Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Atomic Bomb and the End of WWII: A Collection of Primary Soruces
Photographs and primary documents from the National Security Archive. Short introductory comments accompany each document to help readers understand the context of the sources.
Attack on America
Part of the Avalon Project created by the Yale Law School. The site includes press releases, briefings, legislation, executive orders that relate to the terrorist attack on 9/11. Chronologically arranged list aided by a variety of drop-down menus.
The Avalon Project: World War II Documents
Includes a listing of primary documents from the WWII era.
Center of Military History
Developed by the U.S. Army. Offers access to an increasing number of books, pamphlets, and reports published by the CMH, including one on the Gulf War. Has links to many electronic texts. Extensive bibliographies relating to major U.S. wars. Many primary source documents. Has a search engine. Links to Navy, the Marines, and the Air Force official web sites.
Cuban Missile Crisis
Part of the Avalon Project at the Yale Law School. The site includes some general information and more than 200 primary documents.
First World War.Com
A very useful overview with an impressive collection of links, photos, primary sources, battlefield descriptions, technological innovations, who was who, multimedia files, clips of speeches and other materials.
Frontline: The Gulf War
From PBS, interviews with military leaders, soldiers, and analysts. Information on weapons and technology. Includes a chronology of the war.
National Park Service Museum Collections: American Revolutionary War
This online exhibit features National Park sites and collections commemorating significant events and individuals of the American Revolutionary War.
National WWII Museum
Useful introduction to the people and events surrounding D-Day. The site includes links to other webpages, notes on current exhibits, timelines, and FAQs.
The Naval Historical Center
Information on wars and battles, naval aviation history, and photographs.
Pictures of World War II
From the National Archives, this site provides a pictorial history of the War.
Veterans History Project
The Veterans History Project of the American Folklife Center collects, preserves, and makes accessible the personal accounts of American war veterans so that future generations may hear directly from veterans and better understand the realities of war.
The Vietnam Project
Maintained at Texas Tech University, this site contains more than 1.5 million pages of materials including photographs, video recordings and oral histories.
The Vietnam War: Oral Histories
A collection of oral histories from the Vietnam War.
War Times Journal
Very interesting site. Not very much data now but promises much more for the future. Has an archives section (documents, memoirs, and illustrations). an articles section (the articles were written for the site by authors whose credentials are not given), a "War Series" section (Napoleonic Wars, The Great War, the Civil War), a "Book Shop" section, and a "War And Games" section.
Women in the Military
The purpose of the Women's Memorial Web site is to recognize the achievements of women who have served in the military from the American Revolution to the present.
World War I: Trenches on the Web
Developed and maintained by Mike Iavarone, a computer scientist. Links to much information on the war. Also, access to documents, maps, time lines, poetry, and more. Excellent search engine. Audio: songs of the war. Links to other sites, such as The World War I Document Archive.
The World War I Document Archive
Documents on World War I including treaties, convention documentation, and personal narratives.
World War II Resources
Images, primary documents, chronologies and more. All sensibly organized.