Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Civil Rights Digital Library
This site contains a digital video archive as well as various learning objects, including contextual stories, encyclopedia articles, lesson plans and activities.
Cuban Missile Crisis
This site contains National Security Archive Documents held at George Washington University. You will find recently declassified documents, audio clips of White House intelligence briefings, images, chronologies, analysis and more. The Avalon Project at the Yale law School includes valuable primary sources concerning the Missile Crisis.
Digital History-The 1960s
This site covers the 1960s era through links to various readings, primary sources, teaching resources, as well as a/v materials.
Free Speech Movement Digital Archive
Berekley's Digital Archive documents the actions of those who participated in the Free Speech Movement in 1964. The site includes oral histories, bibliographies, and a chronology.
Subscribe to a discussion board that concerns itself with all matters of history, politics, and culture of the 1960s. Reviews of books, relevant films and websites are also included.
LBJ Library and Museum
Administered by the National Archives and Records Administration, the site includes primary documents, speeches, photographs, oral histories, and some of LBJ.'s fascinating telephone conversations.
Presidential Recording Program
Fascinating collection of presidential tapes (audio and video), transcripts and other exhibits organized by the University of Virginia. The Nixon tapes (3700 hours) and LB. tapes (800 hours) are by far the largest in the collection, but are there are tapes from the administrations of FDR, Truman, Eisenhower and JFK as well.
You might be interested in looking at how Time Magazine covered topics in the 1960s. The collections include Civil Rights, Vietnam, Watergate and more.
USA: 1960 - 1969
This is a good place to begin your research. A wide variety of subjects are arranged chronologically and topically.
The Vietnam Project
Maintained at Texas Tech University, this site contains more than 1.5 million pages of materials including photographs, video recordings and oral histories.
Voices of Civil Rights
This site provides a timeline and well as links to music and images from the 1960's era.