LibGuides: Open Educational Resources: Where can I find OER?

Search Tips!

In addition to using the search engines and repositories linked on this guide, you can also use advanced search features when searching Google, YouTube or Flickr, to find and locate OER. You will still need to confirm the individual license of the object you select to assure it meets the appropriate CC license.

Google - Use the Advanced Search. Under Usage Rights select to limit your results to resources which are free to use, modify or share. More from Google on Usage Rights.

YouTube - After searching by keyword in YouTube, use the Filters feature to filter your results to videos with a Creative Commons License. Looking for more videos? View the Images, Audio & Video tab!

Flickr - After searching by keyword in Flickr, use the Any License filter feature to filter your results to the appropriate usage license which best suits your usage of the work. Looking for more images? View the Images, Audio & Video tab!

OER Search Engines, Repositories, Referatories & More

George Mason OER MetaFinder (MOM) George Mason University Libraries developed a one-stop search box for Open and Affordable Educational Resources.
MERLOT II MERLOT is a curated collection of free and open online teaching, learning, and faculty development services contributed and used by an international education community. MERLOT does not house content, but is a collection of links to other content.
OASIS Openly Available Sources Integrated Search (OASIS) is a search tool that aims to make the discovery of open content easier. OASIS currently searches open content from 88 different sources and contains 352,345 records.
OER Commons OER Commons is a dynamic digital library and network. Explore open education resources and join our network of educators dedicated to curriculum improvement. OER Commons helps educators, students, and lifelong learners avoid time-consuming searches and find exactly the right materials. With a single point of access from which they can search, browse, and evaluate resources in OER Commons’ growing collection.
OER Consortium The Open Education Consortium in collaboration with MERLOT offers a search engine on OER. General search yields results from the integrated database of the Open Education Consortium and MERLOT.
OERTX
Open Textbook Library Open textbooks are textbooks that have been funded, published, and licensed to be freely used, adapted, and distributed. These books have been reviewed by faculty from a variety of colleges and universities to assess their quality. These books can be downloaded for no cost, or printed at low cost. All textbooks are either used at multiple higher education institutions; or affiliated with an institution, scholarly society, or professional organization. The library currently includes 779 textbooks, with more being added all the time.
SkillsCommon The US Department of Labor’s Trade Adjustment Assistance Community College and Career Training (TAACCCT) program has created a free and open online library called SkillsCommons containing free and open learning materials and program support materials for job-driven workforce development. The Open Educational Resources (OER) are produced by community colleges across the nation and can be found, reused, revised, retained, redistributed and remixed by individuals, institutions, and industry.

Low-Cost OER Repositories & Courses

Lumen Learning
Supports faculty in identifying and selecting high quality OER, aligning these to learning outcomes, and assembling them to create OER-based courses.
Open Course Library
The Open Course Library (OCL) is a collection of shareable course materials, including syllabi, course activities, readings, and assessments designed by teams of college faculty, instructional designers, librarians, and other experts.

CloudSource Open Access Resources

CloudSource is available to search from our full discovery interface:
https://austincc.ent.sirsi.net/client/en_US/default
or from our library home page search box

Please Give Us Feedback About Cloudsource Open Access

CloudSource Open Access Feedback Form

More About Open Access Resources

Open Educational Resources
by Terry Barksdale, MLIS Last Updated Feb 7, 2024 1046 views this year
Open Access (OA) Periodicals
by Courtney Mlinar Last Updated Oct 30, 2023 90 views this year
Library: Open Access + Database + Streaming Tools and Tips
by Courtney Mlinar Last Updated Oct 30, 2023 146 views this year

Creative Commons Licensing: Nuts and Bolts
ACC OER Librarian, Carrie Gits created this presentation to explain the basics of Creative Commons Licenses and their use with open access resources.

More about using CloudSource
Open Access

What is Open Access?
4 minute video -- A brief overview of what OA publishing is and about licenses + some on the icons that appear in CloudSource OA
CloudSource Advanced Searching

Navigating a Basic Search (6 minutes)
SirsiDynix video showing basic searching in CloudSource
CloudSource Advanced Searching (5 minutes)
SirsiDynix video on CloudSource advanced searching

Open Educational Resources: Where can I find OER?