| Microcertificate | Technical Competencies | Professional Competencies |
|
Students completing this microcredentialwill be able to: |
|
|
Hello Web Design by
This book democratises web development for everyone. It's a fun, clever guide that covers all of the key design principles, best practices, useful shortcuts, pro tips, real-world examples, and basic coding tutorials needed to produce a beautiful website that you'll feel confident sharing with the world. Because you, too, can design for the web!
The Strategic Web Designer by
Expand your strategic capabilities and technological understanding! Your clients are looking for an expert--someone who understands rapidly changing technology and can provide strategic insight into their web projects from inception and development to launch and beyond. Are you that person? Today, designers are expected to provide a level of web expertise that extends far beyond just good design. The Strategic Web Designer provides you with a foundation that will allow you to keep your bearings in an industry filled with constant technological change. You'll learn to: Plan web projects Organize information in ways that make sense Understand analytics Optimize content for search engines and mobile technology And more! More than a book about building websites, The Strategic Web Designer is your guide to thinking about the web in a strategic and comprehensive manner. Be more than just a web designer--take charge of your web projects and make yourself invaluable to clients.
Adobe Photoshop by
Adobe Photoshop: A Complete Course and Compendium of Features is your guide to creating, editing, and enhancing images and designs in Adobe Photoshop. Whether you're retouching a photograph, making a simulated chalk drawing, or creating a composite photo with a 3D drawing, Photoshop is the tool for you--and this book will teach you what you need to know. First, with a complete Course that includes a set of projects and lessons derived from Adobe Certified Instructor Steve Laskevitch, you will learn the procedures needed to use Photoshop effectively and professionally. Dozens of lessons are included that can be applied to any graphics you have in mind. Through these step-by-step lessons, you'll be exposed to all of Photoshop's features in practical contexts and its best practices for optimal workflows. To complete the Course, we'll supply lesson documents and their assets to download. These can even serve as starting points for your own projects. Then, for greater depth of knowledge and subsequent reference, you'll use the Compendium to uncover more of the "how" and "why" of Photoshop. With each topic easy to access, you can find and explore all of Photoshop's key features and concepts in depth. With cross references between the Course and Compendium, the two parts of the book complement each other perfectly. Best of all, when the lessons in the Course are done, the Compendium will continue to serve for months and years to come. Learn step by step how to: * Set up an ideal workspace * Master selections and masks * Work with type and brushes * Use blend modes for combining images * Take advantage of Smart Objects * Become more efficient and effective with actions and scripts * And much more! 2021 Photoshop Update: Download an addendum covering the 2021 Adobe Photoshop update along with the supplied Course files for the book. See the book's Introduction for a link to downloadable resources webpage.
Learning Google Analytics by
Why is Google Analytics 4 the most modern data model available for digital marketing analytics? Because rather than simply report what has happened, GA4's new cloud integrations enable more data activation--linking online and offline data across all your streams to provide end-to-end marketing data. This practical book prepares you for the future of digital marketing by demonstrating how GA4 supports these additional cloud integrations. Author Mark Edmondson, Google Developer Expert for Google Analytics and Google Cloud, provides a concise yet comprehensive overview of GA4 and its cloud integrations. Data, business, and marketing analysts will learn major facets of GA4's powerful new analytics model, with topics including data architecture and strategy, and data ingestion, storage, and modeling. You'll explore common data activation use cases and get guidance on how to implement them. You'll learn: How Google Cloud integrates with GA4 The potential use cases that GA4 integrations can enable Skills and resources needed to create GA4 integrations How much GA4 data capture is necessary to enable use cases The process of designing dataflows from strategy though data storage, modeling, and activation
Html5 by
Implement the powerful new multimedia and interactive capabilities offered by HTML5, including style control tools, illustration tools, video, audio, and rich media solutions. Understand how HTML5 is changing the Web development game with this full-color, project-based treatment that shows you-not just tells you-what HTML5 can do for your Web sites. Reinforce your practical understanding of the new standard with demo applications and tutorials, so that execution is one short step away. The companion website, visualizetheweb.com, is packed full of extra information, online code libraries, and a user forum, offering even more opportunity to learn new skills, practice your coding and interact with other users.
The Strategic Web Designer by
Expand your strategic capabilities and technological understanding! Your clients are looking for an expert--someone who understands rapidly changing technology and can provide strategic insight into their web projects from inception and development to launch and beyond. Are you that person? Today, designers are expected to provide a level of web expertise that extends far beyond just good design. The Strategic Web Designer provides you with a foundation that will allow you to keep your bearings in an industry filled with constant technological change. You'll learn to: Plan web projects Organize information in ways that make sense Understand analytics Optimize content for search engines and mobile technology And more! More than a book about building websites, The Strategic Web Designer is your guide to thinking about the web in a strategic and comprehensive manner. Be more than just a web designer--take charge of your web projects and make yourself invaluable to clients.
Jump Start CSS by
This short SitePoint book provides readers with a fun and yet practical introduction to Cascading Style Sheets (CSS), the language used to style and lay out all web pages. This book will quickly get you up to speed with the fundamentals of CSS and give you the confidence to start experimenting on your own. It covers: Layout techniques Images, backgrounds, text Navigation Getting fancy with CSS3 The book is built around a real-life example project: a recipe website design. It's a fun and easily understandable project that is used to demonstrate the concepts outlined in the book in a practical way. This is a clear, approachable and very easy-to-follow book that will get you to to speed with CSS in no time.
Absolute Essentials of Creative Thinking and Problem Solving by
This concise textbook provides a comprehensive and clear overview of the theory and practice of creative problem solving from a management perspective. The book works step by step through the creative thinking process. Beginning with theoretical frameworks, it considers ways of thinking, defining problems and structuring responses to them, techniques for generating ideas, evaluating and defining them, and finally how technology can be used within the creative problem-solving process. Pedagogical features to aid learning include objectives at the start of each chapter, further reading suggestions and practical examples. Divided into ten short chapters to suit content delivery, this textbook is designed as either core or recommended reading for advanced undergraduate, postgraduate, MBA and Executive Education students studying Creativity and Innovation, Management and Leadership and Management Skills.
● Creative Thinking: Synthesize existing ideas, images, or expertise in original ways to develop innovative concepts utilizing digital media.
Critical Thinking by
How the concept of critical thinking emerged, how it has been defined, and how critical thinking skills can be taught. Critical thinking is regularly cited as an essential twenty-first century skill, the key to success in school and work. Given our propensity to believe fake news, draw incorrect conclusions, and make decisions based on emotion rather than reason, it might even be said that critical thinking is vital to the survival of a democratic society. But what, exactly, is critical thinking? In this volume in the MIT Press Essential Knowledge series, Jonathan Haber explains how the concept of critical thinking emerged, how it has been defined, and how critical thinking skills can be taught and assessed. Haber describes the term's origins in such disciplines as philosophy, psychology, and science. He examines the components of critical thinking, including structured thinking, language skills, background knowledge, and information literacy, along with such necessary intellectual traits as intellectual humility, empathy, and open-mindedness. He discusses how research has defined critical thinking, how elements of critical thinking have been taught for centuries, and how educators can teach critical thinking skills now. Haber argues that the most important critical thinking issue today is that not enough people are doing enough of it. Fortunately, critical thinking can be taught, practiced, and evaluated. This book offers a guide for teachers, students, and aspiring critical thinkers everywhere, including advice for educational leaders and policy makers on how to make the teaching and learning of critical thinking an educational priority and practical reality.
● Critical Thinking: Explore issues, ideas, artifacts, or events in depth before formulating a conclusion utilizing digital media.
Problem-Solving by
Problem-solving and better thinking skills are among the top skills that employers are looking for. This book presents various methods of problem-solving that can be adapted to any field. It focuses on a set of a dozen new approaches with an ending result to finding better solutions to problems that you may have previously found difficult. The book discusses problem-solving based upon new thinking skills and presents the relationship between problem-solving and creativity. A connection between problem-solving and re-engineering is presented as the book explores the ability to tackle new and difficult problems in all aspects of life. It points you in the direction of how to easily find better solutions to problems that previously were found to be difficult. Target audience is general engineers, systems engineers, scientists, technologists, mathematicians, and lawyers.
● Problem Solving: Design, evaluate, and implement a strategy to achieve the desired goal utilizing digital media.
Business Writing for Innovators and Change-Makers by
Business Writing for Innovators and Change-Makers will empower you to build your confidence as a communicator, strengthen your brand, and increase your impact with your customers and clients. Business Writing for Innovators and Change-Makers is a writing guidebook with street-smarts. It recognizes the unique communication challenges entrepreneurs face and offers clear action steps for tackling them. As an entrepreneur with a pioneering product or service to offer the world, you can't rely on cookie-cutter communication templates to get your meaning across. You need a set of writing strategies that are quick to implement and easy to adapt to a wide variety of communication situations, from emails to pitch decks. Dawn Henwood provides a simple, flexible approach to writing that will open your eyes to the subtle ways written communication can engage and motivate your target audience. Whether you are just starting your business or scaling up to the next level of success, you'll find Dawn's straightforward teaching just the help you need to make your message heard. Business Writing for Innovators and Change-Makers will empower you to build your confidence as a communicator, strengthen your brand, and increase your impact with your customers and clients.
● Written Communication: Develop and express ideas using digital media by combining different writing technologies, and mixing texts, data, and images.