Culinary Arts: eBooks

30 Easy Ways to Join the Food Revolution is the first book of its kind to present sustainable eating with a failsafe 30-way recipe plan for readers to follow and cook from. Based on the simple principle that local ingredients equal the lowest possible carbon footprint, Hunter endeavors to eat sustainable, desirable and delicious food. Organized into four main chapters: Zero Waste, Organic and Seasonal, 50% of Produce within 30 Miles and What is Sustainability? The straightforward meal plan covers breakfast, lunch and dinner.

32 Yolks is the brave and affecting coming-of-age story about the making of a French chef, from the culinary icon behind the renowned New York City restaurant Le Bernardin. In an industry where celebrity chefs are known as much for their salty talk and quick tempers as their food, Ripert stands out. The winner of four James Beard Awards, co-owner and chef of a world-renowned restaurant, and recipient of countless Michelin stars, Ripert embodies elegance and culinary perfection.

An informative, illustrated guide to food, cooking, and the culinary profession by a former White House chef. This book illuminates the path to becoming a culinary professional by sharing important kitchen fundamentals and indispensable advice, including • practical how-tos, from holding a knife to calibrating a thermometer to creating a compost pile• ways to emphasize, accent, deepen, and counterpoint flavors• why we prefer a crisp outside and tender inside in most foods• understanding wine labels and beer basics• how to narrow innumerable culinary options to a manageable few, whether selecting knives, oils, thickeners, flours, potatoes, rice, or salad greens• how a professional kitchen is organized and managed to maintain its mission.

The authorized biography of Alice Waters and the San Francisco 1970s counterculture food revolution that invented "American cuisine." Not long ago it was nearly impossible to find a cappuccino or a croissant in this country, people had no idea what "organic" food was, and even fewer thought about "sustainable farming." But in 1971, a young Francophile opened a small restaurant in Berkley and launched an entirely new way of thinking about food in America. With no business sense or financial discipline, Alice relied on the coterie of devoted friends and followers, and on her use of locally grown and organic ingredients to keep her restaurant afloat. It was a reckless, extravagant, inexperienced venture that could have failed, but instead turned into a revolution.

Michelin two-star chef Daniel Patterson and celebrated natural perfumer Mandy Aftel are experts at orchestrating ingredients. Yet in a world awash in cooking shows and food blogs, they noticed home cooks get little guidance in the art of flavor. In this trailblazing guide, they share the secrets to making the most of your ingredients via an indispensable set of tools and principles, with more than eighty recipes that demonstrate each concept and put it into practice.

A joyful exploration of the cuisine of Baja California, with 60 recipes celebrating the laidback lifestyle found right across the border. It's an up-and-coming destination for tourists looking to experience the best of what Mexico has to offer. From Baja wine country to incredible seafood along the coast, Baja cuisine showcases grilled meats, freshly caught fish, and produce straight from the garden, all mingled with the salt spray of the Pacific Ocean. Inspired by the incredible local landscape and his food from the award-winning restaurant Fauna, star chef David Castro Hussong conducts a dreamy exploration of Baja cuisine. Each chapter features gorgeous photographs of the region and profiles of top food purveyors are scattered throughout, bringing the spirit of Baja into your kitchen, no matter where you live.

Delicious and beautiful gluten-free, grain-free, dairy-free, and refined sugar–free desserts from the popular Bakerita blog. Conners began her blog as a hobby to share baking recipes with friends, but when she started to focus more on gluten-free, paleo, and vegan recipes to make things she could share with her sister, who was following a strict diet due to health concerns, she realized she was onto something. The blog surged in popularity as fans flocked to it. Interest in gluten-free, grain-free, dairy-free, and refined sugar–free foods continues to grow in popularity, yet there are few books focused just on desserts, and even fewer with recipes that even beginner bakers can make at home.

A stunning instructional from Los Angeles baker Margarita Manzke, who teaches the key doughs, batters, recipes, and clever ways for creating wow-factor and bakery-quality results at home. For all who aspire to master brioche, croissant, pâte á choux, or even cookie dough and muffin and cake batter, Manzke, co-owner of Los Angeles hotspot République, takes bakers through her methods for perfecting texture and amplifying flavors, one inspiring photograph and brilliant trick at a time. With chapters dedicated to teaching each dough or batter and 100 recipes that put the lessons to work, plus more than 125 helpful and inspiring photographs, bakers will discover how to truly elevate their baking.

Baking is a multi-sensory experience; baking with sourdough takes this experience to the next level. Celebrated for its health benefits, superior texture and unique flavor, sourdough goes back to the roots of traditional bread making. Artisan baker Roberts takes readers on a sensory journey through the formation of sourdough from natural yeast to the craft of producing your own perfect loaf, before extending this knowledge to make croissants, pancakes, pizza and more. Step-by-step photographs, detailed guides and original recipes provide a thorough and inspiring understanding of the sourdough process.

A new study of the challenges presented by manufacturing bakery products in a health-conscious world. The impact of bakery products upon human nutrition is an increasingly pressing concern among consumers and manufacturers alike. With obesity and other diet-related conditions on the rise, the levels of salt, fat, and sugar found in many baked goods can no longer be overlooked. Renowned food scientist Cauvain and co-author Clark present an innovative and much-needed study of the changes taking place in the world of baking. Their discussion focuses on the new avenues open to bakers looking to improve the nutritional value of their products and encompasses all related issues, from consumer preferences to the effects of nutritional enhancement upon shelf-life.

From one of the most respected authorities on Thai cooking comes this beautiful and deeply personal ode to Bangkok, the top-ranked travel destination in the world. Every year, more than 16 million visitors flock to Thailand's capital city, and leave transfixed by the vibrant culture and unforgettable food. Award-winning author Punyaratabandhu offers 120 recipes that capture the true spirit of the city—from heirloom family dishes to restaurant classics to everyday street eats to modern cosmopolitan fare. Beautiful food and location photography will make this a must-have keepsake for anyone who has fallen under Bangkok's spell.

From fire to fermentation, our ancestors survived periods of famine by changing the very nature of their food. This ability to process food has made us one of the most successful species on the planet, but have we gone too far? Through manipulating chemical reactions and organisms, scientists have unlocked all kinds of methods to improve food longevity and increase supply. This book explores how processing methods have evolved in many foods that we love in response to big business, consumer demand, health concerns, innovation, political will, waste and even war. Readers will be armed with the information they need to be rational consumers, capable of making informed decisions about their food.

A practical reference for a wide range of recipes and production information for crackers, snack crackers, semi-sweet biscuits, short doughs, cookies and sandwich biscuits. These recipes have been developed in Europe, Asia, Australia, North America and South America. Provides easy-access information for developing new biscuits, cookies and crackers for international markets. All the process details, formulations, technical information are based on the notes and files of the late Glyn Sykes. This is a valuable reference for professionals in the biscuit baking industry and students in the food technology field. Includes more than 200 recipes and images to show the process of making crackers, semi-sweet biscuits, short dough biscuits and cookies.

A guide to making artisan breads practically and profitably, Includes step-by-step instructions on mixing, fermentation, shaping, proofing and retarding, and baking. Written for both experienced and novice bakers, it contains more than 150 photos and drawings that illustrate techniques and showcase beautiful artisan bread products. Covering the business of bread-making, it features practical advice from successful artisan bakers as well as forty plus tested artisan bread formulas. Artisan bread baker and teacher DiMuzio provides invaluable information on troubleshooting, ingredients, laminated dough, and creating dough formulas.

James Beard Award-winning food journalist Alexander traces an exhilarating golden age in American dining. Starting in 2006, the food world underwent a transformation as the established gatekeepers of American culinary creativity in New York City and the Bay Area were forced to contend with Portland, Oregon. Its new, no-holds-barred, casual fine-dining style became a template for other cities, and a culinary revolution swept across America. Entire neighborhoods, like Williamsburg in Brooklyn, and cities like Austin, were suddenly becoming shorthand for the so-called hipster movement. At the same time, new media companies such as Eater and Serious Eats launched to chronicle and cater to this developing scene, transforming nascent star chefs into proper celebrities. It seemed, for a moment, like a glorious belle epoque of eating and drinking in America. And then it was over. To "burn the ice" means to melt down whatever remains in a kitchen's ice machine at the end of the night. Or, at the bar, to melt the ice if someone has broken a glass in the well. It is both an end and a beginning.

In his debut cookbook, James Beard Award-winning chef Dan Kluger shares 190 recipes to help home cooks master flavor and technique. Kluger knows there's more to mastering cooking than just following directions. So with each of the recipes, he includes a valuable lesson that applies beyond the tasty dish. From homemade pantry items to vegetable mains, meats, and grains, this book is a master class of lessons for more flexibility and innovation in the kitchen.

The comprehensive guide to chocolate and candy making for professionals and serious home cooks. Chocolate and candy making is more popular and accessible than it has ever been. This book combines artisan confectionery techniques with straightforward explanations of the theory, science, and formulas at work. Fundamental information includes ingredient function and use, chocolate processing, and artisan production techniques.

The only cookbook you'll need during the year's warmest months. Untether yourself from the oven with make-ahead meals best served cold (or at room temp). Equally easy are dinner salads. Barely more effort are fresh summer recipes requiring the briefest stint in a pan. You'll find all you need for casual patio meals prepared entirely on the grill. Throw a fantastic cookout with easy starters, frosty drinks, and picnic must-haves. Find ideas for main dishes as well as sides inspired by the seasonal bounty. To end your meal on a cooler note, turn to a chapter of icebox desserts and no-bake sweets.

From the leading health-focused culinary school comes a comprehensive natural foods bible that shares forty years' worth of tools and techniques for more than 150 health-supportive recipes. In their very first cookbook, Natural Gourmet reveals how to utilize whole seasonal ingredients in creative and delicious ways. You'll learn about methods for sourcing sustainable ingredients, principles of nutrition, and much more. Every recipe is perfect for anybody wanting to eat a little healthier, whether to adhere to a specific diet, to do better for the earth, or just to feel better.

Set up your space for cooking success. Master basic techniques, such as boiling, grilling, and more. Prepare more than 140 simple dishes. Your go-to guide for success in the kitchen, Cooking Basics For Dummies will help you expand your skills and develop your confidence in the kitchen. With simple instructions and a fun-and-friendly tone, this cookbook shows you how to prepare everything--from traditional dishes to the latest popular foods, and from brilliant breakfasts to delectable desserts. Whether you're looking to make dinner in a pinch or crafting a dish for a special occasion, you'll find everything you need to start creating delicious, healthy meals.

This reference surveys food culture and cooking from antiquity to the modern era, providing background information along with menus and recipes. Food culture has been central to world civilizations since prehistory. While early societies were limited in terms of their resources and cooking technology, methods of food preparation have flourished throughout history, with food central to social gatherings, celebrations, religious functions, and other aspects of daily life.

Cousin Rick Black, is passionate about hunting, fishing, and cooking wild game and fish, and he's spent a lifetime collecting and testing recipes for every kind of fish, fowl, and game, both large and small. Now he shares 250 of his favorite recipes for deer, elk, antelope, caribou, moose, bear, buffalo, squirrel, rabbit, beaver, raccoon, trout, bass, salmon, and panfish. In addition to the recipes, Rick includes chapters on rubs and marinades, cooking with beer, and how to cook for wild game banquets. Great tasting wild game starts with savvy field dressing, and Rick shares tips and helpful info on how to best and safely prepare game and fish before you get to the kitchen.

For many of us the idea of healthy eating equals bland food, calorie counting, and general joylessness. Or we see the task of great cooking for ourselves as a complicated and expensive luxury beyond our means or ability. Now Peter Kaminsky shows us that anyone can learn to eat food that is absolutely delicious and doesn't give you a permanently creeping waistline. In Culinary Intelligence, Kaminsky tells how he lost thirty-five pounds and kept them off by thinking more about food, not less, and he shows us how to eat in a healthy way without sacrificing the fun and pleasure in food.

An exhilarating memoir from the legendary Godfather of Bad Boy cooking and a thrilling look behind the doors of a 3-star kitchen. The first British chef (and the youngest chef anywhere) to win three Michelin stars (and the only chef ever to give them all back) is a chain-smoking, pot-throwing multiply- married culinary genius whose fierce devotion to food and restaurants has been the only constant in a life of tabloid-ready turmoil. White tells the story behind his ascent from working-class roots to culinary greatness, leaving no dish unserved as he relays raucous and revealing tales. With candid honesty and wicked humor, he gives us insight into what it takes to become a great chef, what it's like to run a 3-star kitchen, and why sometimes you really do need to throw a cheese plate at the wall.

This volume presents research to help scientists, researchers and students in the field of food engineering understand the different microbial species we have in our guts, why they are important to human development, immunity and health, and how to use that understanding to further promote research to create healthy food products.

A self-deprecating, obsessive account of Buford's adventures in the world of French haute cuisine. He turns his attention from Italian cuisine to the food of France. Baffled by the language, but convinced that he can master the art of French cooking, or at least get to the bottom of why it is so revered, he begins a five-year odyssey by shadowing the esteemed French chef Michel Richard, in Washington, D.C. But when Buford (quickly) realizes that a stage in France is necessary, he goes, this time with his wife and three-year-old twin sons in tow, to Lyon, the gastronomic capital of France. He becomes a man obsessed with proving himself on the line, proving that he is worthy of the gastronomic secrets he's learning, and proving that French cooking actually derives from (mon dieu!) the Italian.

If your goal is to make simple, nourishing, and delicious whole grain sourdough for your whole family, then DIY Sourdough is your one-stop beginner's guide. Coverage includes: * Simple sourdough recipes for breads, snacks, and more * The secrets to consistent results * Tips and tricks for homemade sourdough, including flour buying, home milling, and sourdough starter * Homemade bread scheduling options. The Moody's have been making traditional foods, including sourdough recipes and making sourdough with grains, for over a decade.

A game-changing collection of 60 new-fashioned chicken recipes from chef Tyler Kord and Food52. Sautéed, fried, or nestled in a sheet pan, chicken is a clear winner for home cooks around the world. But because chicken is so popular, you may have run out of new ways to love it. That's where Kord comes in, giving you creative recipes for every occasion: winning weeknight dinners and ambitious-but-worth-it weekend projects; meals to impress guests and satisfy picky kids; and cozy comfort foods to curl up with. And thanks to handy how-tos on carving, trussing, spatchcocking, making stock from scratch, and much more, you'll learn every chicken trick in the book.

From the chef behind Momofuku and star of Netflix's Ugly Delicious, an intimate account of the making of a chef, the story of the modern restaurant world that he helped shape, and how he discovered that success can be much harder to understand than failure. Chang, who had failed at almost every endeavor in his life, became one of the most influential chefs of his generation, driven by the question, "What if the underground could become the mainstream?" He gives a penetrating look at restaurant life, in which he balances his deep love for the kitchen with unflinching honesty about the industry's history of brutishness and its uncertain future.

From one of the world's top dining destinations, New York's three-Michelin-starred restaurant Eleven Madison Park, comes an updated single-volume collection of more than 80 recipes, stories, food photographs, and watercolor paintings from celebrated chef Daniel Humm. This collection reflects on the time during which Eleven Madison Park garnered scores of accolades, including four stars from the New York Times, seven James Beard Foundation awards, and the number one spot on the World's 50 Best Restaurants list.

Sami Tamimi retraces the lineage and evolution of his country’s cuisine, born of its agriculturally optimal geography, its distinct culinary traditions, and Palestinian cooks’ ingenuity and resourcefulness. He covers the territory between the Mediterranean Sea and the Jordan River, recounting his upbringing with eleven siblings and his decision to leave home at seventeen to cook in West Jerusalem. From refugee-camp cooks to the home kitchens of Gaza and the mill of a master tahini maker, he teases out the vestiges of an ancient culinary tradition as he records the derivations of a dynamic cuisine and people in more than 130 photographs and 120 recipes,

Chef and best-selling author Lidia Bastianich shares, for the first time, the timeless recipes that have made her flagship restaurant, Felidia, a New York City dining legend for almost four decades. Ever since it opened its doors on Manhattan's Upper East Side in 1981, Felidia has been revered as one of the best Italian restaurants in the country. In these pages, Lidia and Executive Chef Fortunato Nicotra share 115 of the recipes that capture the spirit of the Felidia menu past and present.

Aroma, texture, sound, emotion--these are just a few of the elements that play into our perceptions of flavor. This book demonstrates how to convert approachable spices, herbs, and commonplace pantry items into tasty, simple dishes. Sharma, scientist, food blogger, and author of the cookbook Season, guides home cooks on an exploration of flavor in more than 100 recipes.

A revolutionary new guide to pairing ingredients, based on Briscione's groundbreaking research into the chemical basis of flavor. As an instructor at one of the world's top culinary schools, he thought he knew how to mix and match ingredients. Then he met IBM Watson. Working with the supercomputer to turn big data into delicious recipes, he realized that he knew almost nothing about why different foods taste good together. That epiphany launched him on a quest to understand the molecular basis of flavor, and it led to this book. A groundbreaking ingredient-pairing guide, it shows how science can unlock unheard-of possibilities for combining foods into astonishingly inventive dishes.

60 vibrant recipes proving that Asian roadside barbecue is just as easy, delicious, and crowd-pleasing as American-style backyard grilling. Sharing beloved barbecue dishes from the Southeast Asian countries of Thailand, Burma, Laos, Cambodia, Vietnam, Malaysia, Singapore, Philippines, and Indonesia, Punyaratabandhu inspires readers with a deep dive into the flavor profile and spices of the region. She teaches you how to set up your own smoker, cook over an open flame, or grill on the equipment you already have in your backyard. The fact that Southeast Asian-style barbecue naturally lends itself to the American outdoor cooking style means that the recipes in the book can remain true to tradition without any need for them to be Westernized or altered at the expense of integrity.

In this lively and original book, Segnit identifies the 99 fundamental ingredients of food and examines what goes with what, revealing for the first time just how infinite the possibilities are in an everyday kitchen. She has scoured thousands of recipes in countless recipe books, talked to dozens of food technologists and chefs, and visited hundreds of restaurants, all in her quest to uncover the planet's essential pairings. With nearly a thousand entries and 200 recipes, this book is not only a useful reference book, but the sort of book that will keep you reading and cooking for years to come.

Fermentation and the use of micro-organisms is one of the most important aspects of food processing – an industry that's worth billions of US dollars world-wide. Integral to the making of goods ranging from beer and wine to yogurt and bread, it is the common denominator between many of our favorite things to eat and drink. In this second edition, all known food applications of fermentation are examined. Beginning with the science underpinning food fermentations, the author looks at the relevant aspects of microbiology and microbial physiology before covering individual foodstuffs and the role of fermentation in their production, as well as the possibilities that exist for fermentation's future development and application.

In order for foodservice managers to control costs effectively, they must have a firm grasp of accounting, marketing, and legal issues, as well as an understanding of food and beverage sanitation, production, and service methods. This edition provides students and managers with a wealth of comprehensive resources and the specific tools they need to keep costs low and profit margins high.

This book explores recent approaches to preserving and prolonging safe use of food products, including packaging techniques and materials.

Food safety is a multi-faceted subject, using microbiology, chemistry, standards and regulations, and risk management to address issues involving bacterial pathogens, chemical contaminants, natural toxicants, additive safety, allergens, and more. This book addresses all the topics pertinent to a full understanding of keeping the food we eat safe. Each chapter proceeds from introductory concepts and builds towards a sophisticated treatment of the topic, allowing the reader to take what knowledge is required for understanding food safety at a wide range of levels.

For many home cooks, preparing seafood is a bit of mystery, but this new cookbook provides everyone with everything they need to create satisfying and healthy seafood meals at home. We explore how to buy quality fish, from light and flaky to rich and meaty. It provides practical tips and tricks for handling fish. The recipes include sumptuous appetizers and savory soups and stews to easy weeknight dinners and company-worthy fare. We've also included substitution information for each recipe.

From Scratch looks at 10 favorite meals, including roast chicken, the perfect omelet, and paella—and then, through 175 recipes, explores myriad alternate pathways that the kitchen invites. Explore the limits of from-scratch cooking: make your own pasta, grow your own tomatoes, and make your own homemade mozzarella and ricotta. There are easy and more complex versions for most dishes, vegetarian options, side dishes, sub-dishes, and strategies for leftovers. Ruhlman reflects on the ways that cooking from scratch brings people together, how it can calm the nerves and focus the mind, and how it nourishes us, body and soul.

Ivan Orkin is a self-described gaijin (guy-jin), a Japanese term that means “outsider.” He has been hopelessly in love with the food of Japan since he was a teenager on Long Island. Even after living in Tokyo for decades and running two ramen shops that earned him international renown, he remained a gaijin. Fortunately, being a lifelong outsider has made Orkin a more curious, open, and studious chef. In this cookbook, he condenses his experiences into approachable recipes for every occasion and celebration.

Knowledge of garde manger is an essential part of every culinary student's training, and many of the world's most celebrated chefs started in garde manger as apprentices or cooks. The art of garde manger includes a broad base of culinary skills, from basic cold food preparations to roasting, poaching, simmering, and sautéing meats, fish, poultry, vegetables, and legumes. This updated guide includes information on cold sauces and soups; salads; sandwiches; cured and smoked foods; sausages; terrines, pâtes, galantines, and roulades; cheese; appetizers and hors d'oeuvre; condiments, crackers, and pickles; and buffet development and presentation.

Inside what life is really like for the new generation of professional cooks—a captivating tale of the make-or-break first year at Jonah Miller's new restaurant. For many young aspiring chefs, skill and creativity in the kitchen are more profitable than ever before, but talent isn't enough. They need the business savvy of a high-risk entrepreneur, determination, and big dose of luck. This is Miller's story, who at age 24 attempts to fulfill a lifelong dream by opening the Basque restaurant Huertas in NYC. Journalist and food writer Stabiner takes us inside Huertas's roller-coaster first year, but also provides insight into the challenging world of the intense financial pressures, the overcrowded field of aspiring cooks, and the impact of reviews and social media, which can dictate who survives.

Ruhlman offers incisive commentary on America's relationship with its food and investigates the overlooked source of so much of it—the grocery store. In a culture obsessed with food—how it looks, what it tastes like, where it comes from, what is good for us—there are often more questions than answers. He proposes that the best practices for consuming wisely could be hiding in plain sight in the aisles of your local supermarket. Using the story of the family-run Midwestern chain Heinen's as an anchor to this journalistic narrative, he dives into the mysterious world of supermarkets and the ways in which we produce, consume, and distribute food. A mix of reportage and rant, personal history and social commentary, Grocery is a landmark book from one of our most insightful food writers.

In this complete manual on grape growing in Texas, Kamas asks the essential question all potential growers need to answer: Why do you want to plant a vineyard? Outlining the challenges and risks to all who think viticulture is a weekend hobby, he then identifies the state's current grape growing regions and covers everything the commercial or home producer needs to know in order to have a successful vineyard. Kamas thoroughly explores grapevine horticulture, including the systematics, morphology, nutrition, and water needs of the genus Vitus. Finally, he addresses the issues of equipment and infrastructure before closing with some advice about vineyard-winery relations.

This handbook details the fundamentals of Halal food production, serving as a valuable reference for food scientists, food manufacturers, and other food industry professionals. The book delivers a wealth of information about Halal food laws and regulations, guidelines for food production, domestic and international food markets, and trade and import requirements for various countries.

The essence of baking is chemistry, and anyone who wants to be a master pastry chem must understand the principles and science that make baking work. Learn the whys and hows of every chemical reaction, essential ingredient, and technique.

From Math in the Real World series. If you have ever eaten food at a restaurant, had someone cook for you, or cooked something yourself, you have seen math in action. This book demonstrates how chefs use math to measure, prepare, and cook to create tasty, delicious food.

Bestselling author Mark Bittman and physician David Katz cut through all the noise on food, health, and diet to give you the real answers you need. They share their clear, no-nonsense perspective on food and diet, answering questions covering everything from basic nutrients to superfoods to fad diets. Topics include dietary patterns, grains, meat and dairy, alcohol, and more. Throughout, they filter the science of diet and nutrition through a lens of common sense, delivering straightforward advice with a healthy dose of wit.

Feeling stuck in his work and home life, writer Jeff Gordinier happened into a fateful meeting with Danish chef René Redzepi, whose restaurant, Noma, has been called the best in the world. A restless perfectionist, Redzepi was at the top of his game but was looking to tear it all down, to shutter his restaurant and set out for new places, flavors, and recipes. This is the story of the subsequent four years of globe-trotting culinary adventure, with Gordinier joining Redzepi as his Sancho Panza. Along the way, readers meet Redzepi's merry band of friends and collaborators. Hungry is a memoir, a travelogue, a portrait of a chef, and a chronicle of the moment when daredevil cooking became the most exciting and groundbreaking form of artistry.

This book describes the molecular composition of food and the chemistry of its components. It provides an understanding of chemical and biochemical reactions that impact food quality and contribute to wellness. This innovative approach enables students in food science, nutrition and culinology to better understand the role of chemistry in food. Describes the major and minor components of food. Explains the functional properties contributed by proteins, carbohydrates and lipids in food. Explores the chemical and enzymatic reactions affecting food attributes (color, flavor and nutritional quality). Describes the gut microbiome and influence of food components on its microbial population. Reviews major food systems and novel sources of food protein.

Throughout her career, Toni Tipton-Martin has shed new light on the history, breadth, and depth of African American cuisine. She's introduced us to black cooks, who established much of what's considered to be our national cuisine. After all, if Thomas Jefferson introduced French haute cuisine to this country, who do you think actually cooked it? Through recipes and stories, we cook along with these pioneering figures, from enslaved chefs to middle- and upper-class writers and entrepreneurs. With more than 100 recipes, Jubilee presents techniques, ingredients, and dishes that show the roots of African American cooking.

Anthony Bourdain reveals "twenty-five years of sex, drugs, bad behavior and haute cuisine" in his bestselling book. He uses a "take-no-prisoners" attitude in his deliciously funny and shockingly delectable book. From Bourdain's first oyster in the Gironde, to his lowly position as dishwasher in a honky tonk fish restaurant in Provincetown; from the kitchen of the Rainbow Room atop Rockefeller Center, to drug dealers in the east village, from Tokyo to Paris and back to New York again, his tales of the kitchen are as passionate as they are unpredictable.

In this book, Corriher offers down-to-earth advice with scientific expertise to address everyday cooking issues. Whether you are a beginner or a professional chef, her guidance will save you time and money, and help you know exactly what to do at the stove. Shirley takes readers through the hows and whys of what she does in the kitchen, explaining the science behind common problems and offering solutions for how to fix them. Readers will learn why certain ingredients work well together and what makes good food great.

Inspired by the stylish, intimate, and laid-back vibes of La Buvette—a tiny wine shop that doubles as a bar and café—in Paris’s 11th Arrondissement, this guide to wine, food, and Parisian lifestyle unlocks the secrets to achieving that coveted je ne sais quoi style of entertaining. The owner and author offers a look into the wine notes she uses to stock her shop and the incredible recipes she prepares in the shop's miniscule “kitchen” space. She also introduces some of Paris’s best wine and food makers in intimate portraits.

This book is organized into 77 'starting-point' recipes, including plenty of tips for substituting ingredients and reducing the huge variety of world cuisine down to its bare essentials, and then building it back up again. Once you have the hang of each starting point, a wealth of new flavor combinations awaits, each related in a combination of culinary science, history, chefs' wisdom and personal anecdote. It will give you the confidence to experiment with flavor, and the variations that follow are a springboard of inspiration to the contents of your fridge and kitchen cupboards.

A nutritious diet is key to both the prevention and management of chronic illness, but to make us feel wonderful, it must also taste wonderful—and a meal shared with family and friends is even better. Grounded in this perspective, this book makes the transition to a health-optimizing plant-based diet simple and satisfying, featuring over seventy-five recipes along with the latest evidence-based nutritional advice, meal planning suggestions and tips for hosting community gatherings.

Alongside its vineyards, the Napa Valley boasts restaurants celebrated for their pioneering spirit. Stroll through the memories of this region's mouthwatering eateries with tales of the enterprising women and risk takers who helped make Napa a foodie haven. Join author Alexandria Brown as she delves into the history of Napa County's gone-but-not-forgotten restaurants and their classic dishes.

A first of its kind, MacLauchlan has gathered the hearts, minds, and souls of some of our greatest talents. It is easy to get caught up in the chapters of this inspiring collection of recipes and stories. This is required reading for anyone fascinated by food-and especially the sweet kind.

Author and owner Ferrell brings together over 125 classic recipes, including several new ones, from this venerable institution of Southern comfort food. When Mary Mac's opened in 1945, it was one of sixteen tea rooms around Atlanta, Georgia. Their original name was a misnomer as they served more than just tea. 75 years later it stands alone in carrying on the tradition of bringing great Southern cooking to everyone from blue collar workers to celebrities.

Spices are the fastest, easiest way to transform a dish from good to spectacular. Sercarz shows you how to master flavor in 250 inspiring recipes. Owner of New York City spice shop La Boîte, his straightforward approach showcases how spices and spice blends can take a recipe for chicken soup, meatballs, or brownies into a whole new and exciting direction. By mastering the techniques and playing with the variations, you'll learn how to use spices to become a more creative and intuitive cook.

This book explains all the essential mathematical skills needed to run a successful, profitable operation. From scaling recipes and converting units of measure, to costing ingredients and setting menu prices, it covers crucial information that will benefit every foodservice provider. The entirety of the standard culinary math curriculum is covered, including conversions, determining yields, purchasing, portioning, and more. This is a thorough, comprehensive main text for culinary students as well as a great kitchen reference for working professionals.

This cookbook is a comprehensive, contemporary overview of Greek food, recipes, and family culture as documented by the son of a Greek immigrant as his mother neared the end of her life. It's filled with simple recipes, gorgeous photographs, traditional meals, memories, and tidbits of information that draw family and friends to Greek tables time and again. With 65 deliciously authentic recipes, this book is a peek into a Greek family that has achieved what so many of us yearn for: a fuller, more meaningful, and joyful life, lived simply and nourished on real, delicious Greek meals that you can access anywhere with this cookbook on hand.

Attokaran utilizes his over fifty years of experience in food chemistry and technology in order to produce the most detailed and comprehensive guide on natural food flavors and colors. Unique coverage of natural flavors and natural colorants in the same volume Includes chemical structures of all principal constituents and CAS, FEMA and E numbers, and whereever available FCC (Food Chemicals Codex). Includes techniques and characteristics of extracts, such as solvent extraction, dispersion and solubilization, nutraceutical function and effect of heat

It's true that 'we eat with our eyes'. This beautiful, clever book provides a fantastic toolkit straight from the world of professional food styling, and it promises to change the way you cook forever. The recipes include all the little preparation, cooking and serving details that make a difference to the end result. From simple workday suppers to indulgent feasts for friends and family, this is an approach that will make your cooking look better than ever and taste wonderful too.

With its uniquely multicultural, multigenerational, and unapologetically obsessive food culture, New Orleans has always ranked among the world's favorite cities for people who love to eat and cook. But classic New Orleans cooking is neither easily learned nor mastered. With step-by-step photos and straightforward instructions, Devillier details the fundamentals of the New Orleans cooking canon—from proper roux-making to time-honored recipes. Locals, Southerners, and food tourists alike will relish his modern-day approach to classic New Orleans cooking.

This book will help you cook your way through greens, beans, roots, and herbs with seasonal recipes that utilize every edible part of the plant. Ly shares a wide variety of recipes and techniques from her popular CSA Cookbook. Whether you're excited to make the most of the farmer's market or use every bit of your garden's bounty, this is the book that keeps the food on your table and out of the trash can (or compost bin)!

Smell is such a powerful and revealing sense because it detects actual little pieces of things in the world. It gives us direct evidence of what those things are made of-unlike the indirectness of vision or hearing, which register light waves and air movements. Those little pieces are volatile molecules, so little that they're able to break away from their source and fly invisibly through the air to reach our nose. Text and 200 tables cover this topic, in a book by an expert on the chemistry and history of food science and cooking.

By the time he was twenty-seven years old, Kwame Onwuachi had opened—and closed—one of the most talked about restaurants in America. He had launched his own catering company with twenty thousand dollars made from selling candy on the subway and starred on Top Chef. Through it all, Onwuachi's love of food and cooking remained a constant, even when, as a young chef, he was forced to grapple with just how unwelcoming the food world can be for people of color. In this inspirational memoir about the intersection of race, fame, and food, he shares the remarkable story of his culinary coming-of-age.

Using the historic recipes from Mary Randolph's 1824 bestselling cookbook, the authors have chosen the best of the original recipes to show how to prepare the food using contemporary methods. In translating these historic cooking methods to today's kitchen techniques, headnotes contain pertinent historic facts about such things as butchery, firewood cooking, spices used, European origins of certain recipes, dishes brought by slaves to the New World, and even how our cooking utensils have evolved through two centuries.

Thanks to Madison's cookbooks and groundbreaking work as the chef at Greens Restaurant in San Francisco, though not a vegetarian herself, she has long been revered as US's leading authority on vegetables. She profoundly changed the way generations of Americans think about cooking with vegetables, helping to transform 'vegetarian' from a dirty word into a mainstream way of eating. But before she became a household name, Madison spent almost twenty years as an ordained Buddhist priest, coming of age in the midst of counterculture San Francisco. In this intimate and frank memoir, she tells her story, and with it the story of the vegetarian movement.

Now available for the first time in an American edition and updated with US measurements throughout, this debut cookbook from the celebrated, bestselling authors of Jerusalem and Plenty features 140 recipes culled from the popular Ottolenghi restaurants and inspired by the diverse culinary traditions of the Mediterranean. The recipes reflect the authors' upbringings in Jerusalem yet also incorporate culinary traditions from California, Italy, and North Africa, among others. Featuring abundant produce and numerous fish and meat dishes, as well as Ottolenghi's famed cakes and breads, Ottolenghi invites you into a world of inventive flavors and fresh, vibrant cooking.

Anyone can learn to cook outside over a fire with this guide to setting up an outdoor kitchen, featuring practical tips and 80 recipes from Chef Warner of Hartwood in Tulum, Mexico. Werner cooks nearly every dish served at Hartwood over wood fire, without gas or electricity, and when he's not at the restaurant, he's making delicious meals in his own backyard outdoor kitchen. In this book, he shares the secrets to and recipes for simple, unrestricted, foolproof outdoor cooking in a way that reimagines the way you cook at home.

With some 4,800 terms and definitions from around the world plus 10 appendices filled with needed resources, this book combines the best features of a dictionary and an encyclopedia. In addition to current definitions of every component of pastry, baking and confectionary arts, it provides important information about the origin and historical background of many of the terms. This one-stop resource is an essential tool for all culinary and baking & pastry students.

Bernard Loiseau was one of only 25 French chefs to hold Europe's highest culinary award, three stars in the Michelin Red Guide, and only the 2nd chef to be awarded the Legion of Honor. Despite such triumphs, he shocked the culinary world by taking his own life in February 2003. Journalist Chelminski gives us a tour of this hallowed culinary realm, filled with competition, culture wars, and impossibly high standards. This story is about a man who worked his way up from obscurity to owning three famous restaurants in Paris and rebuilding La Côte d'Or, while self-doubt and cutthroat critics took their toll.

This book features 50 award-winning recipes for spectacular desserts from top pastry chefs. Each recipe has easy-to-follow, step-by-step instructions, and you will discover one-of-a-kind recipes like Strawberry Soup, Vanilla Panna Cotta Napoleon, and Almond Tartlet; Hot Chocolate Soufflé, Ginger Mousse, and Tropical Parfait; and Yin-Yang Flourless Chocolate Cake, as well as insight and advice from top pastry chefs on perfect plating.

The 7th Edition is the latest release of the market leading title for the baking course. Focused on both understanding and performing, its goal is to provide students and working chefs with a solid theoretical and practical foundation in baking practices, including selection of ingredients, proper mixing and baking techniques, careful makeup and assembly, and skilled and imaginative decoration and presentation in a straight-forward, learner-friendly style.

This book is the classic kitchen reference that top chefs have used to understand basic skills and standards for quality as well as develop a sense of how cooking works. The 9th edition features an all-new, user-friendly design that guides readers through each cooking technique, starting with a basic formula, outlining the method at-a-glance, offering expert tips, covering each method with 800 step-by-step photographs, and finishing with 900 recipes that use the basic techniques. The new edition also offers a global perspective and includes essential information on nutrition, food and kitchen safety, equipment, and product identification.

This book is one woman's story of cooking her way through some of the most unlikely kitchens in New York City—at a “beach” in Tribeca, an East Village supper club, and a makeshift grill at Ground Zero in the days immediately following 9/11. Forever writing her own rules, Rossi ends up becoming the owner of one of the most sought-after catering companies in the city. This heartfelt, gritty, and hilarious memoir shows us how the creativity of the kitchen allows us to give a nod to where we come from, while simultaneously expressing everything that we are.

In this book, Ruhlman examines the profound shift in American culture that has raised restaurant cooking to the level of performance art and the status of the chef to celebrity CEO. Bibliophiles and foodies alike will savor this intimate meeting with some of the most famous chefs in the kitchens of the hottest restaurants in the world.

By the time Crenn decided to become a chef at 21, she knew it was an impossible dream in France where almost all restaurant kitchens were run by men. So, she moved to San Francisco, where she trained under Jeremiah Tower. In 2018, 30 years later, she was awarded 3 Michelin Stars for her restaurant Atelier. She became the first female chef in the US to receive this honor, no small feat for someone who hadn't gone to culinary school or been formally trained. Here's a look at one woman's evolution from a daring young chef to a respected activist. She tracks her career from struggling cook to running one of the world's most acclaimed restaurants, while at the same time speaking out on restaurant culture, sexism, immigration, and climate change.

This new edition is a reorganized, updated look at table service and foodservice management, from setting up a dining room and taking guests' orders to executing wine service and handling customer complaints. It also addresses the service needs of a wide range of dining establishments, from casual and outdoor dining to upscale restaurants and catering operations. Respected industry-wide as a contemporary reference guide and refresher for foodservice professionals

Black cooks and creators have led American food culture forward with indelible contributions from the start, but Black authorship has been erased from the story of American food. Now Samuelsson gathers together a feast of food, culture, and history to highlight the diverse deliciousness of Black cooking today. Driven by his desire to fight against bias, reclaim Black culinary traditions, and energize a new generation of cooks, he shares his own journey alongside 150 recipes in honor of top chefs, writers, and activists. Black cooking has always been more than "soul food," with flavors tracing to the African continent, to the Caribbean, all over the United States, and beyond.

In this book of no-fuss recipes everyone should know, trusted baking expert Beranbaum guides you through every recipe for can't-fail results—with a streamlined, simplified approach and more than 600 mouthwatering and instructive photos. Whether you're a baking enthusiast or just want to whip up the occasional treat, you will be able to easily make perfect brownies, banana bread, holiday pies, birthday cakes, homemade bread, and more.

With Beranbaum's easy-to-follow, meticulously tested, and innovative recipes, perfect ice creams and other frozen treats are simple to churn up anytime. She gives her foolproof base method, plus all the tips and info you need to know--on machines, ingredients, techniques, and her own unique approaches and discoveries. Flavors include classics and new twists, including Lemon Ginger, Peanut Butter and Chocolate Fudge, Back Road Mint Chocolate Chip, Brown Sugar with Black Pepper, Roasted Corn, and Red Wine, plus mix-ins, toppings, and desserts like waffle cones, ice cream sandwiches, brownies, ice cream cake, and more.

This book is an ambitious new approach to cooking by a major new culinary voice. Chef and writer Samin Nosrat has taught everyone from professional chefs to middle school kids to cook using her revolutionary, yet simple, philosophy. Master the use of just four elements--Salt, which enhances flavor; Fat, which delivers flavor and generates texture; Acid, which balances flavor; and Heat, which ultimately determines the texture of food--and anything you cook will be delicious. Echoing Samin's own journey from culinary novice to award-winning chef, her book immediately bridges the gap between home and professional kitchens.

This book replaces the traditional French hierarchy of sauces with a modern version based on the sauces' physical properties. While it is not a traditional cookbook, it does include many recipes. Cooks need not slavishly follow them, however, as the recipes illustrate their underlying functions, helping cooks to successfully create their own sauces based on their newfound understanding of sauces' intrinsic properties. Allen explores what makes a sauce the type of sauce it is, how it works, why it is specific to a particular cuisine, and how cooks can make it their own through an understanding of how the ingredients work together.

Butcher and charcuterie expert Levin's guide guarantees mouthwatering results for producing everything from the perfect smoked salmon to a gorgeous smoked brisket. He demystifies the process of selecting the right combination of meat, temperature, and wood to achieve the ultimate flavor and texture. Detailed step-by-step photos show the various techniques. A survey of commercially available smokers critiques the features of each one, and even includes plans and diagrams for building a multipurpose smokehouse.

In his second in-depth foray into the world of professional cooking, Ruhlman journeys into the heart of the profession. Observing the rigorous Certified Master Chef exam at the Culinary Institute of America, he enters the lives and kitchens of Michael Symon and Thomas Keller of the French Laundry. This book will satisfy any reader's hunger for knowledge about cooking and food, the secrets of successful chefs, at what point cooking becomes an art form, and more.

Known for growing everything from Szechuan pepper to pecans to Asian pears, Diacono's refreshing approach to growing and eating has done much to inspire a new generation to grow some of what they eat. He was involved with River Cottage, appearing in the TV series, running courses and events at River Cottage HQ, and he has written four River Cottage books. Mark also writes regularly for a range of publications including the Telegraph and Country Life, and his features have appeared in the Observer, Guardian, National Geographic.

Life in a restaurant kitchen is strenuous and exciting, while its inhabitants are...unique. In this testosterone-laden atmosphere, Jurgensen tirelessly pursued her dream of becoming a chef, working her way up though New York's top restaurants. In her entertaining memoir, she divulges the dynamics between cooks and waiters, chefs and food critics, and heated affairs between staff members. Written with sincere love for the industry, this is a candid insider's tour from the unique perspective of an acclaimed pastry chef.

An inspiring book meets planning tool brimming with realistic tips and beautiful imagery. Filled with wedding florals, venues, cocktail recipes, bouquet recipes, table setting ideas, color pairings, and more, it also features stories from past couples, real wedding images, and insightful pro tips throughout. A Q&A sparks your vision for a timeless celebration that is perfectly you. With 15 years of planning and designing weddings and celebrations, the Valley's are known as industry leaders who share their knowledge and creativity.

More than 100 beautifully simple recipes that teach you the basics of a great vegan meal centered on real food, not powders or meat substitutes--Vegetable Kingdom breaks down the fundamentals of plant-based cooking, showing you how to make delicious meals from popular vegetables, grains, and legumes. The book is organized by ingredient, making it easy to create simple dishes or showstopping meals based on what's fresh at the market. It also covers the basics of vegan cooking, explaining the fundamentals of assembling flavorful salads, cooking filling soups and stews, and making tasty grains and legumes.

Combining inspirational cake designs, step-by-step decorating instruction, and advice on the fundamentals of running a successful cake business in a competitive market, Professional Wedding Cakes is an invaluable guide for industry professionals and students.

With Betty Drapers and “make me a sandwich” mantras, it's easy to forget that women have been cooking up a storm for quite some time. Turns out, these women really can take the heat. Maybe it's best to stay out of their kitchen. Part cookbook and part women's history, this book features 101 recipes to complement the culinary contributions of famous females. With starter recipes curated specifically to these tough cookies, this book replaces female stereotypes with empowering, historical context.

William Greenberg Desserts has been a New York City staple for more than seventy years. While maintaining and celebrating the signature recipes, this book offers new and refreshing recipes as well. It will also maintain the legacy by including stories from Mr. Greenberg, as well as longtime customers, and members of the baking team who were trained by Mr. Greenberg himself, and are now teaching the next generation.

Women Chefs of New York is a colorful showcase of 25 leading female culinary talents in the restaurant capital of the world. In a fiercely competitive, male-dominated field, these women have risen to the top, and their stories recipes make it abundantly clear why. Food writer Arumugam gives us intimate interviews, revealing the chefs' habits, quirks, food likes, and dislikes, their proudest achievements, and their aspirations. Each chef contributes 4 signature recipes to recreate the experience of a meal from their celebrated kitchens.

Willan, award-winning culinary historian, cookbook writer, cooking teacher, and founder of La Varenne Cooking School in Paris, explores the lives and work of women cookbook authors whose important books have defined cooking over the past three hundred years. Beginning with the first published cookbook by Hannah Woolley in 1661, up to Alice Waters today, these women, created the canon of the American table. Focusing on the figures behind the recipes, this book traces the development of American home cooking from the first, early colonial days to transformative cookbooks by Fannie Farmer, Irma Rombauer, Julia Child, Edna Lewis, and Marcella Hazan.

Women chefs have finally gained the world's esteem as serious exemplars of their craft. Women chefs proliferate the ranks of all kinds of cooking, from classic French to country Italian to designer Californian. These chefs had to jump extra hurdles in proving themselves, and their stories will be interesting to all food lovers as well as ambitious culinary students.

Eat your way around the world without leaving your home in this mouthwatering cultural history of 100 classic dishes. "When we eat, we travel." So begins this irresistible tour of the cuisines of the world, revealing what people eat and why in forty cultures. Bubbling over with anecdotes, trivia, and lore, this book serves up a delicious mélange of recipes, history, and culinary wisdom to be savored by food lovers and armchair travelers alike.

This book chronicles Samuelsson's journey, from his grandmother's kitchen to his arrival in New York City, where his outsize talent and ambition finally come together at Aquavit, earning him a New York Times three-star rating at the age of twenty-four. But Samuelsson's career of chasing flavors had only just begun—in the intervening years, there have been White House state dinners, career crises, reality show triumphs, and, most important, the opening of Red Rooster in Harlem. At Red Rooster, Samuelsson has fulfilled his dream of creating a truly diverse, multiracial dining room—a place where presidents rub elbows with jazz musicians, aspiring artists, and bus drivers. It is a place where an orphan from Ethiopia, raised in Sweden, living in America, can feel at home.