June is Pride Month. Throughout the month, Austin Community College (ACC) interviews faculty and staff who self-identify as LGBTQIA+, or an ally, to learn about their stories and what the month means to them. To view LGBTQIA+ events the college is hosting or participating in throughout the month and other resources, visit ACC’s Pride Month webpage.
Message from the Chancellor: ACC stands in support of all students
Mar 2, 2022, 11:07 AM
Dear Students, Faculty & Staff,
Many of you have heard about the recent state order affecting our LGBTQ community — in particular our transgender community. You may be worried about how this will impact you, your friends, or loved ones.
Austin Community College students represent all backgrounds. People come here seeking a better life. Being open and accessible to all is the very fabric of our mission. Last year we created a process to allow students to request the use of a chosen first name where possible within the college's records and systems, and we offer employees an option to select a preferred name in Workday. It's one way we’re working to eliminate stigma, discrimination, and harassment.
We understand this is a time of uncertainty. To those of you who may be impacted by the state order, your emotional health and mental well-being is a top priority. We want to remind you that counselors are available. You may reach them at 512-223-9480 or visit our website for more resources. The college also has an LGBTQIA ally program for support and guidance.
ACC has been and will remain an open institution. The recent state order will not change how we educate and support our students and employees.
Regards,
Richard M. Rhodes, Ph.D.
Chancellor
Austin Community College District
Transgender Employment Experiences: Gendered Perceptions and the Law by
"Brings together the workplace experiences of transgender people with an assessment of current policy protections."
When We Rise by
2017 Lambda Literary Award Winner Born in 1954, Cleve Jones was among the last generation of gay Americans who grew up wondering if there were others out there like himself. There were. When We Rise is not only the story of a hero to the LQBTQ community, but the vibrantly voiced memoir of a full and transformative American life.
Gay Life & Culture: A World History by
"In the years since Stonewall, the world has witnessed an outpouring of research, critical inquiry, and re-interpretation of gay life and culture. This book draws on groundbreaking new material to present a comprehensive survey of all things gay, stretching back to ancient Sumeria and ranging to the present day."
LGBTQ Americans in the U. S. Political System: an Encyclopedia of Activists, Voters, Candidates, and Officeholders [2 Volumes] by
This comprehensive sourcebook covers the evolution of LGBTQ engagement in American politics, from the emergence of gay rights as a political issue in the early 1970s to the present day, when LGBTQ issues occupy a prominent place in politics. This work provides a broad and authoritative survey of the ways in which gay Americans are influencing the tenor and trajectory of U.S. politics at the local, state, and national levels. An encyclopedic section offers thorough coverage of all of the individuals, organizations, cultural forces, political issues, and legal decisions that have combined to elevate the role of LGBTQ people at the ballot box, on the campaign trail, in Washington, and in mayors' offices, city councils, and school boards across the country. Complementing reference entries are in-depth essays on the rising prominence of gay Americans as voters, candidates, public officials, lawmakers, and opinion leaders, providing further context for understanding their impact on modern U.S. political processes and institutions from the perspective of liberals and conservatives alike. Finally, the set includes a collection of important primary source documents that illuminate landmark events, examine gay policy priorities and preferences, and showcase the beliefs and experiences of prominent LGBTQ Americans in the world of politics. Provides historical essays detailing the evolution of LGBTQ Americans in U.S. politics as voters, candidates, and officeholders Offers more than 250 reference entries of individuals, organizations, cultural forces, political issues, and legal decisions Presents primary documents of additional insight into major events, issues, and individuals associated with LGBTQ politics Features a chronology of events for at-a-glance coverage of the most important events in LGBTQ history Includes an appendix of LGBTQ organizations involved in politics
LGBTQ Stats: Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer People by the Numbers by
LGBTQ STATS chronicles the ongoing LGBTQ revolution, providing critical statistics, and draws upon and synthesizes newly collected data. Deschamps and Singer provide chapters on family and marriage, workplace discrimination, education, youth, criminal justice, and immigration, as well as evolving policies and laws affecting LGBTQ communities.
The New York Times on Gay and Lesbian Issues by
Author and gender studies professor Susan Burgess showcases relevant news stories, editorials, and letters to the editor to present the major political, social, and cultural issues that have affected gays and lesbians in the U.S. over the past 150 years.
Queer America: A People's GLBT History of the United States by
"A great deal has been written about 20th-century U.S. history as well as about the history of gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgendered (GLBT) people, but this excellent volume is unique in combining the two as a survery of GLBT 20th-century American history." --ARBA
Transgender Voices by
Based on 150 in-depth interviews, this text brings together the voices of sex- and gender-diverse people who speak with absolute candor about their lives.
Transgender History by
Covering American transgender history from the mid-20th century to today, Transgender History takes a chronological approach, with each chapter covering major movements, writings, and events. Covers the transsexual and transvestite communities in the years following World War II through the early 2000s.
Covering: The Hidden Assault on Our Civil Rights by
A lyrical memoir that identifies the pressure to conform as a hidden threat to our civil rights, drawing on the author's life as a gay Asian American man and his career as an acclaimed legal scholar.
She's Not There: A Life in Two Genders by
"The provocative bestseller ... is the winning, utterly surprising story of a person changing genders. By turns hilarious and deeply moving, Jennifer Finney Boylan explores the territory that lies between men and women, examines changing friendships, and rejoices in the redeeming power of family."
Stonewall: The Riots that Sparked the Gay Revolution by
In June of 1969, a series of riots over police action at The Stonewall Inn, a small, dank, mob-run gay bar in Greenwich Village, New York changed the longtime landscape of homosexuals in society, literally overnight. These riots are widely acknowledged as the 'first shot' that ushered in a previously unimagined era of openness, political action, and massive social change.
Call Me Kuchu by 
Stonewall Uprising by 
Vito : the life of gay rights activist Vito Russo by 
Paul Livengood, KVUE News staff June 27, 2021
Austin FC fans were treated to another prideful, striking tifo at the club’s second-ever home game on Sunday evening as they took on Columbus Crew at Q2 Stadium.
[Image Source]
[Text version: image description: a chart of some gender pronouns by Trans Student Educational Resources. The columns are the “subjective, objective, possessive, and reflexive” part of each pronoun set with a usage example.
The first pronoun set is she, her, hers, and herself. The examples are “she is speaking. I listened to her. The backpack is hers.”
The second set is he, him, his, himself. The examples are “he is speaking. I listening to him. The backpack is his.”
The third set is (singular) they, them, theirs, themself. The examples are “they are speaking. I listened to them. The backpack is theirs.”
The fourth set is ze, hir or zir, hirs or zirs, hirself or zirself. If used it would be ze/hir/hirs/hirself or ze/zir/zirs/zirself. The graphic happened to combine them into one row. The examples included “ze is speaking. I listened to hir. The backpack is zirs.”
A note at the top reads “Please note these are not the only pronouns. There are an infinite number of pronouns as new ones emerge in our language. Always ask someone for their pronouns.
Designed by Landyn Pan. End description]
