Opinions Throughout History: Gender Roles by 
Finding Feminism by
The contemporary tactics of millennial feminists who are part of an active movement for social change In 2014, after a young man murdered six students at the University of California, Santa Barbara, and then killed himself, the news provoked an eye-opening surge of feminist activism. Fueled by the wide circulation of the killer's hateful manifesto and his desire to exact "revenge" upon young women, feminists online and offline around the world clamored for a halt to such acts of misogyny. Despite the widespread belief that feminism is out-of-style or dead, this mobilization of young women fighting against gender oppression was overwhelming. In Finding Feminism, Alison Dahl Crossley analyzes feminist activists at three different U.S. colleges, revealing that feminism is alive on campuses, but is complex, nuanced, and context-dependent. Young feminists are carrying the torch of the movement, despite a climate that is not always receptive to their claims. These feminists are engaged in social justice organizing in unexpected contexts and spaces, such as multicultural sororities, student government, and online. Sharing personal stories of their everyday experiences with inequality, the young women in Finding Feminism employ both traditional and innovative feminist tactics. They use the Internet and social media as a tool for their activism--what Alison Dahl Crossley calls 'Facebook Feminism.' The university, as an institution, simultaneously aids and constrains their fight for gender equality. Offering a stunning and hopeful portrait of today's young feminist leaders, Finding Feminism provides insight into the contemporary feminist movement in America.
Angry White Men by
Why are white men so angry? Sociologist Michael Kimmel, one of the leading writers on men and masculinity in the world today, has spent hundreds of hours in the company of America's angry white men--from white supremacists to men's rights activists to young students--in pursuit of an answer. He locates the increase in anger in the seismic economic, social and political shifts that have so transformed the American landscape.
Delusions of Gender: How Our Minds, Society, and Neurosexism Create Difference by
"Drawing on the latest research in neuroscience and psychology, Cordelia Fine debunks the myth of hardwired differences between men's and women's brains…."
Dr. Kevin L. Lyles, Associate Professor
Director of Undergraduate Studies, Department of Political Science,
College of Liberal Arts & Sciences, University of Illinois at Chicago
The Feminine Mystique by
First published in 1963, [this book] ignited a revolution that profoundly changed our culture, our consciousness, and our lives. Check the library catalog for other editions.
Gender in the Twenty-First Century by
Aimed at students of gender and social inequality, this book provides new insight into the uneven and stalled nature of the gender revolution in ;the twenty-first century. Honing in on key institutions--the family, higher education, the workplace, religion, the military, and sports--key scholars look at why gender inequality persists.
The Second Sex by
Simone de Beauvoir's masterwork is a powerful analysis of the Western notion of "woman," and a groundbreaking exploration of inequality and otherness. The work remains as pertinent today as it was sixty years ago, and will continue to provoke and inspire generations of men and women to come.
When Everything Changed by
[The book] begins in 1960, when most American women had to get their husbands' permission to apply for a credit card. It ends in 2008 with Hillary Clinton's historic presidential campaign.
Codes of Gender (Abridged Version) by 
Sexual Stereotypes in the Media. Streaming, 38 min. by
"Categorizing others is a part of human nature, and even as infants we divide the world into two groups—male and female—to help organize our reality. But when these stereotypes are used to make assumptions about a person’s character and value, they become gender bias or outright sexism."
Tough Guise 2: Violence, Manhood & American culture by 
Gender by Nick Youngson CC BY-SA 3.0 Alpha Stock Images
Encyclopedia of Gender and Society by 
International Encyclopedia of Men and Masculinities by
The Internationalnbsp;Encyclopedia of Men and Masculinities offers a comprehensive guide to the current state of scholarship about men, masculinities, and gender around the world. The Encyclopedia's coverage is comprehensive across three dimensions: areas of personal and social life, academic disciplines, and cultural and historical contexts and formations. The Encyclopedia: examines every area of men's personal and social lives as shaped by gender covers masculinity politics, the men's groups and movements that have tried to change men's roles presents entries on working with particular groups of boys or men, from male patients to men in prison incorporates cross-disciplinary perspectives on and examinations of men, gender and gender relations gives comprehensive coverage of diverse cultural and historical formations of masculinity and the bodies of scholarship that have documented them. The Encyclopedia of Men and Masculinities is composed of over 350 free-standing entries written from their individual perspectives by eminent scholars in their fields. Entries are organized alphabetically for general ease of access but also listed thematically at the front of the encyclopedia, for the convenience of readers with specific areas of interest.
Men and Masculinities: A Social, Cultural, and Historical Encyclopedia by
"...this informative encyclopedia demonstrates the maturity of the men's movement and the interdisciplinary breadth of men's studies since these began to emerge three decades ago." -- Booklist
Gender Roles in American Life: A Documentary History of Political, Social, and Economic Changes by
This 2-volume set examines how the evolution of gender roles in the United States has changed family dynamics, business practices, and our concepts of womanhood and manhood as well as affected debates about equality, political and military service, and child-rearing roles and practices.
