LibGuides: Child Care & Development: Reference

General Information on Reference Sources

Please find information below about reference resources and their uses.

Finding Background Information Tutorial
Interactive tutorial will show you how to find reliable reference information on your topic.
General Reference, Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, Atlases
Learn more about reference sources in this guide designed by an ACC Librarian.
Statistics
Learn more about statistical data sites and tools in this research guide designed by an ACC Librarian.

Online Reference E-Book for Child Care Centers

Managing Infectious Diseases in Child Care and Schools by Susan S. Aronson (Editor); Timothy R. Shope (Editor)
Call Number: RJ401 EBK
ISBN: 9781610020510
Publication Date: 2016
This award-winning guide provides child care directors, teachers, and caregivers with essential information on the prevention and management of infectious diseases in group care settings.

Reference Databases

Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) is an e-resource that the library subscribes to. It can be found in the A-Z List of All Databases on the Library Home Page.

You can search the entire database or you can search topics or keywords within an individual book, its table of contents or the index. Here are some of the titles related to child care and development in GVRL:

Child Abuse and Domestic Violence

Child Abuse and Neglect Worldwide

Child Development

Encyclopedia of Children and Childhood: In History and Society

Encyclopedia of Children, Adolescents, and the Media

Encyclopedia of Human Development

Gale Encyclopedia of Children's Health

Sage Encyclopedia of Contemporary Early Childhood Education

Online Reference Books Related to Child Care and Development

Cambridge Encyclopedia of Child Development - An encyclopedia located in CREDO, a online collection of general and subject-specific reference works on all major topic areas.

Written by an international team of experts, its comprehensive coverage includes everything from prenatal development to adolescence, pediatrics, theories and research methods, physical development, social and emotional development, perceptual and cognitive development, language development, psychopathology, and parenting.

The Wiley-Blackwell handbook of childhood social development

International experts in childhood social development share the latest research and emerging trends in the field. After a historical overview of the study of the social development of children, material is grouped into the categories of disciplinary perspectives; ecological contexts; child and contextual factors; family context; peer group; play, cooperation, competition, aggression, and bullying; cognition, helping, and moral reasoning; and intervening in social development. Specific topics include children's interpersonal skills and school-based relationships, environmental psychology, sex differences in social behavior, sibling relationships in early and middle childhood, and children's understanding of society. This second edition adds new chapters on cultural influences, neuro-psychological perspectives, and children and the environment.

Print Reference Books in the Eastview Library

The following list contains recommendations for physical books that are housed in the library.

Finding Quality Early Childcare by Sarah Vanover
ISBN: 9781475827736
Publication Date: 2016-09-09
Finding Quality Early Childcare is a tool for parents to use in selecting quality childcare that best meets the needs of their family. This book reviews foundational elements of childcare, such as health and safety features, while explaining educational strategies, including styles of teaching and daily classroom activities. Finding Quality Early Childcare also covers types of specialized childcare, such as infant care and childcare for children with special needs, reviews Transitional Kindergarten, and discusses when children are ready to transition from preschool to Kindergarten.
From Biting to Hugging by Donna Wittmer; Deanna W. Clauson
ISBN: 9780876597408
Publication Date: 2018-05-01
With the increase in both parents working outside the home during the last two decades, infants and toddlers are spending more time together in infant/toddler programs and family child-care homes. From Biting to Hugging will give you effective strategies to help you take advantage of this peer time. Enhance the quality of peer experiences in infant/toddler group settings Create responsive adult-child relationships and environments Encourage positive social-emotional development and learning Teach infants and toddlers how to be in healthy, enjoyable relationships Learn strategies for gently handling challenging behaviors AWARD WINNER! Recipient of the Academics' Choice(tm) 2018 Smart Book Award
Preschoolers at Play by Lisa Mufson Bresson; Megan King
ISBN: 9781938113765
Publication Date: 2022-08-16
The research is clear: Play is a critical part of the learning process for young children. Early childhoodeducators have the opportunity to deeply and meaningfully scaffold children'slearning by curating and organizing the "stuff" children love to play withmost. With this book, discover ideas for both familiar and new play materials and how those materials support the cognitive, social and emotional, and physical learning and development of children ages 3 to 5.
Twenty Studies That Revolutionized Child Psychology by Wallace Dixon
Call Number: BF721 .D59 2016 EVC
ISBN: 9780205948031
Publication Date: This book located in the Circulating shelves
For undergraduate courses in Child Development/Psychology, Life Span Development, Child and Family Studies, and Human Growth and Development Twenty Studies That Revolutionized Child Psychology gives students a systematic look at the process of child psychology research by examining the twenty most revolutionary scientific investigations in the field over the course of the last fifty years. For the second edition, author and child psychologist Wallace Dixon polled an expanded number of experts in the field to determine the most important studies to be included. The result is an updated collection of revolutionary studies that helps students to better understand the discipline of child psychology. NOTE: this book is circulating and can be checked out.