LibGuides: Medical Ethics: Euthanasia & Assisted Suicide

Recent Articles

Articles on Euthenasia and Assisted Suicide from the Academic Search Complete periodical article database.

Euthanasia and Assisted Suicide Websites

Be cautious in evaluating the objectivity of euthanasia and assisted suicide web sites! Most web sites on these topics support a particular point of view. Finding balanced information might be easier with print or electronic sources from the library. Ask a librarian for assistance.

Compassion & Choices
"Created in 2005 by the unification of Compassion In Dying and End-of Life Choices, Compassion & Choices supports, educates and advocates for choice and care at the end of life."
Patients Rights Council
(formerly, the International Task force on Euthanasia and Assisted Suicide) "Individuals and organizations that network with the Patients Rights Council share a common concern about the dangers of doctor-prescribed suicide and euthanasia, but often hold widely differing views on other issues."
Death With Dignity
"The mission of the Death with Dignity National Center is to promote death with dignity laws based on our model legislation, the Oregon Death with Dignity Act, both to provide an option for dying individuals and to stimulate nationwide improvements in end-of-life care."

Opposing Viewpoints in Context

Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints is a collection of essays, articles and documents related to controversial issues. Be aware that there are many opinion pieces. This collection has a few titles that deal specifically with issues of euthanasia and assisted suicide:

Assisted Suicide

Encyclopedias

The following articles are available from online encyclopedias in the libraries' collections. You must use your ACCeID to access these off campus.

Euthanasia
from the Encyclopedia of Science, Technology, and Ethics
Euthanasia
from the Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Euthanasia and Assisted Suicide
from the International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences
Life Sustaining Treatment and Euthanasia: 1. Ethical Aspects of
from Bioethics
Physician-Assisted Suicide
from the Encyclopedia of Disability
Suicide
from Bioethics