hayʼat Markaz Qaṭar lil-Māl, ed. Summary: QFINANCE: The Ultimate Resource offers articles with key themes in over 250 best practice and thought leadership articles. This edition comprises key perspectives on environmental, social, and governance factors -- essential for understanding the long-term sustainability of a company.
Call Number: HG173 .Q457 2014 EBK [Credo]
ISBN: 9781784029227
Publication Date: 2014
QFinance [electronic resource] : the ultimate resource. by Bloomsbury Information Ltd. and Gale Group
Call Number: REF HG173 .Q28 2009 ebk [eBook - GaleGroup]
ISBN: 1849300003
Covers key aspects of finance including risk and cash-flow management, operations, macro issues, regulation, auditing and raising capital.
Plunkett's financial services industry almanac, 2004 by Plunkett, Jack W.
Call Number: HG65 .P58 2003 EBK [EBSCO]
ISBN: 9781593923457
Publication Date: 2003
General Note: "The only comprehensive guide to the financial services industry."
Plunkett's banking, mortgages & credit industry almanac 2010 : the only comprehensive guide to the banking industry, 6th ed. by Plunkett, Jack W.
Call Number: HG1536 .P58 2010 EBK [EBSCO]
ISBN: 9781593924997
Publication Date: 2009
Summary: Complete profiles on the top companies with the latest statistics and trends in regional banks, money center banks, international banks, mortgages, credit card providers, consumer finance, business finance & leasing, payment processing, online banking-
Plunkett's investment & securities industry almanac 2010 : the only comprehensive guide to the investment & securities industry, 6th ed. by Plunkett, Jack W.
Call Number: HG4907 .P58 2010 EBK [EBSCO]
ISBN: 9781593925031
Publication Date: 2010
Summary: Complete profiles on the top companies with the latest statistics and trends in investment banking, brokerage, mutual funds, employee benefits, financial planning & consulting, asset management, pension & trust management, and online brokers
Plunkett's insurance industry almanac 2010 : the only comprehensive guide to the insurance industry, 6th ed. by Plunkett, Jack W.
Call Number: HG8021 .P58 2010 EBK [EBSCO]
ISBN: 9781593924980
Publication Date: 2010
Summary: Complete profiles on the top insurance companies with the latest statistics and trends in property & casualty insurance, health & life insurance, specialty lines, group insurance, personal lines, reinsurance, risk management, brokerage, and consulting
RIA Tax Database
Call Number: REF KF6272 ebk [eBook - Checkpoint ]
Access to the FASB Codification, AICPA Professional Standards, and AICPA Practice Aids, GASB and Governmental Auditing Standards, and Governmental Editorial Material. You may need to accept a security certificate to use this resource off campus. Note: The FASB Codification can also be accessed via the American Accounting Association Academic Access Program. Your Accounting instructor can provide information about accessing this resource.
Encyclopedia of American industries [electronic resource], 6th ed..
Call Number: REF HC102 .E53 2011 ebk [eBook - Gale Group]
ISBN: 1414486839
Publication Date: 2011
Provides detailed, comprehensive information on a wide range of industries in every realm of American business.

Contents:
vol. 1. Food & kindred products -- Tobacco products -- Textile mill products -- Apparel & other finished products made from fabrics & similar materials -- Lumber & wood products, except furniture -- Furniture & fixtures -- Paper & allied products -- Printing, publishing & allied industries -- Chemicals & allied products -- Petroleum refining & related industries -- Rubber & miscellaneous plastics products -- Leather & leather products -- Stone, clay, glass & concrete products -- Primary metals industries -- Fabricated metal products, except machinery/transportation equipment -- Industrial & commercial machinery & computer equipment -- Electronic & other electrical equipment & components, except computer equipment -- Transportation equipment -- Miscellaneous manufacturing industries.
vol. 2. Agriculture, forestry, & fishing -- Mining industries -- Construction industries -- Transportation, communications, electric, gas, & sanitary services -- Wholesale trade.
vol. 3. Retail trade -- Finance, insurance, & real estate -- Service industries -- Public administration.
Encyclopedia of management, 7th ed. [electronic resource] by edited by Sonya D. Hill
Call Number: REF HD30.15 .E49 2012 ebk [eBook - GaleGroup]
ISBN: 9781414406916
Publication Date: 2012
ebk ISBN 9781414438030
Business plans handbook. Volume 27 [electronic resource] : a compilation of business plans developed by individuals throughout North America by Sonya D. Hill, ed.
Call Number: HD62.7 .B865 2013 ebk VOL. 27 [eBook - Gale Group]
ISBN: 1414477279
Publication Date: 2013
Contents:
Bed and breakfast -- Commercial and residential aquarium maintenance -- Computer repair and technical support -- Cookie shop -- Finicial services company -- Gourmet foods company -- Grant writer -- Image consulting -- Information broker business -- Marketing services -- Money manager service -- Personal training services for women -- Pet grooming service -- Plumbing service -- Produce and flower market -- Quality assurance consulting services -- Referral service for caregivers and sitters -- Retail business incubator -- Senior relocation services -- Senior technology assistance business.

Summary: Actual business plans compiled by, and aimed at, entrepreneurs seeking funding for small businesses. Presents sample plans taken from businesses in the manufacturing, retail and service industries which serve as examples of how to approach, structure and compose business plans.
Encyclopedia of small business, 4th ed. [electronic resource] by Virgil L. Burton, III, editor
Call Number: REF HD62.7 .H553 2011 ebk [eBook - GaleGroup]
ISBN: 9781414420288
Publication Date: 2011
ebk ISBN 9781414462660
Plunkett's consulting industry almanac 2010 [electronic resource] : the only comprehensive guide to the consulting industry by Jack W. Plunkett
Call Number: REF HD69.C6 P583 2010 ebk [Ebook - EBSCO]
ISBN: 9781593925147
Publication Date: 2010
Contents:
1. Major trends affecting the consulting industry -- 2. Consulting industry statistics -- 3. Important consulting industry contacts -- 4. The consulting 250: who they are and how they were chosen.
Summary:
The data and areas of interest covered are intentionally broad, ranging from the various aspects of the consulting industry, to emerging technology, to an in-depth look at the major firms (which we call "THE CONSULTING 250") within the many segments that make up the consulting industry. Our definition of the types of businesses involved in consulting is applied in a liberal sense. Accordingly, this book includes traditional management consulting and human resources consulting firms; companies involved in IT, e-commerce or marketing consulting; as well as consultancies in such areas as manufacturing, logistics and transportation. In addition, we have added companies that combine engineering, design, outsourcing or facilities management with consulting services. We have also included companies that perform research and development functions combined with consulting services, along with major original equipment manufacturers (OEMs) that provide consulting services to their clients.
Plunkett's real estate & construction industry almanac 2019 : the only comprehensive guide to the real estate & construction industry by Plunkett, Jack W., editor.
Call Number: REF HD1375 .P587 2019 EBK [EBSCO]
ISBN: 9781628318180
Publication Date: 2018
Encyclopedia of global industries [electronic resource], 4th ed. by Donahue Group, editors
Call Number: REF HD2324 .E53 2007 ebk [eBook - GaleGroup]
ISBN: 978-1592372430
Plunkett's outsourcing & offshoring industry almanac 2018 : the only comprehensive guide to the outsourcing & offshoring industry by Jack W. Plunkett.
Call Number: REF HD2365 .P586 2018E EBK [EBSCO]
ISBN: 9781593925161
Publication Date: 2017
Contents: 1. Major trends in the outsourcing & offshoring industry -- 2. Outsourcing & offshoring industry statistics -- 3. Important outsourcing & offshoring industry contacts -- 4. The outsourcing & offshoring 350: who they are and how they were chosen.
Summary: The data and areas of interest covered are intentionally broad, ranging from the various types of businesses involved in outsourcing, to the services and technologies that are changing outsourcing and offshoring, to an in-depth look at the major firms within the many segments that make up the outsourcing and offshoring industry. Our definition of the types of businesses involved in outsourcing and offshoring is applied in a liberal sense. Accordingly, this book includes companies and sectors that are not exclusively in the outsourcing or offshoring business. It includes coverage of companies involved in such diverse areas as third party logistics, call centers, research and development, software development and contract manufacturing.
Plunkett's renewable, alternative & hydrogen energy industry almanac 2010 [electronic resource] : the only comprehensive guide to the alternative energy industry by Jack W. Plunkett
Call Number: REF HD9502.A2 P58 2010 ebk [Ebook - EBSCO]
ISBN: 9781593925024
Publication Date: 2009
Summary:
Complete profiles on the top companies with the latest statistics and trends in fuel cells, wind power, solar power, cogeneration, power storage devices, hydrogen, hydroelectric, biomass energy, alternative technologies, profiles of leading firms--Cover.
Contents:
Major trends affecting the renewable, alternative and hydrogen energy industry -- Renewable, alternative and hydrogen energy industry statistics -- Important renewable, alternative and hydrogen energy industry contacts -- The ALTERNATIVE ENERGY 300 : who they are and how they were chosen.
Encyclopedia of products & industries--manufacturing [electronic resource] by Patricia J. Bungert, Arsen J. Darnay, editors.
Call Number: HD9720.5 .E53 2008 V.1 & V.2 ebk [eBook - GaleGroup]
ISBN: 1414429835
Provides information on products and the relationships between products and their industries. Explores various aspects of a product, the manufacturers, suppliers, immediate and adjacent industries and markets. Emphasizes manufacturers of numerous durable goods such as tires, automobiles, appliances, business equipment, home furnishing and sporting goods.
Plunkett's apparel, shoes & textiles industry almanac 2019 : the only comprehensive guide to the apparel and textiles industry by Plunkett, Jack W., editor.
Call Number: REF HD9940 .A1 P586 2019 EBK [EBSCO]
ISBN: 9781628314649
Publication Date: 2018
Plunkett's biotech & genetics industry almanac 2017 [electronic resource] : the only comprehensive guide to biotechnology and genetics companies and trends by Jack W. Plunkett
Call Number: REF HD9999.B44 P583 2017 ebk [EBSCO]
ISBN: 9781628314151
Publication Date: 2017
Contents: 1. Major trends affecting the biotech & genetics industry -- 2. Biotech & genetics industry statistics -- 3. Important biotech & genetics industry contacts -- 4. The BIOTECH 400: who they are and how they were chosen.
Summary: The data and areas of interest covered are intentionally broad, ranging from the ethical questions facing biotechnology, to emerging technology, to an in-depth look at the major for-profit firms within the many industry sectors that make up the biotechnology and genetics arena.
Plunkett's Transportation, Supply Chain & Logistics Industry Almanac 2017 : Transportation, Supply Chain & Logistics Industry Market Research, Statistics, Trends & Leading Companies. by Jack W. Plunkett
Call Number: REF TA 1215 EBK [EBSCO]
ISBN: 9781628317589
Publication Date: 2017
Summary: A complete market research guide to the transportation, supply chain and logistics industries-for strategic planning, competitive intelligence, employment searches or financial research. Contains our famous trends analysis, statistical tables and glossary. Includes our profiles of the top 500 global transportation, supply chain and logistics firms, public and private.
A dictionary of business and management, 6th ed. by Jonathan Law, ed.
Call Number: REF HF1001 .C63 2016 ebk [eBook - Oxford Reference]
ISBN: 9780191765278
Publication Date: 2016
Dictionary contains over 6,500 entries relating to all aspects of management and business as well as e-commerce.
Summary: Covering all areas of modern business practice, this edition now includes increased coverage of terms and concepts. It also looks at issues such as Internet business, private equity, structured finance, and much more.
Encyclopedia of American business [electronic resource] by general editor, W. Davis Folsom ; associate editor, Stacia N. VanDyne
Call Number: REF HF3021 .E53 2011 ebk [GaleGroup] [Print editions also available]
ISBN: 9781438135922
Publication Date: 2011
Summary: This encyclopedia focuses on the terms, concepts, and associations that one is most likely to encounter in business. Five general areas of business are covered: accounting, banking, finance, marketing, and management.
Plunkett's almanac of middle market companies, 2011 [electronic resource] by Jack W. Plunkett
Call Number: REF HF5035 .P55 2010 ebk [ Ebook - EBSCO]
ISBN: 9781593925208
Publication Date: 2010
Plunkett's companion to The almanac of American employers [electronic resource] : mid-size firms 2010 : the only guide to America's hottest, fastest-growing mid-sized employers by Jack W. Plunkett
Call Number: REF HF5382.75.U6 P583 2010 ebk [Ebook - EBSCO]
ISBN: 9781593925086
Publication Date: 2010

Occupational Outlook Handbook by U.S. Dept. of Labor, Bureau of Labor Statistics
Call Number: REF HF5382.5.U5 O3 ebk [eBook - U.S. BLS]
ISBN: 1628738111
Publication Date: Current edition
The Occupational Outlook Handbook is a nationally recognized source of career information, designed to provide valuable assistance to individuals making decisions about their future work lives. The Handbook is revised every two years.
The SAGE encyclopedia of business ethics and society, 2nd ed. by edited by Robert W. Kolb
Call Number: REF HF5387 .E53 2018 ebk [Gale]
ISBN: 9781483381510
Publication Date: 2018
Spans the relationships among business, ethics, and society by including numerous entries that feature broad coverage of corporate social responsibility, the obligation of companies to various stakeholder groups, the contribution of business to society and culture, and the relationship between organizations and the quality of the environment.
Personal Finance: an encyclopedia of modern money management by Barbara Friedberg (Editor)
Call Number: REF HG179 .P477 2015 EBK [EBSCOhost]
ISBN: 9781440830327
Publication Date: 2015-01-01
This jargon-free resource explains the who, what, why, and where of contemporary personal finance in simple, easy-to-grasp language, covering the key people, events, terms, tools, policies, and products that make up modern money management. * Supplies accessible, comprehensive financial information that explains complex topics in simple language * Shows the relationship between personal finance and everyday life, from renting an apartment to saving for retirement * Answers a wide variety of personal finance questions * Provides a resource suitable for both personal and scholarly use
Personal Finance Essentials: Vol. II, Education and Careers by Lopus, Jane S.
Call Number: HF5381 .L889 2012 EBK (Ebook Central)
ISBN: 9781438138169
Publication Date: 2012
Contents Cover; Contents; Introduction; 1: Education in the United States; 2: The Costs of a College Education and How to Pay for It; 3: The Benefits of Education; 4: Planning for the Future: Your Education; 5: Planning for the Future: Your Career; 6: On the Job; Test Your Knowledge; Glossary; Bibliography; Index.
Summary In order to obtain financial well-being, students should determine if their financial¡goals are in¡sync with their education and career goals. Education and Careers discusses various education and career¡paths, as well as how these paths influence a person's financial future.¡Filled with full-color photographs and illustrations, an index, bibliography, glossary, sidebars, and student quizzes, this insightful new resource will be invaluable to high school and college students interested in learning more about personal finance.
Subject Careers. Education. Occupations -- Choice.
Everyday Finance by Gale Group
Call Number: REF HB171 .E86 2008 VOLS. 1&2 EBK [GALE]
ISBN: 9781414410494
Publication Date: 2008
Summary: Provides basic and practical information on economics, personal money management, and starting a business. Explains the foundations of economic theories; shows how various financial institutions and the stock market work; sheds light on social security; examines basic business and accounting practices; and demonstrates how to manage and make money in

Online E-Books

Online, full-text Electronics books accessible from on or off campus

Online E-Books
ACC students and employees have online access to hundreds of books through a variety of subscriptions and public domain sources. Start here with this page to view ebooks or select an ebook you see when you search the catalog. The click path to reach these is
library.austincc.edu=>
Online E-Books.

Downloading Ebooks (Electronics Books)

How to Download Library e-Books to an e-Reader or Computer

Subject Guide

Linda Clement

Email Me

Contact:

Faculty Librarian / Professor
Austin Community College
Cypress Creek Campus Library
1555 Cypress Creek Road
Room 2121.6
Cedar Park, TX 78613
Email: lclement@austincc.edu

512-223-2033