It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This article offers a unique snapshot of the Northwest Campus of Tarrant County College's experience with implementing INRW corequisites with college-level English composition, general psychology, and U.S. history courses. With this, the authors describe their challenges and lessons learned.
Overall, the authors found that communication and a desire to collaborate is needed for a model like this to work.
"This paper describes a corequisite pairing of Integrated Reading and Writing (INRW) and Humanities (HUMA) 1301 taught at San Jacinto College North in Houston, Texas. The authors describe their planning process, which combined course learning outcomes with cognitive theory and best-practice resources for effective teaching. These complementary courses provided students with contextualized learning activities designed to develop critical thinking and communication skills as students focused on cultural history to understand how human communities create monster stories to identify their fears and characterize the heroic figures who come to their rescue. The article includes sample content units and student activities and provides a strategic insight into a process of integrating best practices and cognitive psychology with class planning focused on required learning outcomes." (Orlando, M., & Hattaway, K., 2020).
Orlando, M., & Hattaway, K. (2020). Recipe for successful collaborative corequisites. Journal of College Academic Support Programs, 2(2), pp. 32-39.
The Wiley Handbook of Adult Literacy by Dolores Perin (Editor)Examines the widespread phenomenon of poor literacy skills in adults across the globe This handbook presents a wide range of research on adults who have low literacy skills. It looks at the cognitive, affective, and motivational factors underlying adult literacy; adult literacy in different countries; and the educational approaches being taken to help improve adults' literacy skills. It includes not only adults enrolled in adult literacy programs, but postsecondary students with low literacy skills, some of whom have reading disabilities. The first section of The Wiley Handbook of Adult Literacy covers issues such as phonological abilities in adults who have not yet learned to read; gender differences in the reading motivation of adults with low literacy skills; literacy skills, academic self-efficacy, and participation in prison education; and more. Chapters on adult literacy, social change and sociocultural factors in South Asia and in Ghana; literacy, numeracy, and self-rated health among U.S. adults; adult literacy programs in Southeastern Europe and Turkey, and a review of family and workplace literacy programs are among the topics featured in the second section. The last part examines how to teach reading and writing to adults with low skills; adults' transition from secondary to postsecondary education; implications for policy, research, and practice in the adult education field; educational technologies that support reading comprehension; and more. Looks at the cognitive processing challenges associated with low literacy in adults Features contributions from a global team of experts in the field Offers writing strategy instruction for low-skilled postsecondary students The Wiley Handbook of Adult Literacy is an excellent book for academic researchers, teacher educators, professional developers, program designers, and graduate students. It's also beneficial to curriculum developers, adult basic education and developmental education instructors, and program administrators, as well as clinicians and counselors who provide services to adults with reading disabilities.