Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
RESEARCH GUIDES ACC Home Page

Social Work: Home

Practical tips + resources - to temporarily teach online

ACC resources:

Need resources for your course? - 

Online Teaching Strategies -

Copyright Info:

Tech Tools:

Accessibility Tips and Assistance:

How to search for Social Work Information

There are several types of information available to Social Work students through the ACC libraries, both in print form and electronically. The tabs along the top of the page provide details on the different types of resources listed below:

 

Books You can find a good selection of Government books in our collection. A book can provide detailed background and in-depth historical information about any given topic.
Reference Books This covers encyclopedias, atlases, and other resources that are referred to for specific information. Go to these for definitions, shorter explanations, quick historical and biographical sketches.
Articles Articles from journals, magazines, and major newspapers are a good source for recent developments and current issues in government. ACC's electronic resources can help connect you to these articles.
Web Sites The internet can provide a wealth of information, especially from government sources and professional organizations.

 

Sociology Apps

Apps (little software applications) allow you to customize your tablet to do the things you like to do. Some of the apps listed are free, while others are fee-based. Additionally, some apps are initially free, and then require in-app purchases if more features and functionality are desired. Listed, you will find some app recommendations we have come up with through trial, error, and our own experiences.

ACC Library Services does not endorse any fee-based apps nor it is liable for reimbursement of any apps paid for by patrons. Please refer to the Tablet Circulation Policy for further details.

Sociology Spotlight App-please select iOS or Android below to access the app
Sociology Spotlight-Includes information on sociology conferences and conference tweets, abstracts for sociology articles and books, news in and around the discipline, and more. (iOS

The Savvy Social Worker App-please select iOS or Android below to access the app

The Savvy Social Worker-Provides new developments in social work practice, including evidence-based and best practices. (Android)

The Social work app provides an overview of the social work profession. (Android)

Social-Work Advocacy Blog

Advocacy RSS feed by the National Association of Social Workers

Loading ...

Subject Librarian

Barbara Jorge's picture
Barbara Jorge
Contact:
Faculty Librarian / Associate Professor
Hays Campus Library
1200 Kohlers Crossing
Kyle, TX 78640
bjorge@austincc.edu
512.223.1586

Have a recommendation?

Is there a title you think would make a good addition to the Library Collection?  Fill out the form linked below and let me know!


ACC Web Site || Library Web Site || GET HELP! || Search the Library
Contact Us • © Library Services, Austin Community College