LibGuides: Financial Management: 1. General Sites

1. General Sites

Consumer Financial Protection Bureau

The Yahoo! Finance page and Hoover's Online, the paid Academic Subscription version of Hoovers.com have become recognized staples for business researchers. They are good place to begin for company and economic information. Yahoo! Finance is one of the most comprehensive databases for current and historical company data and investment information and money market data. Composite data for some industries is also available and researchers can find financial information such as annual reports and SEC filings. Free Hoovers.com has less information than the paid subscription and has basic company facts.

Click on the to see additional information about some of these sites.

Boards of Governors: Federal Reserve Banks
This site provides general information on the U.S. banking system.
Financial Management Service
FMS, a Treasury Department bureau, provides central payment services to Federal program agencies, operates the Federal Government's collections and deposit systems, provides government wide accounting and reporting services, and manages the collection of
more...less...
delinquent debt.
FinCEN
This web site provides U.S. policy makers with strategic analyses of domestic and worldwide money laundering developments, trends and patterns. FinCEN works towards those ends through information collection, analysis, and sharing, technological
more...less...
assistance, and innovative and cost-effective implementation of Treasury authorities.
Government Accountability Office
This site provides general information on the general accounting office.
MyMoney.gov
"MyMoney.gov is the U.S. government's website dedicated to teaching all Americans the basics about financial education. "
U.S. Treasury: Consumer Policy: Includes Office of Financial Literacy and Education
The people at the U.S. Treasury’s Office of Financial Literacy and Education know a bit about interest rates, mortgages, and other related matter, so it’s good to learn that they have developed a good set of educational resources designed for teachers. The site
more...less...
includes materials developed by organizations within the U.S. Treasury, including the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation, the Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas, and others. The materials here include “Money Smart”, which is a curriculum designed to help adults understand basic financial services and “Building Wealth”, which presents an overview of such important strategies as creating a household budget and managing debt. These various tools could potentially be used in applied economics and mathematics courses, and teachers will appreciate the flexibility of these different resources. (Review by The Scout Report)

Subject Guide

Linda Clement

Email Me

Contact:

Faculty Librarian / Professor
Austin Community College
Cypress Creek Campus Library
1555 Cypress Creek Road
Room 2121.6
Cedar Park, TX 78613
Email: lclement@austincc.edu

512-223-2033