Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
RESEARCH GUIDES ACC Home Page

Culinary Arts: Home

Focuses on culinary news, research, techniques, cooking skills and Austin restaurants. The library provides for the Austin Community College Culinary Arts program.

AtoZ World Food Database now available! Covers many countries.

Culinary Related Ebooks

This spreadsheet is in call number order which is roughly the same as subject order.  Jump to TX call numbers for cookbooks.  Use CRTL F to search this spreadsheet.  The icat1 column equals the department.  Filter on 685 for just culinary department items. 690 = Hospitality, 694 = Meeting and Event, 684 = Travel and 595 = Nutrition. Click on the url in the last column and it will take you to the ebook.  NOTE: New titles are added daily.  Search the library catalog https://library.austincc.edu for new titles.

 

Librarian

Melissa Airoldi's picture
Melissa Airoldi
Contact:
Faculty Librarian / Professor
Library Technical Services
824 W 12th St
Austin, TX 78701
airoldi@austincc.edu
512 223-3464

Follow ACC Libraries

Twitter: @ACCLibraries

Practical tips + resources - to temporarily teach online

ACC resources:

Need resources for your course? - 

Online Teaching Strategies -

Copyright Info:

Tech Tools:

Accessibility Tips and Assistance:

Resources That Support ACC Restaurant Planning

Have a Good Lunch and Dinner

Great food at student restaurant for lunch and dinner.

How to Search for Culinary Arts Information

This guide supplements the print, media and electronic resources available in the ACC libraries.  It focuses on culinary news, research, techniques, cooking skills and Austin restaurants. 

Our Hospitality Management subject guide focuses on business aspects of hospitality, including restaurant management and food safety.

See also our Meeting and Event Planning and Travel and Tourism subject guides.

See Nutrition Resources subject guide for vegan, vegetarian and diet cookbooks and information.

See Chemistry subject guide for even more food chemistry materials.

The tabs across the top of the page will help you navigate between topics.  Tabs with an arrow have sub-pages.

This guide is intended to help you find books, ebooks, locate magazine and journal articles, search databases, and find quality web sites.

See also the library 10 minute tutorial Finding Books and Ebooks


Articles

Articles from journals, magazines and major newspapers are a good source for recent developments, trends, recipes and technical tips.  ACC databases can help connect you to these articles.

Books and Media

A book can provide photographs, information about techniques and cultural background as well as menus and recipes. Media provides a visual approach.

Reference Books

This covers encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other resources that are referred to for specific information. Go to these for definitions, shorter explanations and biographical sketches.

 
Web Sites The internet can provide a wealth of information, especially from professional organizations and associations.

List of Materials

List of Culinary materials in the library as of 4/26/19.  These lists are in call number order which is roughly the same as subject order.  They include books, e-books, DVDs, streaming videos, etc.  See Nutrition Resources subject guide for more vegan, vegetarian and diet cookbooks. See Chemistry subject guide for even more food chemistry materials. See also Hospitality Management, Travel and Tourism and Meeting and Event Planning subject guides.

NEED MONEY?

Money for students financially impacted by COVID-19 - go to ACC CARES Act Student Aid web page: 

https://www.austincc.edu/coronavirus/cares-act-student-aid

Money for restaurant employees who have reduced wages or none at all due to COVID-19 - go to Guy Fieri's Restaurant Employee Relief Fund: 

https://rerf.us/

  Other Library Catalogs

UT, Austin Public Library, WorldCat Discovery, etc.

Culinary Arts Apps

Apps (little software applications) allow you to customize your tablet to do the things you like to do. Some of the apps listed are free, while others are fee-based. Additionally, some apps are initially free, and then require in-app purchases if more features and functionality are desired. Listed, you will find some app recommendations we have come up with through trial, error, and our own experiences.

ACC Library Services does not endorse any fee-based apps nor it is liable for reimbursement of any apps paid for by patrons. Please refer to the Tablet Circulation Policy for further details.

Allrecipes Dinner Spinner App-please select iOS or Android below to access the app
Allrecipes Dinner Spinner-Access to Allrecipes’ collection of member-shared recipes, photos, ratings, and reviews from a community of more than 30 million home cooks. (iOS)

Grubhub App-please select iOS or Android below to access the app
Grubhub-Online ordering for pickup and delivery from thousands of restaurants. (iOS)

Eat24 App-please select iOS or Android below to access the app
Eat24-Free delivery and pickup in 30,000 restaurants in 1,500+ cities. (Android)

Harvest App-please select iOS or Android below to access the app
Harvest-Guide to selecting the freshest, ripest, healthiest, and best-tasting produce. (iOS)

Paprika Recipe Manager App-please select iOS or Android below to access the app
Paprika Recipe Manager-Recipe management with web importing, grocery lists, and meal planning. (iOS)


ACC Web Site || Library Web Site || GET HELP! || Search the Library
Contact Us • © Library Services, Austin Community College