"Where I come from, the meal is the result of reflection and study. Menus are prepared in advance, timed to perfection. It is said without the culinary arts that the crudeness of reality would be unbearable." Kate and Leopold (movie)
Try out the AtoZ World Food database for food information and recipes from many countries.
There are 74 titles (print books, ebooks, streaming videos, and DVDs) in the library about chefs. Click on the URL in the last column and it will take you to the title in the library catalog. NOTE: New titles are added daily. Search the library catalog https://library.austincc.edu for new titles.
Apps (software applications) allow you to customize your mobile device to do the things you like to do. Some of the apps listed are free, while others are fee-based. Additionally, some apps are initially free, and then require in-app purchases if more features and functionality are desired. Listed, you will find some app recommendations we have come up with through trial, error, and our own experiences.
ACC Library Services does not endorse any fee-based apps nor it is liable for reimbursement of any apps paid for by patrons.
Allrecipes Dinner Spinner-Access to Allrecipes’ collection of member-shared recipes, photos, ratings, and reviews from a community of more than 30 million home cooks. (iOS)
Grubhub-Online ordering for pickup and delivery from thousands of restaurants. (iOS)
Eat24-Free delivery and pickup in 30,000 restaurants in 1,500+ cities. (Android)
Dining with the Dead: A Feast for the Souls on Day of the Dead, Mexico; Traditional Mexican Recipes for Beloved CelebrationsThis guide supplements the print, media and electronic resources available in the ACC libraries. It focuses on culinary news, research, techniques, cooking skills and Austin restaurants.
Our Hospitality Management subject guide focuses on business aspects of hospitality, including restaurant management and food safety.
See also our Meeting and Event Planning and Travel and Tourism subject guides.
See Nutrition Resources subject guide for vegan, vegetarian and diet cookbooks and information.
See Chemistry subject guide for even more food chemistry materials.
The tabs across the top of the page will help you navigate between topics. Tabs with an arrow have sub-pages.
This guide is intended to help you find books, ebooks, locate magazine and journal articles, search databases, and find quality web sites.
See also the library 10 minute tutorial Finding Books and Ebooks
| Articles |
Articles from journals, magazines and major newspapers are a good source for recent developments, trends, recipes and technical tips. ACC databases can help connect you to these articles. |
| Books and Media |
A book can provide photographs, information about techniques and cultural background as well as menus and recipes. Media provides a visual approach. |
| Reference Books |
This covers encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other resources that are referred to for specific information. Go to these for definitions, shorter explanations and biographical sketches. |
| Web Sites | The internet can provide a wealth of information, especially from professional organizations and associations. |
To learn more about this new program, and see if you qualify for for free tuition, go to austincc.edu/freetuitionplan
Some textbooks are available for semester check out at the Highland Campus Library. The textbooks are purchased by the ACC Student Advocacy Center. They aren't able to purchase ALL required textbooks, but it's always worth checking. Be sure and read the rules below for this special collection, as they are different from checking out regular library materials. Questions? Ask a librarian.
ACC's Student Advocacy Center provides case management, financial assistance, and community referrals to eligible students in order to remove barriers to success and help students complete their education. Need help or have questions about the program please email sac-group@austincc.edu
ACC can help you find it. Career Services has partnered with HANDSHAKE, the largest career community for college students.
Sign in to explore careers, find amazing jobs and internships, and connect with other students that share your career interests.
Please use the Austin Community College sign-on when you arrive at the landing page. You can use your ACC credentials (eID and password) to activate your account.
Questions? Email career.services@austincc.edu
These guides and web sites include useful Culinary Arts information
UT, Austin Public Library, WorldCat Discovery, etc.
