Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
American Historical Association
The American Historical Association is dedicated to "the promotion of historical studies, the collection and preservation of historical documents and artifacts, and the dissemination of historical research." The AHA's monthly journal, Perspectives, is available online and has articles on teaching history, preventing plagiarism and other commentary.
American Memory Project
Multimedia collections of digitized documents, photographs, recorded sound, moving pictures, and text from the Library of Congress' Americana collections. The FAQ section provides information on how to search the collections as well as how to cite them.
The Best of History
An easy to use gateway to some interesting resources. The Center For Teaching History With Technology has provided over 1000 links to topically arranged web sites on this page. There are also oral histories, map sources and lesson plans.
This site includes a wide range of digitized resources for both student and teacher. Included are primary documents as well as timelines and other useful learning objects.
Documents in Law, History and Diplomacy
The Avalon Project at the Yale Law School has collected more than 3500 full text documents concerning US legal, economic, political and diplomatic history. This is a very useful site for researchers and is searchable by century, topic or through one of the 64 document collections.
Links to the resources of the Smithsonian. Interesting sites for American social and cultural history. For short biographies of a host of American athletes, inventors, Native Americans, Founding Fathers etc... look at the Smithsonian's Spotlight Biography
This site includes over 70 million historical primary documents arranged by timeline.
Information on social and political history, the Civil War, and Reconstruction. Also includes cartoons, editorials, news articles, advertisements, and illustrations. Covers 1857-1916.
Another useful gateway site designed for high school and college instructors who teach survey courses. A variety of teaching materials, primary documents and discussions on teaching US history.
The History Net
Current articles of interest and links to journals dealing with US, Military, and British history.
Making of America
Cornell University, in conjunction with the University of Michigan, maintains this "library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. This site provides access to 267 monograph volumes and over 100,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints."
Mapping American History
This site includes first edition maps outlining the various stages of American history.
National Archives Catalog
ARC includes more than 78,000 digital government resources including photographs, maps, drawings, sound recordings and more. Topics include presidents, African Americans, native Americans, Japanese Internment Camps, civil rights, the military and others.
National Portrait Gallery
This site includes a wide range of photographs on American culture and artwork of American Presidents.
Organization of American Historians
Organized by the OAH, this site is a good place to start when looking to see "what's out there."
An online repository of primary documents that "reflect our diversity and our unity, our past and our future, and mostly our commitment as a nation to continue to strive to form a more perfect union'". Beginning with the Lee Resolution of June 7th, 1776, the site will ultimately contains 100 primary documents and will include full-page scans of each document.