Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Featured Content: Videatives
Videatives is a newly acquired streaming video collection that shows how children think. Learn how to support their learning and see how to prepare environments that engage children in rich problem solving.
Finding Streaming Videos
There is more than one approach to searching for streaming videos through our library website. One method is to search for streaming videos the same way you would search for books or e-books in our catalog with some modifications. Check out our handy tutorial for information about how to search for books and e-books, and see how to select the streaming video format in the screenshot below.
Another method is to search for videos in our streaming video databases. Please see the Kanopy and Films on Demand boxes below for more information.
Films on Demand
Navigate directly to Films on Demand and Kanopy to search for streaming videos. To get to either database, click on the A-Z List of Databases link on the library homepage.
Click on the letter "F" for Films on Demand or the letter "K" for Kanopy.
Click on the title of the database you want to select. You will be taken to the database's page where you can search for streaming videos.
Child Care & Development DVDs and Videos
The following list contains recommendations for physical DVDs that are housed in the library. At this time we do not have access to the physical collection. Please see the information on this page for digital videos and how to access them.
The child care collection (DVDs 1-7) HQ767.9 .C66 1998-2006 (EVC)
Disc 1 (30 min.) / Communication and learning : Social & emotional development of infants and toddlers
Disc 2 (29 min.) / Cooing, crying, cuddling : Infant brain development
Disc 3 (28 min.) / Laughing, learning, loving : toddler brain development
Disc 4 (30 min.) / Acquiring self-regulation : Social and emotional development of infants and toddlers
Disc 5 (21 min.) / Making friends and getting along with peers : Social and emotional development of infants and toddlers
Disc 6 (29 min.) / Structured play : Gross motor activities for every day
Disc 7 (30 min.) / Dramatic play : More than playing house.
Preschooler observation plus series (DVDs 1-4) - HQ767.9 .P741 2012 (EVC)
Observations of preschoolers show them engaged in activities that exemplify the extraordinary advancements that children make at this age.
Disc 1 (43 min.) / Physical & motor development
Disc 2 (54 min.) / Cognitive development
Disc 3 (45 min.) / Social & emotional development
Disc 4 (49 min.) / Language & literacy development
Juggling work and family (dvd) / a production of Hedrick Smith Productions, Inc. - HD4904.25 .J85 2005 (EVC)
In an era where dual-career couples and single parents have become the norm, mothers and fathers are getting caught in a work-family conflict that pits the "ideal worker" against the "ideal parent." Hedrick Smith examines the impact and implications of a massive shift in our workforce that has buried the traditional father-breadwinner/mother-housewife family model. Incisive case studies, innovative corporate and union initiatives, and analyses by experts addressing the tension between work and family provide insights into people's struggle to reconcile workplace expectations with family needs. Experts say the time has come for America to realign its priorities and create ways to protect the family, but how can it be done without sacrificing America's competitive advantages? This dvd is available streaming too.
Kids & divorce : for better or worse (dvd) - HQ777.5 .K54 2006 (EVC)
Examines the emotional and legal aftermath of divorce, seeking to find out: What's best for the kids? Explores the pros and cons of joint physical custody, looks at efforts to reform how custody is decided in the current judicial system.
Preschoolers / Magna Systems, Inc. (DVDs 1-3) - HQ767.9 .P74 2008 (EVC)
Presents concepts from developmental theorists, insight from current preschool educators, and provides strategies that can be used to foster cognitive, physical, social and emotional growth in children.
The creative curriculum for preschool in action / Diane Trister Dodge (DVD) - LB1140.4 .D62 2007 (EVC)
In-depth examination of The Creative Curriculum® for Preschool and shows how teachers use The Creative Curriculum to guide their thinking and decision making about teaching and learning. After a brief introduction from Diane Trister Dodge.
Eight 10- to 20-minute segments delve into the learning environment, a day in the life of The Creative Curriculum preschool classroom, intentional teaching in prekindergarten, planning for literacy, planning for mathematics, integrating learning through studies, using The Creative Curriculum Developmental Continuum for Ages 3-5 to observe and assess children's learning, and building partnerships with families. Filmed in a variety of Head Start and child care settings.