LibGuides: United States History: Finding Primary Sources

Examples of Primary Sources

Diary from 1850, California Gold Rush

Oral history

Declaration of Independence

PRIMARY SOURCES AT THE ACC LIBRARIES

LIBRARY DATABASES WITH PRIMARY SOURCES

CQ Press Library This link opens in a new window
Includes CQ Almanac, Congress and the Nation, Historic Documents Series, and Politics in America.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Online collection of general and subject-specific encyclopedias on all major topic areas.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Contains more than a thousand academic journals and over one million images, letters, and other primary sources.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
More than 26,000 streaming videos, including films from the Criterion Collection, festival circuit documentaries, and TV series. Kanopy (and not ACC) requires that you create a free account before accessing.
LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
Provides scholarly and popular LGBT publications in full text, plus historically important primary sources, including monographs, magazines and newspapers. It also includes a specialized LGBT thesaurus containing thousands of terms.
Texas Digital Sanborn Maps, 1867-1970 This link opens in a new window
Fire insurance maps of Texas produced by the Sanborn Map Company from the mid-1880s to 1970s.
Twentieth-Century American Poetry This link opens in a new window
Modern and contemporary American poetry from the early twentieth century to the present.
Twentieth-Century English Poetry This link opens in a new window
Modern and contemporary English poetry from the early twentieth century to the present.

PRIMARY SOURCES ON THE WEB

There are thousands, so this is just a sample of higher quality sites. You can do a web search for your topic and add "primary sources."