Flip through magazines – current and back issues, search, print, download to pdf and view on desktop or mobile (with or without app).
For more details, go to the library Flipster research guide including a 3 min video on using on a desktop.
There are over 68 Flipster online magazines available. Below are the culinary ones.
There are two main types of periodical articles: journals (advanced, scholarly and trade) and magazines (less technical, popular).
ACC gets the great majority of its periodicals through online collections, such as those below.
MasterFILE Complete - The best place to start if you are looking for culinary trade magazine articles. This database contains full-text for periodicals covering various subject areas as well as many professional/trade publications. You'll also find full-text for nearly 500 reference books and an Image Collection.
Applied Science and Technology Source Ultimate - NEW
Search "food" and over 187,000 articles display. Look at the list of all the subjects which includes food science, nutrition, food safety, cooking, food chemistry, food preservation, and more. Over 20,000 articles are from the Journal of Food Science. Many food related journals are included such as Food & Beverage Industry News.
Small Business Reference Center. Click here for how to use.
This database offers a wide variety of information on small business and entrepreneurial subject areas, common business types, a help and advice section, and provides information on how to create business plans that lead to successful funding. It offers state-specific resources with demographic data and other local information. Included are business videos that provide critical information for business owners including interviews, ‘lessons learned’ features, lectures and ‘how to’ videos to help foster success in all aspects of managing a business.
Business Source Complete - Full text articles from 11,200 scholarly business journals.
Austin Business Journal - Includes content from the late 1990s, and includes the Book of Lists and Special Publications. Access is granted by registering with your ACC email.
Academic Search Complete - Useful for popular magazine, but not as useful for trade magazines. You may find that you get too many hits. Over 5,000 periodicals with the full-text of the articles are included plus PDF backfiles to 1975. This will have a mix of journals and magazines. It also contains an image collection.
JSTOR - Contains more than a thousand academic journals including Gastronomica: The Journal of Food and Culture. Also includes over one million images, letters, and other primary sources for a wide variety of subject areas and disciplines.
Newspaper Source Plus - Updated daily, full text from 30 national and international newspapers, with selected full text for more than 200 regional newspapers.
Science and Technology Collection - Database contains over 820 full-text journals covering relevant aspects of the scientific and technical community.
GreenFILE - Article citations for topics such as global warming, energy conservation, natural resources and pollution.
Gale Health and Wellness - NEW - Comprehensive consumer health resource provides full-text medical journals, magazines, reference works, multimedia, and more. Resources on nutrition, diet, and culinary in general.
Gale Business: Entrepreneurship - Covers all aspects of starting and operating a business, including accounting, finance, human resources, management, marketing, tax, and more.
Try our online 10 minute tutorial Finding Articles or read our study guide Finding Periodical Articles online.
The databases listed on the left are good tools to use to start your search for articles related to Culinary Arts.
Browse these in the Magazine Area of the library. Back issues of these paper subscriptions may be checked out.
Below are web sites for online Culinary Arts trade journals. Print copies of some are also available in the library.