Skip to main content

Government: Getting Started

A guide for finding government information.

Spotlight on Local History

From Austin Community College's Center for Public Policy and Political Studies, through its Jeffrey M. Friedman Political Video History Project, comes the documentary The Economy Furniture Strike. This is an oral history of the local labor dispute which resulted in the political mobilization of Mexican-Americans in Austin/Travis County. From the project's web page (http://policyaustin.org/economyfstrike/) you can access indiviudal interviews from principal participants of the strike.

Learn more about the Jeffrey M. Friedman Political Video History Project here.

Quote of the Month

To give victory to the right, not bloody bullets, but peaceful ballots only, are necessary.

Abraham Lincoln

 

How to search for Government Information

There are several types of information available to Government students through the ACC libraries, both in print form and electronically. The tabs along the top of the page provide details on the different types of resources listed below:

Books You can find a good selection of Government books in our collection. A book can provide detailed background and in-depth historical information about any given topic.
Reference Books This covers encyclopedias, atlases, and other resources that are referred to for specific information. Go to these for definitions, shorter explanations, quick historical and biographical sketches.
Articles Articles from journals, magazines, and major newspapers are a good source for recent developments and current issues in government. ACC's electronic resources can help connect you to these articles.
Web Sites The internet can provide a wealth of information, especially from government sources and professional organizations.

 

2016 National Medal for Museum and Library Service

Government Apps

Apps (little software applications) allow you to customize your tablet to do the things you like to do. Some of the apps listed are free, while others are fee-based. Additionally, some apps are initially free, and then require in-app purchases if more features and functionality are desired. Listed, you will find some app recommendations we have come up with through trial, error, and our own experiences.

ACC Library Services does not endorse any fee-based apps nor it is liable for reimbursement of any apps paid for by patrons. Please refer to the Tablet Circulation Policy for further details.

The White House App-please select iOS or Android below to access the app
The White House-Includes news from the White House blog and press briefing room, photo and video archives, and live streams of events around the country with President Barack Obama and administration officials. (iOS/Android)

Outdoor Annual - Texas Hunting and Fishing Regulations App-please select iOS or Android below to access the app
Outdoor Annual - Texas Hunting and Fishing Regulations-Access the official Texas Hunting and Fishing Regulations summary from Texas Parks and Wildlife. (iOS/Android)

Texas Veterans App-please select iOS or Android below to access the app
Texas Veterans App-Designed to provide U.S. Military Veterans easy access to the Veterans Crisis Line, Hotline for Women Veterans, Connect with Texas Veterans, Texas Veterans Hotline, and the Texas Veterans Portal. (iOS)

U.S. Capitol Visitor Guide App-please select iOS or Android below to access the app
U.S. Capitol Visitor Guide-Includes information about booking tours of the Capitol, visitor amenities, location, hours of operation, watching Congress in session, Exhibition Hall, the Capitol Grounds, the Statue of Freedom, Capitol statues, and security. (iOS)

Texas Local Government Code 2015 App-please select iOS or Android below to access the app
Texas Local Government Code 2015-Provides access to Texas laws and codes. (iOS)

Loading

Subject Librarian

Barbara Jorge
Contact:
7748 Highway 290 West
Austin, Tx 78736
512.223.8091

ACC Read

Student Government Association 2016

Have a recommendation?

Is there a title you think would make a good addition to the Library Collection?  Fill out the form linked below and let me know!


ACC Web Site || Library Web Site || GET HELP! || Library Catalog
Contact Us • © Library Services, Austin Community College • Last update 6-24-2016