Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
RESEARCH GUIDES ACC Home Page

Student Learning Success Toolbox: Finding Textbooks for Your Courses

A guide to library resources and services for students at Community College

Where do I find the Textbooks for my courses?

What textbooks do I need for classes?

  • Login to MyACC.
  • Select My Textbooks form the right-hand options.

Double Check - What type of course did register for?

  • If you registered for a class labeled Open Educational Resources/Zero Textbook Cost (OER/ZTC), in place of required textbooks all materials needed for the class will be available online to students free of charge and access will be provided on the first day of class.You may print copies of the resources but will be responsible for printing costs. Course materials may be Open Educational Resources (OER), see syllabus or contact your instructor for specifics.
  • If you have registered for a class labeled as First Day (Inclusive Course), the cost of required course materials is added to your tuition and fees bill. You will have digital access to course texts via your Blackboard account from the very first day of class. More information about the First Day program is available here: https://www.austincc.edu/academic-and-career-programs/first-day-classes

 

The ACC Bookstore is managed by Barnes and Noble and you can buy or rent at most campuses or online. 

Here are common questions you may have about Textbooks at ACC?

Z - Degree Information & ZTC/OER Courses

You can earn an associate degree in general studies without ever purchasing a textbook. Z-Degree students save money by taking classes where faculty have chosen to use use freely available course materials. Courses marked as OER/ZTC use resources that are online to students free of charge. Access will be provided on the first day of class.  Course materials may be Open Educational Resources (OER), see syllabus or contact your instructor for specifics.

ACC Z - Degree Information:

More information about Open Educational Resources:

Tools and Tips for Using Textbooks

Access to Textbook Collection through Student Advocacy Center

ACC's Student Advocacy Center Textbook Collection - FAQ

This FAQ is also available here - Textbook Collection FAQ

What is it?

Textbooks are purchased by the ACC Student Advocacy Center (formerly Support Center) through grant funds to support those students received assistance from their department. At certain times of the semester, the collection is available to any ACC student on a first come first serviced basis. The collection is located at the Highland Campus Library.

Are all ACC textbooks in the collection?

No, only textbooks purchased by the ACC Student Advocacy Center through a grant to assist certain student groups  are in this collection. Check to see if your textbooks are in the collection by searching here Textbook Collection . Be sure to Ask a Librarian if you need help.

Who can use it?
Before classes start - limited to eligible students

Only Student Advocacy Center students are eligible.

During the first week of classes- Students in certain Workforce Programs may be eligible

To see if you are eligible for access to the Textbook Collection during the first week of classes, please submit an inquiry here.

After the first week of classes - open to all ACC students

All current affiliated borrowers who have no outstanding student holds on their library record are eligible. 

All current affiliated borrowers who have no outstanding student holds on their library record are eligible. Books are in limited supply and students should not depend upon this source for their required textbook.

  • Effective August 30, 2021 we will have an online hold request option in the library catalog available for students. Hold requests can be made online until November 15, 2021.

  • Textbook Hold requests can only be made online and are processed on a first come, first served basis. 

  • Students will be notified via their ACC email if an item is available for pick up and check out.

  • Volume of textbook requests often exceeds actual inventory, not all requests will be fulfilled.

  • To search for Textbooks and request to hold an item, search the online textbook collection: http://library.austincc.edu/eresources/textbooks

 

How do I find out what textbooks I need this semester?

BE SURE TO KNOW WHICH TEXTBOOK TO GET. Different sections of the same course may use different textbooks or different editions of textbooks, depending upon what the instructor has selected.

The quickest way to find out which textbooks you need is to consult the MyACC student portal pages.

  • Login to MyACC.
  • Select My Textbooks form the right-hand options.

Note the type of course you are enrolled in. If labeled ZTC/OER or First Day, see additional information in the section of this guide, "Where do I find the textbooks for my courses?"

 

Whom do I contact l if I have questions?

Please contact the Student Advocacy Center if you have questions about the textbook collection or your eligibility.

What must you bring to the library to check out textbooks?

During the week before classes and the first week of classes: ONLY eligible students with requests submitted to the library by an Advocate can checkout textbooks. Eligible students will be notified by library staff when their requested textbooks are available for checkout.  An ACC photo ID is required at the time of check out.

After the first week of class:  All current affiliated borrowers who have who have no outstanding holds on their library record can check out textbooks from the collection with an ACC photo

How can I check to see if a textbook is available?
  • Search the collection by title, author, or ISBN.
Can textbooks be sent to my campus?

Yes, just as other library materials, textbooks can be sent to your campus library or held for you at the Highland Campus Library.

However, it may take up to two weeks for materials to arrive at another campus. For time sensitive requests, please choose to pick up library materials from the owning campus or chat with a librarian about electronic options. Please be sure to check the in person service hours for libraries for the Fall 2021 semester. 

What if I need the book today?

Textbooks are available on a first come, first served basis. During the Fall 2021 semester due to reduced hours of operation across many College departments and services, we cannot guarantee same day availability of textbooks.

How many textbooks can I check out and for how long?

Students may check out up to 5 textbooks unless otherwise authorized by the Advocacy Center.

Textbooks from this collection are due the last day of your classes.

All other textbooks which happen to be in the regular collection have a shorter checkout period. Be sure to check the due date.

LIBRARY PHONE NUMBERS


ACC Web Site || Library Web Site || GET HELP! || Search the Library
Contact Us • © Library Services, Austin Community College